We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Attractive, unique hotel close to strasbourg but a pretty area in its own right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau to your Saves list
Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Impasse du Moulin, 67610 La Wantzenau, Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Certificate of Excellence
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Attractive, unique hotel close to strasbourg but a pretty area in its own right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights earlier this week. Our room was very large which was good considering we are travelling with our teenage son. The staff were friendly, the furnishing and decorations cheerful and interesting. The only downside was that my son's bed was a mattress on the floor which considering we payed a supplementary 35 euros we expected a more comfortable bed.
One thing to note is that there are useful maps downstairs showing the strasbourg transport system, we took advantage of the park and ride system which was very cheap, enabling us to use the trams all day as a group on our parking ticket.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    45
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
44
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only one night but a great quiet location away from the bustle of Strasbourg. Plenty of really good restaurants within a short drive and one just opposite which was very busy but we didn't try it. Rooms were a good size with tea making facilities. No air conditioning which would be a bonus. Would recommend if not wanting to stay right in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel chosen for its location near to the motorway yet 20 mins drive from Strasbourg. The setting is lovely, in the countryside with the sound of the water mill and surrounded by fields, a garden and the river. The lift could accommodate one person only with baggage and the wifi was temperamental. (No help with bags). Two plastic white chairs in the room were repositioned so we could open the suitcases. We could also hear guests chatting in adjacent rooms, both late at night and early morning.
To our delight the Restaurant Au Moulin opposite was superb! The cuisine and wine list were extensive and exquisite, with first class service. (Note: it is open certain evenings only)

Worth staying one night for a quick sight-see to Strasbourg and certainly for the delicious meal - a real bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which if possible is next to an empty one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on reviews, and loved our two nights there. Our room was large and modern with good beds and bathroom. The restaurant was closed, but the hotel let us know that in advance. One evening we drove into Strasbourg. The next day we took the Park and Ride option, which was easier and very pleasant. The station is close by, I think less than 3 miles. Cost was something like 3 euros in and back out of the city, for all occupants of the car--a real bargain and convenient besides. I don't know how it would work to stay here without a car. We did not try the breakfast, opting instead for a bakery in the village. The staff we encountered were very helpful and kind. The grounds are beautiful, with a stream and extensive gardens next to the restaurant. There is a cozy lobby and a pretty sitting area outside. We loved the place and hope to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a delightful hotel, quiet and "fleurie". We stayed twice (3 nights total) in September . Both rooms were large and airy with good facilities. Very friendly and helpful owner, slowish but free wifi and excellent breakfast. Its only 5 minutes to the park and ride car park (3.50 euro including a return ticket on the tram for each person in the car). The hotel is also only 5 minutes from the motorway giving excellent access to other historic towns in Alsace such as Colmar making it a natural regional touring base. The restaurant is family owned but run separately and only open Wed-Saturday and Sunday lunch.

Room Tip: No aircon but thick walls keep it cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robtLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Le moulin de la Wantzenau is in the middle of nature few miles from the village where there are excellent restaurants

Calm, rich Breakfast, very nice owners, well kept

Surely worth a visit on or from the way to Strasburg

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfio1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
652 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The environment and surroundings are very nice and pictoresque. And old water mill transformed into a small hotel. The room we had was small, but ok, and with a modernized bathroom. The staff is very helpful and kind and you feel good being there. You can get a glass of cold Alsace white wine infront of the hotel or in a small garden.
Breakfast if good - made up of homemade stuff, or ingredients found by local shops and growers, some bio dynamic. Absolutely delicious.
Car park in front, just at the dood. Convinient. Reasonably priced as well.
And in the same environment you will find one of the best restaurants in Wantzenau. It is recommended to dine there, it is excellent food.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. We had a room on 2nd floor facing the entrance area. The room was small - maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Wantzenau
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Villa Novarina
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#4 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Hotel Villa d'Est
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Le Relais de la Poste
#2 of 2 in La Wantzenau
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau

Property: Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau
Address: 3 Impasse du Moulin, 67610 La Wantzenau, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > La Wantzenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the warm and friendly setting of this old mill offers you the chance to enjoy the tranquility of the alsacian countryside while nevertheless beeing close to the great economic, cultural and holiday centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Moulin De La Wantzenau France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing