We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View of Arenal Lava Flows at Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linda Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best View of Arenal Lava Flows at Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

Our master suite was much better than we had imagined. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. Along with the bathroom it was spotless and modern. The master suites have a pc in them, so you can easily stay in touch via internet. I noticed the hotel also had a computer room with internet access.

From our room, it was easy to feel like we were in the clouds. The first night we saw the lava flows from Arenal from our beds. It was a great view. The next three nights, it was too cloudy to see the lava at night, so the first night was a great treat.

The staff is very helpful and were able to schedule some tours for us. The restaurant has a great view, but lacked in vegetarian choices, as we ate their four nights.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Linda Vista del Norte to anyone traveling to Arenal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    261
    78
    30
    9
See reviews for
146
357
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

Recently traveled with my girlfriend to La Fortuna. We stayed in a junior suite for a few days. The hotel has a great view of the active side of the volcano and the lake. The view was the most enjoyable part of my stay. The pool and jacuzzi was very nice. Bryan at the front desk was great. He was very helpful in arranging all of our trips around La Fortuna. The hotel is about 40 minutes outside La Fortuna. It is a slow, rough, and twenty dollar ride between the hotel and La Fortuna. The food at the hotel was priced higher than i expected and there were few vegetarian options. Overall, the hotel had a great view, friendly staff, and wonderful facilities.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royboytw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

The view from the restaurant was amazing of the lake and volcano. The place sits pretty high up above the road/town below. The food was not good, caters to tourists, with some demeaning wait staff and extremely over priced for the quality. One meal made me quite sick. Instead, go get pizza a bit further down the road next to Arenal Vista Lodge.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Atrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley AZ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Keep in mind: this is located 10km off the main Arenal road, along an extremely bumpy pot-holed gravel road, watch for the turn off towards the end, to the right, continue on about another 3 kms, this is up a steep muddy incline up hill. That said, we took a drive from where we were staying at arenal observatory to here, which was about the 3km. The hill turn-off to drive up is hard to see, it look like a little property owns it, as a little shack is at the entrance.

When you finally reach the top, the views are stunning. The food was just great. luved the typical dish of rice, veggies and chicken. it was worth the drive from our hotel to visit for the food and view, but it would be really long to do so from the main road, as it would take you about 40 mins.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I recently stayed at the Hotel Linda Vista del Norte with my husband, mother, and my in-laws, on a week long trip to Costa Rica. The view from the hotel was absolutely amazing, Vulcan Arenal on one side and Lake Arenal on the other - what more could you ask for. There was a total of 8 of us traveling together, we had two rooms - one Junior Suite (rm 15) and one Master Suite (rm 28). The Master Suite was its own little villa we had a private balcony, large bathroom, and kitchen along with two king size beds and on single bed, it even had its own carport, which was nice when the rains came down. The Junior suite was not as large, but just as nice. The Junior Suite had two queen size beds, a decent sized bathroom, and private balcony. It was situated near the front desk, so it was a quick walk with any questions we had. The bedding was nothing to write home about, but remember this is not a 5 star hotel. If you are looking for a Four Seasons, this isn't for you, but the beds are comfortable enough, and will do just fine. If you're anything like me, I would be surprised if you get a full nights sleep, not because of the beds, but because you'll be affraid to miss another breath taking view.

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was hesitatnt to stay here, but after our visit, I would be back in a heartbeat (and actually will be back in December/January). The front desk staff was helpful, but spoke very little/broken english. My husband is orginally from Costa Rica (and his family whom we were travelling with still live there), so language was not much of a problem for us. But they were very helpful none the less. They even helped us arrange a last minute massage from a spa company they regularly work with (which I would highly recommend) they came and picked my mom up and brought her to the spa for free (or they will bring the massage table direct to your room).

The pool/hot tub was the best. This is where we spent most of our time. We had a two day ticket for The Springs Resort and Spa (hot springs) and although it was very nice there, we preferred the relaxation of the hotel pool and the swim up bar. When we go back we will probably just save the money and not go to the hot springs. The bartender we had at the swim up bar was great. She was very helpful, even offering to call on her personal cell phone to the different hot springs to get prices, times, and info. She gave us some great suggestions for dinner (but we ended up eating at the hotel restaraunt instead because of rain). The drinks were moderately priced, no different than at a hotel here in the states - you are paying for convience. We all ordered Pina Coladas - they were fresh and boy were they good - and the bartender kept our glasses filled (and didn't charge us for anything more than what we originally ordered).

We had dinner at the hotel restaraunt, which was great. I didn't find the prices that bad (they were comprable to the other hotels we stayed at while in CR - or any hotel restaraunt here in the states) but for the price you pay for the hotel room, I can see the prices being somewhat unexpected. The menu is mostly steaks (which fit our crew perfectly), but they did offer some other options. Everyone enjoyed their food, including my nine year old picky eater of a nephew (he got a shrimp dish that was LOADED with shrimp, more than you could ever expect here for $16).

After dinner, we sat out on the terrace that is adjacent to the restaraunt for an unusually early lava show. The hotel guard was escorting people around the terrace with a flashlight because he had turned the main lights off to afford a better view of the volcano. We spoke with him for quite a while, and he was also very nice, and informative. He was telling us we were so lucky to be able to see as much of the lava flow as we were able to, especially that early in the night. He said usually the best time for viewing was around 3 am. After about 30 minutes, the clouds filled back in, and we decided to call it a night. Before we left, he offered to wake us up if there was more volcanic action later that night, which we gladly took him up on the offer.

The next day we spent more time in the wonderful pool before heading out - it was by far our favorite part of our trip to the Arenal Area.

I must say the only slight down side to this hotel would be the drive getting there - it is rather bumpy. We had a 15 passenger van, which was not 4WD, but we made it to the hotel just fine, had no worries, even in the rain. But it was a tad bumpy - but if you actually kept your speed rather than slowing down, it wasn't that bad.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachael491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I doubt there is anywhere better to stay for views of the volcano, other than maybe at the observatory itself (which is, no doubt, at least double the price)! While it may be a little trek away from the main town of La Fortuna, it is worth the longer drive to the hotel. And, in my opinion, much nicer to not be in La Fortuna, which is ugly and busy. The hotel is also very close to the observatory, which is a definite must to visit during the day for it's beautiful gardens and great views of the volcano.

We enjoyed a truly relaxing stay here - sipping cocktails in the pool, while enjoying full views of the volcano in action and enjoying tasty breakfasts from the restaurant verandah, again watching the volcano. The room was very comfortable and private, also with good views of the volcano and beautiful scenery from the verandah. I don't recall the food in the restaurant in the evening being anything overly special, but it certainly wasn't bad. The views of the volcano, the pool and friendly staff more than made up for that.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydrobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I always have excellent luck with Tourist Information Center. And this prevail in Arenal. The tourist information center got us an awesome deal at Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte (I think it was ~$80/night). And this decision make our Costa Rica adventure ended on a high note.

The hotel was a bit far from the town (about 30 min) but OMG, the view is AMAZING! You can see both the lake and the volcano from the balcony. And the staff was so nice. They let us hang out at the aqua blue infinite pool for 2-3 hours in the middle of the night; they even gave us ice for our drinks.

My only regret is I only have one night to stay at Linda Vista.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_B_BEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
11.4 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Property: Linda Vista Hotel
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing