We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rancho Margot
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$59
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$135
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$72
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fuego Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
246
58
16
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
58
16
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself sustaininghorseback ridingyoga classeseco lodgefarm tourcosta ricabuffet stylemilk the cowsorganic farmingcarbon footprintevery mealwarm poolworking farmsustainable livingprimary rainforestdaily lifenight hike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 335 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Place came recommended - since they grow all their own organic foods - we decided to stop here for lunch. 20 minutes on a terrible road, this place is in the middle of nowhere. $15 a person, does not seem like a lot, but no kids discount - for 3 kids it was $45, when my 4 year all ate 2 bites of pizza.

Food was definitely mediocre, even if it was organic. Rice, beans, pizza, fried fish, salad. And definitely did not expect fried fish:((( In a healthy place you just don't expect to find something covered in dough and fried in oil:((

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A place of beauty, fun, peace, life. The experience is one of total immersion into nature and sustainability; a working ranch of people and visitors who practice organic living and community. The bungalows are beautiful little 'homes' in the rainforest, created with love. A person, friends or family will have an unforgettable experience of adventure and beauty!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyYogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Rancho Margot for 2 nights with our 5-year-old and absolutely loved it.

But beware - if you are looking for the hotel with the volcano views from the jacuzzi, the Disney-esque water park for your kids and the all-you-can-eat buffet with the umbrella drinks, this is not for you.

This place is absolutely magical and Juan is a genius. The natural surroundings are already hard to beat - a beautiful valley between two jungle-overgrown mountain ridges - but the feel of the place with the farm and the animals and the welcoming staff left us wide-eyed. I had specifically asked beforehand if this was a place for our son and if there was stuff for him to do, and it really was. It was heart-warming to see how happily he embraced the horse-back trip up to the look-out, the kayaking on lake Arenal, the natural pool, the animals and generally the reconnection with nature. I also couldn't disagree more with the previous review: I found the ranch tour to be very informative in terms of the sustainable management of the place. I had studied the website before so I had not expected to help out, but there are volunteer programs and we met several of the volunteers who spent a month at the place - all of them said it was "life changing" and even after two days I don't doubt it.

The bungalows are simple but comfortable, clean and bug-free. The food is delicious - simple dishes of excellent quality. Even the salads there have a distinct taste to them, and when you go see for yourself how they are grown, it is explained.

The people there are just as amazing: everyone was so helpful, friendly and welcoming that you wonder if there is something in the air... ;-)

The drive is long but so beautiful - the views from around the lake and the passing through he jungly regions are lovely. I can't imagine how you could not enjoy the drive despite the bad quality of the roads.

I have travelled much in my life including in Costa Rica, but the energy and feel of this place are unique and inspiring. For days after our return we were still thinking of Rancho Margot and even our son insisted that we have to come back.

Danke, Juan, und alle im Rancho Margot, fuer ein wunderbares Erlebnis!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVida100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Rancho Margot for three nites and were totally impressed with this unique property. It's a retreat from daily life and transports you to paradise. The twice-daily yoga, hiking and horseback riding are fabulous. The food is all organic and most of it is grown on the ranch. We stayed in a bungalow which was spacious and clean. I recommend the two-hour tour of the ranch to see how they have achieved a negative carbon footprint. "Impressive" doesn't even come close to describe the efforts of Rancho Margot in their commitment to sustainability. We went on the five-hour horseback riding/hiking trip to the waterfall. Not for the faint of heart or anyone uncomfortable on horses, but well worth the price and the time.

Room Tip: Bungalows are the most luxurious. The bunk house is for the traveller on a shoestring.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrenaline_Junkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cabins are great.
Area made beautifully.
Environment and people are excellent.
Services are good, except the bar (drinks are expensive and boring).
They definitely can do better on food, just need to use some imagination. It is boring, like a grandmother.
I love the idea of the sustainable farm. I only don't see any sense to produce "green" electricity in Costa Rica, where are all energy is green. There is no need to screw up the ecology of local creeks and leave guests without hot water and electricity. Idea sounds great, but doesn't work well, and probably will not work well. Next, you actually don't learn anything. The 2h tour doesn't mean you can get somehow involved in "eco" farming, or somebody is going to spend hours answering all your questions. Just adjust your expectations. Located more than 10km away from the main road, the dirt road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews