We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Hosts are Numero uno! A must!!!”

Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tres Cabras is a new restaurant located on the grounds of beautiful Nepenthe Bed & Breakfast, about 30 minutes from La Fortuna in the village of El Castillo. We serve a daily prix fixe dinner menu from 5:30pm to 8:30pm. All of our food - from pasta to tortillas to goat cheese and more - is handmade with fresh local ingredients. Join us before dinner for sunset hour from 4:30 to 5:30pm and relax with a drink and a stunning view of Lake Arenal and Arenal Volcano. Reservations are preferred. Please note that we can only accept cash (USD or Colones) at this time. *We are always happy to accommodate any allergies or dietary restrictions with advance notice*
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stumbled upon this establishment on our first night in El Castillo. They accommodated the seven of us with no problem. Walking into the open air kitchen/dining area gave me a warm and homey feeling. Ryan greeted us with the warmest smile and made the long trip from San Jose Airport melt away. We started with a wonderful appetizer spread of homemade hummus and warm pita bread, the freshest guacamole and delicious black bean soup. All wonderfully prepared by Rebecca, the sweetest and youngest self trained chef I ever met. Our dinners were homemade pasta with red pepper sauce and shrimp and a chicken and fresh basil flat bread. All local, organic ingredients. Oh and it came with wine and beer. You can't get that anywhere! The food and the company and live entertainment by our host Ryan made this so unforgettable we came back 2 more times. The all time best was the cerviche. If Rebecca has it on the menu do not hesitate ordering it. It is to die for. My oldest son, who isn't big on fish couldn't get enough of it. I just wish we were there to celebrate their new location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mflanagan801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca l, Owner at Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for the review! We had so much fun hanging out with the Jersey 7!
We would love to have you back any time to check out our new digs ;)
Best,
Ryan & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We decided to extend our visit to the Arenal area an extra day and fortunately for us we had to leave the hotel we were in as they were booked for that night. Some other travelers we had met the day before told us about this great little hotel that they had stayed in...Voila, here we were checked in at Nepenthe hotel. They view is amazing and the restaurant (which we had not planned to eat in) Tres Cabras was superb!!!!!!! Rebecca the chef du cuisine and Ryan the host created a saaaa-weeeeeet ambiance and a small but extremely well planned menu. We really were blown away by the quality and freshness of the food, the thoughtful preparation with perfectly herbed and portioned meals. There were four of us and we tried a bit of everything. The Ceviche was nothing short of sublime as was the goat cheese tart and perfectly homemade pasta. The best homemade pasta I've had in years! it was a lovely evening with unmatched views, amazing sunset, lively conversation and a stellar meal. We will go back to Arenal just for this place! Excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adventuregurl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca l, Owner at Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for the review! It was great meeting you, we're glad you found your way to Nepenthe. Best of luck with your Costa Rican adventure and we hope to see you back here soon ;)

Ryan & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Myself, my husband, and our two friends spent three nights at Nepenthe and had the opportunity to dine at Tres Cabras twice. The food was splendid. On our last night we had some of the best ceviche we've had in a long time, a goat cheese tart wrapped in a deliciously flaky crust and a lyonnaise salad that made my little heart happy. Ryan and Rebecca are lovely hosts, full of great conversation. We couldn't have asked for a more memorable experience while in Costa Rica! We look forward to future visits and the future success of this little gem of a restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca l, Owner at Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hi! Thank you so much for the kind review, we had so much fun hosting you guys.
A family that you met at Pizza John's on your way out came and stayed for a night on your recommendation and they were awesome too! We definitely owe you all a drink or three next time you're in the area ;)
Ryan & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We love fresh healthy food and this restaurant had the best food we had in all of Costa Rica! The hand made pasta made by Rebecca with the variety of sauces was delicious. All the food was made from scratch with only the freshest ingredients. From the appetizers of guacamole, black bean soup, and a fish salsa to the 2 daily main meal choices there is something for everyone and all were fabulous!! The portion size did not leave you feeling hungry!
On top of the fantastic food, the atmosphere was relaxing and homey. Ryan and Rebecca are great hosts and you are truly a 'guest' and not just a customer.
While you are having a fantastic meal for $20 per person with wine or beer included, the views are breath taking.
With Ryan and Rebecca operating Tres Cabras Restaurant at Nepenthe B&B is definitely an asset to the area whether you just want to go for dinner or are a guest at the B&B.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron and Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca l, Owner at Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

It was a pleasure getting to know the two of you!
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again soon.
Tigre & Dorito say hi too.

Cheers!
Ryan + Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Nepenthe which was fantastic. Ryan and Rebecca were incredible dinner hosts and always around to chat and make you feel at home. The cooking was out of this world. The white marlin ceviche was the best I've ever had. Presentation, service and food quality was top notch. If you're in the area this is an absolute must place to try. You won't find a better view from your table anywhere plus you get regular visits from holler monkeys and tucans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca l, Owner at Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Had a great time with you guys! We love having fellow musicians here, it was fun to play together at the bbq. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Best,
Ryan + Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Cabras Restaurante at Nepenthe also viewed

El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing