We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have spent there one night booking really accidentally just because we needed a place to stay for a night in this area. A really great place with the personal touch. In the middle of nowhere really but we have just returned and already looking for a reason to go there again for a bit longer. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed 2 nights for a friends wedding in the local area. It is a secluded location but we had no trouble finding it and there is easy access by car to Bury St. Edmunds. Really lovely, family run B&B that was incredible value for what we got - we were helped enormously by the owners who have great local knowledge.

Breakfast was generous and would highly recommend it as a hidden gem if looking for a B&B with an easy going atmosphere when in East Anglia.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I & my 2 childrenstayed for 1 night, & enjoyed an enormous main room, with the children in the 'ensuite' bunk-bedded room for sleeping. Everything was neat & comfy. The house is quite large, and is in a very interesting location. My children were really thrilled to see the tiny piglets as we drove past the pig farm which is between the road & the house. (No, there was no smell at the house, but that may change come summer ?). There are a few things (both inside & outside) to occupy children while you get yourself organised. The breakfast was also nice. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brushmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very warm welcome, excellent breakfast and facilities

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shearwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Highwayman's was a mansion house that was at the end of a half a mile long driveway. When we arrived with two children in tow tired after a long journey. Firstly we were impressed with the safe parking for our car. We were graciously received by our host Adam who showed us to our adjoining rooms. Our main bedroom was spacious, clean and had all the refreshments in the fridge a traveling family would need. The adjoining bedroom was perfect for the children giving us privacy with security of all being together. Clean bathroom, lots of fluffy white towels. The breakfast was a marathon event cooked by the host Adam. The children played in an safe area designed for children. Less than ten minutes from the centre of Bury St Edmunds. We are going back in the half term as there is lots to do and see in the surrounding area. Thank you Adam and Juliet for making us so very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoffourandhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We wanted to get away from London for a romantic weekend without the budget!
This was the perfect place, let to ourselves, for walks and a short drive from Bury!
The breakfast was particularly filling and the family lovely!!
Enjoy.......

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistyTwigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I had a peaceful, stay at this lovely bed & breakfast. I stay in many places for my job and this is up to the best. A long way off the road so it felt safe and was also friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyholiday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risby
3.7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
743 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
517 reviews
0 mi away
Appletree Cottages
Appletree Cottages
#1 of 1 in Barton Mills
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering

Address: Cavenham Lane, Heath Barn Farm, Risby IP28 6QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Risby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Risby
Price Range: $81 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Self Catering Guest House. Perfect for the traveler requesting privacy and own access. Holiday homes available. All self catering. Communal kitchen if required during your stay. No meal options. At check in & check out - staff may not be available - keys and payment will all be informed. Please do contact Highwaymans directly for any further communication and questions. Many Thanks - Juliet Owner/Manager Please NOTE - *Family Home - Children and Pets onsite* *Self Catering Guest House, No meal options available - there is use of kitchen* *Owner not always available for check in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering Risby, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing