We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish, arty and well considered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to say I loved staying here it is 'just right'. We only stayed one night but we will be back.
It is quiet yet inviting. Everything is so well thought out, we did have one of the smaller rooms but everything was in place and you did not feel as if there was any lack in attention to detail just because the room was small (unlike a lot of hotels) we will pay more for the larger next time but only for our own space, as the bathroom shower were of a really good quality (great water pressure). I took all my own toiletries due to an earlier comment however there is soap and a shower gel dispenser in the bathroom which I thought was sufficient as normally you take your own conditioners creams etc anyway. The setting is great and the staff kind and helpful. There is a great ceramist whose wares are displayed and are for sale by Mireille Faurie - I have to say we did buy and love the piece.
The mill is out of town and in a lovely peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choxaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is built on an old mill with the river still flowing underneath and is set in a country environment with Strasbourg nearby.
Staying outside Strasbourg is a wise choice if you have transportation and the hotel is a great find.
The original mill building has been renovated and furnished with the most modern equipment and décor. Small but pleasant rooms with good size baths are well equipped. Free Internet is provided as is free parking adjacent to the building. An excellent restaurant is on premises but reservations are mandatory.
The owners live on the hotel grounds and oversee the operations daily so quality is consistent.
The hotel is an oasis near the bustling downtown Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beryl and I stayed at the Moulin de Wantzenau in January of 2013. I've been here twice before, this was her first visit. The rooms are colorful, quiet and well-appointed. As I recall, I paid a couple of Euros extra for a deluxe (corner, big...) room. Worth the small extra cost, we thought. Very friendly staff, fine location, clean and bright. Stayed here before, will do so again. G & B Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA
PS/ Visitors should know that the restaurant, just next door, is owned by a family member, not the same management as the hotel. The restaurant's good but not quite as deluxe as it once was. I've dined here five times, note that there's a reason why Michelin no longer gives the place a star. We're optimistic that they'll hire more staff (the service was a little slow), spiff up the kitchen a bit and regain the star. Still a good place for dinner, but not what it was five years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Clean, comfortable, chic and great ambiance. Nice quiet stay the first night, however rowdy guests were just a little too loud for my taste.

No frills...nice and clean. Plenty of hot water. I am not sure I would stay there with a family, however it is good as a solo or on business. No toiletries are offered, so bring your shampoo and shower gel. There was a bar of soap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

They do everything right: the beds are great, clean, modern furnishings.
The service is impeccable.
The breakfast is one of the best I've had in hotels, everything is fresh and delicious.
The black tea at breakfast is wonderful, the espresso less good.
Great restaurant across the street, too.
And plenty of restaurants within the town of "La Wantzenau".
We'd return. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 is great, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I highly recommend Moulin de La Wantzenau to any traveller in The Strasbourg / Alsace region. Extremely hospitable and engaging owner with a true dedication to the business of running a fashionable, clean, well priced hotel in a very relaxed setting. The pictures on the web site represent exactly what we found when we arrived. We were made to feel like friends rather than customers. 10/10

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isyc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everything is more than good: nice rooms, excellent diners and wine and the water passing through (relaxing when you go to sleep). It is well known for its restaurant, so reservation is necessary. We were very pleased staying there.
Only little remark: the breakfast is good but if it would have been a little more i would give the hotel a 5 (excellent)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre_verbeemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Wantzenau
Le Relais de la Poste
#2 of 2 in La Wantzenau
52 reviews
Hotel Pere Benoit
#1 of 1 in Entzheim
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
707 reviews
Hotel Chateau de Pourtales
#5 of 130 in Strasbourg
297 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau

Address: 3 impasse du Moulin, 67610 La Wantzenau, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > La Wantzenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Price Range: $114 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warm And Friendly Setting Of This Old Mill Offers You The Chance To Enjoy The Tranquility Of The Alsacian Countryside While Nevertheless Beeing Close To The Great Economic, Cultural And Holiday Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Moulin De La Wantzenau France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing