We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of Mahon's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mahon's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvinestown
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had a fabulous weekend in Mahons Hotel. Arrived Friday evening and checked onto a lovely en suite room. Had dinner in the restaurant which was so delicious. Next morning had breakfast and had a dander around the town. In the evening had a few drinks in the bar where there was live music. The staff are really friendly and helpful and would recommend this hotel to anyone. My husband and I have coming here over the last thirty years and we love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallysixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    63
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
74
121
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a second time 2nd Jan to 4th .On arrival are room was ready, lovely and clean and warm.We ate of the bar menu both nights and the food was delicious service was second to none and a bottle of red wine for £ 11.50 what more could one want.(There is also a early bird menu from 3 to 7 pm)Staff are what make this place, so friendly and very helpful.Outside in the town people are the same we were in SD Kells and the staff in there were so so nice.Have to mention Alan in this shop very informative and if you need to know anything about the town or where to get it hes your man.Cant wait to be going back ,could recommend this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen02811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed in Mahon's Hotel, Irvinestown just before Xmas 2013. The facilities were excellent and exceeded only by the friendliness & helpfulness of Joe and his staff! Nothing was too much hassle, the food was superb and my room was really comfortable. We will definitely be staying here again in the near future and would highly recommend a visit... also ideally located for shopping in Enniskillen and in close proximity to Lower Lough Erne!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Being from a big city, my expectations of country life are not massive. Especially when you hear that the yearly highlights involve sheep shearing and hole digging competitions.

But never the less, do not be put off by these wild claims! Many a great night is sure to be had!

On arrival to Mahons I was pleasantly surprised at the outside appearance, in keeping with what you would expect from a modern town hotel.

Inside is very warm an welcoming, impressive bar with lots of history and fascinating trinkets. Staff are extremely friendly with a large amount of Mahon family members working there which really adds to the family hotel feel.
The owner, Joe, is friendly and welcoming and clearly well liked by the whole community and won't hesitate to go out of his way to make sure your having a good time.

Room was very spacious, with the biggest bed I've ever slept in! Great nights sleep even if your suffering the ill effects from sampling too many of the local brews!

We went to the bar at night and they had a live band playing lots of good local music. Atmosphere is great and everyone had a brilliant time.

Food next day was a Sunday carvery, v. Reasonably priced and prompt service, not to mention delicious. Definitely get you in shape for the days adventure!

All in all a great place to stay if you want to sample Northern Irish country life at its best.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dps17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Joe and his team went above and beyond the call of duty during our stay. When we mentioned that we were in town to research family history Joe got on his personal phone and immediately started making calls on my behalf. He lined up a visit with a local historian for the next day an looked after us all night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for both a great place to stay and wonderful people to share the time with.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeldashadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our second trip to Mahon,s hotel this year. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The owner, Joe Mahon was always in evidence and made us very welcome. The room was very large and clean. We ate at the bar and the restaurant. The food was exceptional, in both quality and quantity. Well situated for sightseeing and great shopping. How they can provide the accommodation and food for what we paid, I don't know. Looking forward to our next visit in the near future. Found the people of Northern Ireland extremely friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Myself & my wife stayed in July over the 'Lady of the Lake' Festival. We had an excellent time. The facilities were lovely, our bedroom was very clean, and quite modern, especially for a country hotel.

We had a beautiful meal, we both had the Liver & Onions, which we were informed by a regular punter, the hotel are famous for, and we can see why! Very large portions, very tasty, & very inexpensive. We both also had Irish Coffee's which were made to perfection.

We were made very welcome, very friendly staff, from, the receptionists, to the chamber maids to the food and bar staff. You don't get this kind of service in the so called '5 Star Hotels'!!!

The entertainment in the bar was excellent & had great craic with the locals, and some Cocktail Bartenders who were on a Jolly for a few days.

We will certainly be back to this great hotel, its a Hidden Gem!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvinestown
8.6 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
548 reviews
8.9 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
755 reviews
9.8 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,434 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
464 reviews
16.8 mi away
Donn Carragh
Donn Carragh
#1 of 1 in Lisnaskea
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahon's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahon's Hotel

Property: Mahon's Hotel
Address: 2-10 Enniskillen Road, Irvinestown BT94 1BD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Irvinestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvinestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahon's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mahon's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahons Hotel Irvinestown
Mahon's Hotel Irvinestown, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing