We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super place to stay for big family occasions”
other travelers have booked this property
The approach.  This used to be the Railway Station
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach.  This used to be the Railway Station
If you can see this sign, you've arrived The other side of the house.  The sky is always blue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The approach.  This used to be the Railway Station
If you can see this sign, you've arrived
The other side of the house.  The sky is always blue
Cherry blossom in the garden
What is that?  A Railway Signal Box at the bottom of the garden
The big hall with a wall of glass looking into the garden
In there used to be a 'Ladies Waiting Room' in olden times, now it's a ground-floor bedroom
This used to be the Ticket Office. The old Railway Safe is still embedded in the wall. What's in it?
Another view of the Ticket Office
The Sun Room is a great room for having tea in the afternoon, and cake!
The Drawing Room. You don't have to draw, you could simply watch a DVD or draw wisdom from the fire
This is the twin bedroom.
This is the family bedroom; it also has a set of bunk beds
This is one of the double bedrooms
The ensuite bathroom adjoining the twin bedroom
Big windows everywhere, and lots of fluffy towels
Sometimes it's nice to have a coffee in bed to start the day
Sometimes it's nice to have a proper breakfast
The dining table comfortably seats 12
A nice salad.  That's so healthy
This kitchen is a pleasure to cook in
OK, I might have gone a bit OTT with the flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Irvinestown, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
treens186...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super place to stay for big family occasions”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. House is fabulous has all facilities. Jane and Floyd were great. Delicious scones on arrival.Super kitchen
Fits 13 adults comfortably. Four living rooms an extra bonus.
Locals were very friendly esp Central Bar!
Loved the fact they have kept all the old signage and rooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Thanks for taking time to give this kind review. We loved meeting you, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes, Jane & Floyd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daltondei...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - all mod cons in lovely setting.”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We rented this property for the Christmas week along with grandmother and a family of friends - 12 in total. From the outset, all went smoothly - Jane was wonderfully straightforward from the booking stage, helped us with logistics (sourcing the turkey, local walks...) and, along with Floyd, was the perfect hostess 'sur place'. The location was excellent for what we wanted - nature in abundance, good easy walking trails, access to Eire, local bars and shops (even for last minute christmas presents !). We felt really welcome wherever we went.
The house itself is superb - plenty of space on both floors. Beautifully decorated throughout with comfy sofas for watching a film or playing games, fully fitted and kitted out kitchen (the Aga makes for perfect cooked breakfasts), very comfy beds and the best quilts I have had for ages. Like another reviewer, I would like to keep this house as "our little secret", but Jane and Floyd's work in the wonderful stylish renovation deserves recognition.
For winter months, a coat rack of some sort would be a useful addition but I hope to come back in the summer for long evenings enjoying the outside space and barbecue - Diane?
Many thanks Jane and Floyd - au revoir !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thank-you Simon for taking time to leave this detailed and positive review. We loved meeting you and your family and friends, and are glad you had a lovely Christmas and such a positive experience of Station House, and of Irvinestown. Since you enjoy walking, it would be great if next time you come in summer. We have access to great walking opportunities: lakeside paths, forest trails, beach walks and mountain hikes. Co Donegal and Co Sligo make for lovely days out. National Geographic Traveller has named Donegal 'coolest place on the planet.' And the countryside of Sligo, celebrated in the poetry of W.B Yeats, is another must see.
Very best wishes, Jane & Floyd. - à bientôt !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Hi David, thank-you so much for taking time to leave such a positive review. I'm glad that your special family occasion went as well as it did. I hope you find another opportunity to revisit Station House in the future.
Very best wishes, Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
judith_ho...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5 * House in a beautiful setting ”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

7 of us stayed at the house which was the most comfortable well equipped holiday rental we have ever stayed in. 4 different sitting rooms, two with wood burners and one a sun room opening onto the garden meant there was space for everyone to be quiet or noisy.The grounds with the old waiting room and signal box are fantastic. The beautifully equipped kitchen was a joy to cook in and meant we didn't need to eat out and coped with 5 women all cooking different dishes at the same time.

Ensuites to each bedroom and very comfy beds, excellent WiFi and smart TVS for Olympics viewing all added to the pleasure of the week.

Our hosts Jane and Floyd have provided a very special place and we will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thank-you Judith for taking time to leave your kind, appreciative comments. We loved meeting you and your family and friends, and we're glad that you found the house comfortable. We hope you get an opportunity to visit here again.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla6334
Helen's Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home for Christmas!”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The perfection began when we (3 international generations) arrived on Christmas Eve. Mulled wine heating in the kitchen, along with homemade mini-minced pies and melt-in-the-mouth sugar cookies (did I taste a hint of orange?) Actually, the perfection began long before that. My numerous emails with Jane were replied to most promptly, helpfully and her warmth added to my excitement of the up-coming holiday.

The accommodation was impressive on the TripAdvisor site however, it did not do justice to the reality. It was comfortable, inviting, fully furnished (including two Christmas tress) with everything anyone could ask for (apart from a toast rack - that's all, a toast rack! and I'm sure by the time this goes on to the site, a toast rack will be in the kitchen). Everything was ample, clean and fresh, The beds were very comfortable, lovely white linen and towels. Lots of rooms to hang out in, each unique and very comfortable. The large entrance room was great for the noisy youngsters and so large we were not concerned about anyone hurting themselves. The room was much cooler than the rest of the house but with the heavy 3-inch front inside door closed and our whole troupe in there to open presents and have Scalextric races, the room was quite comfortable. The ground floor bedroom and bathroom were a bit too chilly to spend much lounging time in but the additional radiators helped.

Outside would have been marvelous too, especially for the children, but the warmth of the house and indoor Christmas presents meant we ran out of time for outside adventures.

A big thank you to our hosts for everything and for sharing their home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and luxurious comfort
Liked least: the chilliness of the downstairs ensuite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Thank-you Carla for your appreciative review. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed Christmas at Station House. It was great to meet you after having communicated by email. Your anticipation of Christmas was great to share. I'm glad that Santa was able to figure out where everyone was! The house does now have a toast rack, so I hope that you will be able to visit again at some time to enjoy this new feature!
Very best wishes for a Happy New Year
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gareth h
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Stars”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Rented this property for a very special family location.

The property itself is very impressive, in a really convenient location and has all the mod-cons needed.

Highly recommended,

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2015
Hi Gareth, thank-you for your kind review. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Station House.
Very best wishes, Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing