We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Totara Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Totara Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 15 Levin B&B and Inns
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place is cleaned and polished to a high standard,close to supermarket and town all within walking short walking distance,super cheap accommodation,lady that runs the place brought us delicious home baked muffins,you get biscuits each day of your stay to go with your hot chocolate or coffee whatever your preference,toffee lollies each day and a pottle of fresh-flowers,great service,you usually don't get all of this for such a cheap price,I highly recommend,I have stayed at bassingers and panorama in levin an the quality an service does not compare to this lovely little motel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellyezekiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi there We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and look forward to having you to stay again. Cheers Dave & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great motel, first time we have stayed here, The room was lovely, very clean and spotless. Best of all the room was serviced everyday, Lovely fresh, warm muffins on our arrival. Very close to supermarkets. Highly recommend this motel, fabulous hostess, thankyou

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubysIggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi there Thanks very much for your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers Dave & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great motel - close to town and supermarket. Didn't have transport but didn't need it as the bus stop is within walking distance. Accomodation and facilities were clean. Area was quiet despite being close to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi there. Pleased you found our motel conveniently located and quiet. Hope to see you again. Cheers Dave & Daphne Linnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
716 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is the thrid time we have stayed here in the past year. I can highly recommend this motel. Very quiet, I would think the quietest in Levin. Spotlessly clean, lovely hosts, and good price. And the welcome muffins are always a bonus! I would recommend to anyone who needs to stop in levin to stay here.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms, both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers Dave & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
716 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have recently stayed a night at the Totara Lodge Motel. Great place, very roomy room, spotlessly clean and tidy. Lovely surprise to get muffins on arrival. Fantastic that they were warm and came with butter! Great host. Will definintely stay here again. Believe them when they say they are the quietest motel in Levin. We have stayed at others and this is soo quiet! No where near the railway line, which is hard to get in Levin. Great price also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo A, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2016
Thank you for your comment. We aim to provide the best possible service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is the beggining of our 3rd week in New Zealand , But this has to be the nicest and most helpfull place that we have stayed in the boss could not do enough for us thanks very much


Steve and Jonquil holton
Northampton
England

Room Tip: ask and you will recieve
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo A, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2016
It was a pleasure having you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We recently stayed at this property.. Excellent Hosts and spotlessly clean . Would certainly recommend and would stay again.
Enjoyed the freshly made muffins delivered to our unit on arrival. A nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMumWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo A, Owner at Totara Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2016
We aim to provide the most comfortable and well presented accommodation possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levin hotels
0.3 mi away
Welcome Inn Motel Levin
1.7 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#3 of 15 in Levin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentons Motel
Bentons Motel
#5 of 15 in Levin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bassingers Motor Lodge
4.1 mi away
Woodlands Park BnB
Woodlands Park BnB
#10 of 15 in Levin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Levin Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totara Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totara Lodge Motel

Property: Totara Lodge Motel
Address: Cnr Devon & Bristol Streets, Levin 5510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Levin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Levin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totara Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totara Lodge Motel is situated 5 min walk to the centre of Levin. Featuring quiet one bedroom suites and large studio units to fit every travellers circumstance. All our units have free wireless broadband internet access and 32 " flat screen TV's with 4 Sky Channels. Bathrooms with separate toilet. Five units have cooking facilities in the form of a gas or electric hob and microwave. Our small "overnighter" studio unit has a microwave and tea/ coffee and toast making facilities and fridge. The property is secured by CCTV cameras for your peace of mind. Qualmark 3 star + rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Totara Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing