We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, excellent rooms, a home away from home”
Review of Canalta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Moosomin
Certificate of Excellence
Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff, excellent rooms, a home away from home”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spend approx 200 days a year on the road and have stayed in numerous hotels and motels on my travels. I have had the opportunity to stay at the Canalta in Moosomin a few times and each time I am greeted with a friendly smile, a clean room, and a fresh baked cookie. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are top notch for the price, and the location is just a short walk from sit down dining or fast food. There is a bar/restaurant within walking distance and it's easy to navigate to from the TransCanada highway. I would highly recommend staying for anyone in the area or even just passing through.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
15
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Regina
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stay in this hotel on a regular basis. The public areas and the rooms are always clean. When I checked in last Monday, due to customer demand I was graciously upgraded with no questions asked. Thank you for running a top-notch operation in a smaller rural community.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very popular hotel in Moosomin. Despite this, Jennifer and Nicki at the front desk went above and beyond my expectations to make sure my crew and I had rooms for an extended stay. With my work I've stayed at a lot of different hotels over the years. Jennifer, Nicki and the staff at the Moosomin Canalta are tops in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wbmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I would like everyone to know that my family has never gotten just great service at a hotel as this one. Jen Vollet was very friendly and helpful. It is so great to see someone who loves their job so much. The hotel is spotless and would recommend it to everyone I know!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place has the nicest rooms that are always kept up to high standards. I will definitely stay here again. The breakfasts here r very good and always ready for us early risers. The special meals they cool for supper are always delicious. The gym and pool r very nice and hit run especially!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weagle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I am so sorry for the delay in writing this but life was busy, Once again another fantastic stay at another fantastic Canalta hotel, the new manager Kea Diamond filled some very big shoes, the manager she replaced in my books is second to none and Kea met the match. Canalta hotels are the best place to stay anywhere, anytime the staff is great, service is the best, rooms are the best, the breakfast is super ( I spent a lot of time in the kitchen ). I could not recommend any place else to stay. Thank you Kea and staff

Richard Moroz

Room Tip: We always end up with the bridal suit but all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standard, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We just stopped to spend a night on the way to Winnipeg. Arrived late so only really used the room and breakfast. The hotel is very new so it is very clean. Rooms are large, tastefully decorated. Breakfast was great including hot options as compared to some that only have the continental style so this was a bonus. Lots of parking and friendly staff. Only draw back if you are a light sleeper you can hear the train that goes by every hour or 90 minutes and it does blow it's horn three or four times each time it goes by. As for other noise in the hotel you can not hear anything. Not sure if on this route anywhere you would be able to avoid the train anyway. Would stay here again if we did this trip over.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bbbbbbbbbbeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moosomin hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Moosomin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Moosomin
Motel 6 Moosomin
#2 of 5 in Moosomin
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moosomin Country Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Hotel

Property: Canalta Hotel
Address: 405 Mountain Street, Moosomin, Saskatchewan S0G 3N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Moosomin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Moosomin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canalta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly Built Canalta Hotel opened May 2010 featuring free deluxe continental breakfast, wired and wireless high speed internet, waterslide and hot tub. This 100% non smoking hotel also features a Business Center, Fitness Center Meeting Room and Coin Laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Canalta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalta Hotel Moosomin, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing