We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verde”
Review of Rancho Margot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Margot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Verde”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is green in every sense of the word. It is nestled in a lush reforested rainforest just along Lake Arenal, and operates with a negative carbon footprint. It has an energetic staff, excited to show guests the beauties of Rancho and the surrounding jungle.

Hard to describe in words, because it is the kind of place that has be experienced to be appreciated.

The food is great. The bunkhouse rooms are tight for two, but the bungalows are perfect. Prepare for rain, even in the dry season. And be sure to take the Ranch Tour soon after getting there so you don't miss any of the unique opportunities while you are staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    54
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
94
108
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

wow - this place is neat. The ranch tour is amazing when you find out how use their own energy, grown their own food, use the compost system to heat the water, make their furniture, have cows and pigs, etc....it is just neat. The bungalow's are perfect - secluded. What you have to remember is that this is in the forest - so be prepared. The only down side I saw to this is the very bumpy road that you have to drive on for about 18km before you get to the ranch - but know that ahead of time and plan all your activites on the ranch, then you won't have to leave :) THe staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food was great! Great place to walk around, go on a hike, ect. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: all the bungalows are all secluded, they do not have A/C (because they are in the rain forest and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saralee78664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at Rancho Margot filled with tons of relaxation, wonderful tours and hikes around the area on foot and horseback, and amazing food that was almost all from the ranch. The employees are incredibly friendly and helpful and kept the ranch up impeccably. We stayed in a bungalow and enjoyed spending time in our hammock watching all of the birds fly by. We would love to come back for another visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband & I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Rancho Margot was recommended to us by a friend who had stayed there. What a great place! I've never stayed at a resort anything like this before. If you want to be nestled in the rain forest, this place is perfect. Everyone was so friendly that by the end of our stay there, it felt like family. No concerns of anything getting stolen from us and such. Definitely a secluded location. Many activities within a short distance. The ranch tour was pretty amazing. All about sustainability! All meals included and they were all delicious!
Only downsides were: Many mosquitoes outside (though this may have been worse due to our visit being during the rainy season), the road to the ranch was very rough (best handled by a 4 X 4), lack of screens on the windows and doors, & not-so-great-but-tolerable internet service in the restaurant lobby area. Husband & I really enjoyed our stay here & wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This review is long overdue and I don't know if I can add much more than the last couple of reviews, which were excellent in capturing the essence of Rancho Margot. My 23 year old daughter and I stayed at the ranch in March 2011. Unfortunately, it rained most of the time that we were there, but we still enjoyed it very much in spite of the weather, especially the yoga classes with Irun who was absolutely lovely. The yoga studio was next to a babbling brook and it was so peaceful to listen to the water and the birds while practicing yoga. We loved the food, which was healthy and well prepared. The Bungalow was simple, yet clean and comfortable and there weren't really that many bugs while we were there. I especially loved the porch. It was nice to read on the hammock or rocking chair, staying nice and dry while it was raining outside.

We met lots of wonderful, interesting people during our stay at the ranch. There were also several young people who volunteered for several weeks or months at a time. I think it was them and our trip to Rancho Margot in general which inspired my daughter to make some changes in her life. She has since quit her job, moved to Thailand to teach English and then plans to WWOOF for awhile and perhaps even return to Rancho Margot to do the yoga teacher training with Irun next fall.

The road leading to Rancho Margot is very long and bumpy so it's probably not somewhere you want to stay while sightseeing around Arenal. There's plenty to do (yoga, horseback riding, kayaking, swimming, etc) so you actually don't even have to leave the ranch if you don't want to. As a previous reviewer stated, it's more like a destination. And it is indeed a destination that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We decided to venture to Rancho Margot for lunch after a hike and we loved it!! The food was buffet-style and was absolutely delicious. One of our favorite meals all trip! We loved that it was so fresh and health-conscious. We would have liked to walk around the grounds (which seemed beautiful) but they only allow this as a tour, $20pp in addition to the $15pp lunch, which seemed pricey so we sadly skipped it. I wish they allowed lunch customers to explore on their own with a map. No volcano view from the property but nice views on the road there.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ashimarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Loved the atmosphere, loved the mission. Be sure you know what you are getting into when booking here. It is an Eco-lodge that prides itself in systainability. I loved it, but it's not luxery (no AC). Food was delicious and included. Decent wifi. Very nice warm pool and free yoga.
Only complaint, and reason for not all full marks, is the dorms. They are very small, full of bugs and the beds are too small for a tall person. I upgraded to the bungalow, and it was well worth it. Queen sized beds with bug screens. Nice porch with chairs, personal showers and a ceiling fan.

Overall I highly recommend it. Loved it and plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanStout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
8.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
7.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
12.5 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Margot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Margot

Property: Rancho Margot
Address: 3km beyond El Castillo | La Fortuna de San Carlos, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Margot 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL RESERVATIONS AT RANCHO MARGOT INCLUDE DAILY BREAKFAST, LUNCH AND DINNER FROM OUR CHEMICAL-FREE GARDENS. ADDITIONALLY, 2-HOUR GUIDED RANCH TOUR AND TWICE DAILY YOGA CLASSES ARE INCLUDED WITH EVERY OVERNIGHT STAY.On the hills of Rancho Margot, you will find our 17 deluxe bungalows. The Caño Negro river whisper will guide you to the most peaceful rest possible, only to wake up the next day with the loud call of the howler monkeys. Hidden in our botanical gardens are bungalows, equipped to house couples or families of up to 4 people. Each bungalow has its own terrace on which you may enjoy the incredible view while relaxing on your hammock with a great book. Bungalows feature Orthopedic mattresses and are available with two queen beds or one queen bed and two singles. Additional amenities include mosquito netting, rocking chair, table & chairs, and handmade soaps. Each bungalow is equipped with a private bathroom with shower.Our vision is to protect our sustainable rainforest facility but also to make it an educational playground for adults and children alike, where we can inspire a new generation of global citizens to continue ‘closing the circle.’Rancho Margot is a family enterprise where everyone is welcome. We’re living our dream, and we invite you to join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rancho Margot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Margot Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing