We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to start a dream trip to France”
Review of Manoir de Kerledan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir de Kerledan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to start a dream trip to France”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On our last trip to France were lucky enough to spend a few blissful days at Manoir de Kerledan just before Easter this year.

What a find.

Friends had recommended Manoir de Kerledan and it certainly lived up to its recommendation - the manor has been beautifully restored and is as stylish as it appears in the photos, the bedrooms are delightful, having been furnished with antiques and wonderful bedlinens.

Peter and Penny are the ultimate hosts. We felt immediately at home - greeted with a much needed cup of tea and delicious cake after a trip of biblical proportions from Australia.

Penny has great flair and this is reflected in both the decor of the manor and her delicious food.

The whole stay was a treat and we found it very hard to leave. If we are ever in that little corner of the world again - would love to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLadyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
72
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

on our last trip to france we had the pleasure of staying at manoir de kerledan , it's a beautifully restored, very old manor house set in vast grounds, penny & peter the owners have done most of the work themselves, it is wonderful to see a building and grounds restored to such a high standard, all that very hard work is all there to be seen, fantastic

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in Brittany. Penny and Peter make you feel at home from the moment you arrive with a cup of tea and cake. The stone manor has been beautifully restored, and the gardens are a treat. Our room was enormous with a very comfortable king sized bed, and beautiful rain shower. Penny is a great cook, and in fact we had dinner there on each of our three nights, enjoying both the food and their company. Breakfast was also a treat. We would not even consider staying anywhere else if and when we return to the area. Keith and Glenda from Australia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texandpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a find! If ever we return to that part of Brittany we would definitely stay there again. We were welcomed extremely warmly by Penny and Peter, brought refreshing cups of tea and home-made cake and were shown to our absolutely beautiful rooms. Penny has enormous flair for interior decoration. The whole house is stunning. Being a dog lover I was delighted to see fur-covered raised beds in various rooms so that their beautiful whippet and King Charles spaniel didn't get cold! The food was delicious. All the fruit and veg were from their potager and were beautifully prepared. A good selection of wine is available too. We were encouraged to walk round the extensive gardens and were staggered at the work both Penny and Peter have put into it all. They were charming and interesting hosts and deserve nothing but praise.for what they have achieved.

Room Tip: The room above the drawing room is enormous and really beautiful but all the other rooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our stay with Penny and Peter (not to mention the velvet whippet) has a place in our hearts. We were sumptuously fed, cosseted, rested and entertained - in one. Unhesitatingly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Me and my husband chose this venue and what a choice it was, the manoir itself is outstanding, the gardens are immaculate.

Peter & Penny will make any guest feel welcome, you dont feel as though you are in a B&B but their home, which you are!

Penny makes great dinners mostly locally sourced ingredients and she uses fruit & vegetables from their own garden..

They have two beautiful dogs too, Corey & Daz, the most quietest and friendliest dogs ever...they just sleep mostly...

I would highly recommend this place to anyone...if you want the quiet, romantic place this where you must be...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess-Lalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Myself and my wife spent one night at this Maison on a cycling trip to Brittany in early June. It’s a few minutes outside the main town (we almost turned back thinking we had the wrong place as we were knackered after the first days cycling - boy were we glad we didn’t.).

Its not greatly signposted but if you cross the main road below the town, its 3 minutes by bike up a small country road in the direction of the Nantes-Brest canal.

This was the nicest place we stayed on our 2 week holiday to France. It’s an old building very carefully restored by Peter and Penny and is absolutely gorgeous. The exterior of the building is like a step back in time and the interior has all the old features of the 16th/17th century original Maison (stairwells, flooring, walls, roofbeams etc.). Despite this, the rooms are extremely comfortable with all the modern conveniences you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The beds are huge and very comfy.

We arrived about 6pm or so and had a nice hot shower and then retired outside for a glass of white wine and a beer in the evening sunshine. Penny cooked us a delicious homemade meal and breakfast the next day was great in the old dining room on the ground floor.

Cannot speak highly enough of our hosts, Penny and Peter. They were warm, friendly and interesting and joined us for a drink after dinner and gave us the history of the place. Even the 2 dogs who stay there made us feel at home!

The price was excellent value for everything that comes with staying here. We paid €130 including breakfast, evening meal and drinks. (My wife was expecting a bill of €300 the place was so nice!).

I would highly recommend this Maison if you are staying in the area – you wont do better in Brittany.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnIrelandIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carhaix-Plouguer
10.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 1 in Huelgoat
60 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Bro ar Raden
10.6 mi away
Laura's Chambres D'Hote
Laura's Chambres D'Hote
#1 of 9 in Huelgoat
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Bot - Ponal
Bot - Ponal
#1 of 2 in Saint-Aignan
162 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Puits de Jeanne
Le Puits de Jeanne
#1 of 1 in Plouegat-Moysan
127 reviews
7.3 mi away
Manoir Saint Peran
Manoir Saint Peran
#4 of 5 in Glomel
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Kerledan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Kerledan

Property: Manoir de Kerledan
Address: 28 route de Kerledan, 29270 Carhaix-Plouguer, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Carhaix-Plouguer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carhaix-Plouguer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir de Kerledan, a country house bed and breakfast, accredited by SAWDAYS SPECIAL PLACES, GUIDE DE CHARME AND CHARME-BRETAGNE, inspected and approved. A place to escape from the stresses of life, to enjoy good natural food and wine in front of a roaring fire, or in summer relax in the evening sunshine in the Baroque courtyard with an eclectic mix of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir de Kerledan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De Kerledan France/Carhaix-Plouguer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing