We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Linda Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I recently stayed at the Hotel Linda Vista del Norte with my husband, mother, and my in-laws, on a week long trip to Costa Rica. The view from the hotel was absolutely amazing, Vulcan Arenal on one side and Lake Arenal on the other - what more could you ask for. There was a total of 8 of us traveling together, we had two rooms - one Junior Suite (rm 15) and one Master Suite (rm 28). The Master Suite was its own little villa we had a private balcony, large bathroom, and kitchen along with two king size beds and on single bed, it even had its own carport, which was nice when the rains came down. The Junior suite was not as large, but just as nice. The Junior Suite had two queen size beds, a decent sized bathroom, and private balcony. It was situated near the front desk, so it was a quick walk with any questions we had. The bedding was nothing to write home about, but remember this is not a 5 star hotel. If you are looking for a Four Seasons, this isn't for you, but the beds are comfortable enough, and will do just fine. If you're anything like me, I would be surprised if you get a full nights sleep, not because of the beds, but because you'll be affraid to miss another breath taking view.

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was hesitatnt to stay here, but after our visit, I would be back in a heartbeat (and actually will be back in December/January). The front desk staff was helpful, but spoke very little/broken english. My husband is orginally from Costa Rica (and his family whom we were travelling with still live there), so language was not much of a problem for us. But they were very helpful none the less. They even helped us arrange a last minute massage from a spa company they regularly work with (which I would highly recommend) they came and picked my mom up and brought her to the spa for free (or they will bring the massage table direct to your room).

The pool/hot tub was the best. This is where we spent most of our time. We had a two day ticket for The Springs Resort and Spa (hot springs) and although it was very nice there, we preferred the relaxation of the hotel pool and the swim up bar. When we go back we will probably just save the money and not go to the hot springs. The bartender we had at the swim up bar was great. She was very helpful, even offering to call on her personal cell phone to the different hot springs to get prices, times, and info. She gave us some great suggestions for dinner (but we ended up eating at the hotel restaraunt instead because of rain). The drinks were moderately priced, no different than at a hotel here in the states - you are paying for convience. We all ordered Pina Coladas - they were fresh and boy were they good - and the bartender kept our glasses filled (and didn't charge us for anything more than what we originally ordered).

We had dinner at the hotel restaraunt, which was great. I didn't find the prices that bad (they were comprable to the other hotels we stayed at while in CR - or any hotel restaraunt here in the states) but for the price you pay for the hotel room, I can see the prices being somewhat unexpected. The menu is mostly steaks (which fit our crew perfectly), but they did offer some other options. Everyone enjoyed their food, including my nine year old picky eater of a nephew (he got a shrimp dish that was LOADED with shrimp, more than you could ever expect here for $16).

After dinner, we sat out on the terrace that is adjacent to the restaraunt for an unusually early lava show. The hotel guard was escorting people around the terrace with a flashlight because he had turned the main lights off to afford a better view of the volcano. We spoke with him for quite a while, and he was also very nice, and informative. He was telling us we were so lucky to be able to see as much of the lava flow as we were able to, especially that early in the night. He said usually the best time for viewing was around 3 am. After about 30 minutes, the clouds filled back in, and we decided to call it a night. Before we left, he offered to wake us up if there was more volcanic action later that night, which we gladly took him up on the offer.

The next day we spent more time in the wonderful pool before heading out - it was by far our favorite part of our trip to the Arenal Area.

I must say the only slight down side to this hotel would be the drive getting there - it is rather bumpy. We had a 15 passenger van, which was not 4WD, but we made it to the hotel just fine, had no worries, even in the rain. But it was a tad bumpy - but if you actually kept your speed rather than slowing down, it wasn't that bad.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachael491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    256
    75
    30
    9
See reviews for
144
346
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I doubt there is anywhere better to stay for views of the volcano, other than maybe at the observatory itself (which is, no doubt, at least double the price)! While it may be a little trek away from the main town of La Fortuna, it is worth the longer drive to the hotel. And, in my opinion, much nicer to not be in La Fortuna, which is ugly and busy. The hotel is also very close to the observatory, which is a definite must to visit during the day for it's beautiful gardens and great views of the volcano.

We enjoyed a truly relaxing stay here - sipping cocktails in the pool, while enjoying full views of the volcano in action and enjoying tasty breakfasts from the restaurant verandah, again watching the volcano. The room was very comfortable and private, also with good views of the volcano and beautiful scenery from the verandah. I don't recall the food in the restaurant in the evening being anything overly special, but it certainly wasn't bad. The views of the volcano, the pool and friendly staff more than made up for that.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydrobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I always have excellent luck with Tourist Information Center. And this prevail in Arenal. The tourist information center got us an awesome deal at Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte (I think it was ~$80/night). And this decision make our Costa Rica adventure ended on a high note.

The hotel was a bit far from the town (about 30 min) but OMG, the view is AMAZING! You can see both the lake and the volcano from the balcony. And the staff was so nice. They let us hang out at the aqua blue infinite pool for 2-3 hours in the middle of the night; they even gave us ice for our drinks.

My only regret is I only have one night to stay at Linda Vista.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_B_BEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We booked this hotel solely based on the location facing the active side of the volcano as depicted on a map we found on arenal.net and reviews here on TA. Booked the honeymoon suite ($118 incl. taxes and breakfast) and we were not disappointed! The unpaved road leading to the hotel is incredibly bumpy! We managed just fine in our 4WD but this road is terrible! We drove for about 15mins and I was relieved when we finally turned off into the grounds of the hotel. We caught the receptionist as she was leaving for the night and she turned back to check us in! We drove up to our little villa, stepped out of the car, and admired the incredible view of the lava flowing down the volcano! Amaaaazing! The villa itself was lovely! Very clean, hot water was working as was the A/C. We settled into bed and just watched the lava flowing down the volcano. One of our best experiences!

The next morning, the volcano was shrouded in fog which was unfortunate but we were fortunate enough to see the lava show the previous night. The grounds are well maintained. The pool looked nice but we did not use it. We had a quick continental breakfast before heading off for the Sky Tram/Sky Trek which I highly recommend! Just 10mins up the road.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w3ndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

On advice of someone who lives in CR we booked a master suite here and we not disappointed. It is a bit out of the way which adds to the quite atmosphere, and feeling of not being crowed by other establishments.
The front desk is adequate and helpful, as well as the restaurant staff, with excellent food.
Our master suite had 2 queen sized beds that faced a 108 inch double sliding glass door that opened to a balcony with a fantastic view of the volcano and lake. This alone will move you to a traquil mindset.
The room had a large bathroom, fridge, iron w/board, safe, table with chairs, computer with internet, and a satellite tv with remote. The room doesn't have a telephone which is odd if you expect to have room service w/o leaving the room.
The price of the master suite includes a buffet style breakfast.. The room was turned down daily and stocked with fresh supplies.
In the states this hotel would rate in the 3-4 star range. I would stay here again w/o hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acoachcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

We chose this hotel because we wanted to see the lava flow at night from our hotel room. The room faced the volcano and was all windows on one side with a huge private balcony. The bathroom was also very roomy. Unfortunately, the clouds were not cooperative but for a couple of minutes after dinner when we actually saw the red stuff! There is a terrace above and at pool level with lawn chairs to watch the volcano. It was too chilly to get in the pool as we were in the mountains. We only stayed one night to see the volcano and the next day to tour the national park at the base of the volcano. Breakfast was ok with hot and cold items. Dinner was good with typical Costa-Rica menu items and the price was moderate. The staff wasn't too helpful with things to do in the area but there isn't much to do there anyway.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ztagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

First, let me say that the waitstaff lacks personality, but the hotel management staff-especially Anna-were extremely helpful and friendly! She helped us book a last minute rafting trip with Defrasco adventures which is highly recommended by the way! We had a great time...Anyway, the volcano was fogged up which is more normal than not for the green season, but there is still a great deal to see. The lodge is located in the Arenal Park and has great views from the rooms and the grounds even if you can't see the top of the Volcano. We stayed in a junior suite with two glass walls for good viewing. The restaurant is not the best and the alcohol is overpriced...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ampgrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
11.4 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
6.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Property: Linda Vista Hotel
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing