We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mir Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mir Castle

Mir Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mir
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minsk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mir Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Were Mir Castle during the International Knightly tournaments (held there every year), we like very much, the child was delighted, was the impression that you are in the Middle Ages. Воок а hotel is difficult because they are only 2 and they are small.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    97
    21
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very neat castle complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Enjoyed walking around the castle. Probably easiest to hire a car from Minsk and visit Mir and Viesnizh at the same time--- cost me about USD 220 for the day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gublerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint Belorussian town, nice castle, service as usual!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Not too difficult to get to from Minsk. Try to organize a taxi for about $60 to $85 if you can. It will be most comfortable and reliable with least hassle.

The castle itself has good guided tours and is in good condition with knowledgable guides. Electronic guides are also available. In winter it is cold, very, very cold! Even some of the displays in the tower wer frozen over!

We stayed in the hotel which is actually situated inside the castle and quite modern. The restaurant downstairs is very good for where you are, in the middle of Belarus. You will find something you like on the menu with international wines and local unfiltered beer on tap. All at a reasonable price.

As noted in the title, the service isn't that great but if you made it this deep into Belarus you will be ok with it. The most annoying thing we found was that they turn the lift off at 6pm and with little kids and a room on the fourth floor it really begs the question... why?

I've put up a blog about our weekend there with many more details and photos. Check it out here.
http://www.cyberspeights.com/2012/03/weekend-in-a-quaintish-belorussian-town-with-a-nice-castle-service-as-usual/#.T1lJtcqomcY

I hope you make it to this attraction, it is well worth the effort!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great history. Nice balance between preservation and renovation. Neat village.

Helpful?
Thank jkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastogne, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant in Mir City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

In the city, there is restaurant near the Catholic church.
It's on it's left.

I advice you to go there, as it's very cheap and good typical cooking.
It's managed by local.

Don't go to the one near the market square. It's for tourist, nostalgic of soviet time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Manuskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mir Castle also viewed

Nesvizh, Nesvizh District
 
Lahojsk District, Minsk Region
 

Been to Mir Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing