We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Manoir de Kerledan”
Review of Manoir de Kerledan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir de Kerledan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just returned from Manoir de Kerledan (August 2012) and had a wonderfully relaxing three day experience. Peter & Penny coud not be more attentive hosts, greeting us with a good old cup of tea and the delicious smells of food wafting through the air upon arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for Peter & Penny, they kindly offered to lay rose petals up the stairs to the bedroom where the bride & groom in our party were staying and then the next day do the same to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Even their dogs had an ability to make you feel at home. The beautifully restored manor house and grounds were sumptuous and relaxing and the only downside to our time spent at the manoir was not sampling the dinner cooked by Penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weber2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Manoir de Kerledan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I wish somebody had written a bad review about this place because then I wouldn't have to trot out exactly the same old stuff as everybody else has written about Peter and Penny's meticulous attention to detail in their gorgeously restored manor house : The mother of all breakfasts, their charming demenour, the recreation of Versailles out in the garden, beautiful bed linen, showers so sumptuous you just can't wait to go out and get dirty again, even dogs that seem imbued with a canine care for your welfare. It has all clearly been documented here before in mindnumbing boringly repetative detail. And nobody will write anything remotely negative, the reason for which is as obvious as it is simple. There isn't anything.

I have to be honest and confess that in spite of some of their spectacular lapses of good taste, with an image of wallpapered doors suddenly springing to mind, when in France I'd rather be staying with the French. I was therefore, slightly apprehensive about staying in an English owned establishment, but you know what ? If Raymond Blanc and the Roux Brothers can come to England and demonstrate to us how to run restaurants and market patisseries, why can't Peter and Penny move to France and demonstrate to them the skills of English country house chic ? They can. They have.

That's not to say that this is Great Rollright rolled across the channel. Far from it, after ten years of absorbing and adapting to their adoptive culture, the English hand is there to see but so is the French glove into which it seems to fit so well. My only regret is that my pre-ordained prejudices led my partner and I to dinner in a local French restaurant instead of to Penny's table where I am absolutely convinced we would have been better served. Oh yes, and the fact that the Manoir de Kerledan is so far away from London.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On our last trip to France were lucky enough to spend a few blissful days at Manoir de Kerledan just before Easter this year.

What a find.

Friends had recommended Manoir de Kerledan and it certainly lived up to its recommendation - the manor has been beautifully restored and is as stylish as it appears in the photos, the bedrooms are delightful, having been furnished with antiques and wonderful bedlinens.

Peter and Penny are the ultimate hosts. We felt immediately at home - greeted with a much needed cup of tea and delicious cake after a trip of biblical proportions from Australia.

Penny has great flair and this is reflected in both the decor of the manor and her delicious food.

The whole stay was a treat and we found it very hard to leave. If we are ever in that little corner of the world again - would love to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyLadyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

on our last trip to france we had the pleasure of staying at manoir de kerledan , it's a beautifully restored, very old manor house set in vast grounds, penny & peter the owners have done most of the work themselves, it is wonderful to see a building and grounds restored to such a high standard, all that very hard work is all there to be seen, fantastic

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in Brittany. Penny and Peter make you feel at home from the moment you arrive with a cup of tea and cake. The stone manor has been beautifully restored, and the gardens are a treat. Our room was enormous with a very comfortable king sized bed, and beautiful rain shower. Penny is a great cook, and in fact we had dinner there on each of our three nights, enjoying both the food and their company. Breakfast was also a treat. We would not even consider staying anywhere else if and when we return to the area. Keith and Glenda from Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texandpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a find! If ever we return to that part of Brittany we would definitely stay there again. We were welcomed extremely warmly by Penny and Peter, brought refreshing cups of tea and home-made cake and were shown to our absolutely beautiful rooms. Penny has enormous flair for interior decoration. The whole house is stunning. Being a dog lover I was delighted to see fur-covered raised beds in various rooms so that their beautiful whippet and King Charles spaniel didn't get cold! The food was delicious. All the fruit and veg were from their potager and were beautifully prepared. A good selection of wine is available too. We were encouraged to walk round the extensive gardens and were staggered at the work both Penny and Peter have put into it all. They were charming and interesting hosts and deserve nothing but praise.for what they have achieved.

Room Tip: The room above the drawing room is enormous and really beautiful but all the other rooms are lovely...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our stay with Penny and Peter (not to mention the velvet whippet) has a place in our hearts. We were sumptuously fed, cosseted, rested and entertained - in one. Unhesitatingly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Allname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carhaix-Plouguer
10.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 1 in Huelgoat
71 reviews
10.5 mi away
Moulin de la Civiere
Moulin de la Civiere
#1 of 2 in Kergrist Moelou
48 reviews
8.4 mi away
Webb's of Glomel
Webb's of Glomel
#1 of 5 in Glomel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Bot - Ponal
Bot - Ponal
#1 of 2 in Saint-Aignan
186 reviews
9.6 mi away
Domaine De Meros
Domaine De Meros
#1 of 1 in Plonevez-du-Faou
240 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Mare aux Fees
La Mare aux Fees
#11 of 11 in Huelgoat
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Kerledan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Kerledan

Address: 28 route de Kerledan, 29270 Carhaix-Plouguer, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Carhaix-Plouguer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carhaix-Plouguer
Price Range: $129 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir de Kerledan, a country house bed and breakfast, accredited by SAWDAYS SPECIAL PLACES, GUIDE DE CHARME AND CHARME-BRETAGNE, inspected and approved. A place to escape from the stresses of life, to enjoy good natural food and wine in front of a roaring fire, or in summer relax in the evening sunshine in the Baroque courtyard with an eclectic mix of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir de Kerledan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De Kerledan France/Carhaix-Plouguer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing