We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”
Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linda Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Location Location Location! Hotel is located a bit far from civilization, so get ready to spend some $$ on transportation. Other than that, everything else can only be summed up by WOW. Ambiance, views, air, food and hotel staff were superb and we had 3 amazing days at Arenal. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pschaften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    263
    79
    30
    9
See reviews for
147
360
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our experience with this hotel did not start in the best way... Upon arrival I checked "how to arrive" information and as there was nothing alarming, just forgot about it. The map showed a road on the south side of the lake and it looked like 1 hour drive (we were coming from Monteverde). The problem is that to go there from Monteverde it would be either the paved road on the north of the Arenal lake or the unpaved road on the south of the lake (which neither the map, not the hotel said). Of course, we had no time to go from the north, so with all the detailed instructions by the locals we set around 4 pm from the south side. It still took us more than 4hrs and it was an adventure :). There were nearly no road signs, the road was a dirt and stones narrow path (other maps don't even show it, as we found out later), we had to cross like 6 rivers, including the last one which we reached at dark and it was too large to see where/if the road continued on the other side. So we came back several km to the first (and only) house to ask for advice how to cross that river and at which point :). Indeed, we found the continuation of the road. So much for the arrival information. Btw, I tried to call the hotel at least 4-5 times around 7 pm, to ask for driving instructions and nobody answered. If you don't arrive from Monteverde, but from Arenal, the roads are normal, you only have several km of the unpaved road. If the hotel had provided the necessary information, we would have not lost all the time and our impressions would have been much different.
Once we reached the hotel, things started to be better :) The views are absolutely gorgeous and all the setting too. Rooms and the bathroom are normal, very big and spacious, although not of the last fashion. Wi-fi worked well. The balcony with the views of Arenal lake is great.
We had a dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was just OK. The fajitas tasted good, but were cold. Breakfast was also just acceptable. In fact, there is only a buffet for fruit and then you can choose between continental or American breakfast. Neither was neither abundant nor excellent. Just OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Ok first off, make sure you rent an SUV and get the GPS; you're going to need it. I drove from SJO and google maps did not work but thankfully I played it safe and got the GPS. Also make sure you type in the hotel exactly as it's listed here. When I was about 8km away, I realized the last 8km was on an unpaved road to get there.
I passed many hotels on the way in at La Fortuna that I did not find on net and had vacancies posted. This hotel is in El Castillo which is a small hamlet down that unpaved road. The views are breathtaking and the hotel is clean yet the rooms are in dire need of a makeover and the price per night I found to be a tad high. If seclusion is what you're looking for, this place is it.....at least my first night, tonight the neighbors down the dirt road seem to be throwing a loud party for all the ticos and it really destroys the ambience if you want to reflect. Don't get me wrong, I like this hotel but it's not worth $115 per night especially if you are driving down a dirt road to find solitude and instead find loud music from down the hill in the middle of a rain forest!
The views are amazing, but you might as well drive on up, just take the pics and leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickc2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Wonderfull view, very good food, good services, clean room maybe a little hot so ask for a air conditionner and awesome situation, near everything, excellent services, they make arrangements!!!!Wow!!!

Room Tip: The View and a air condionner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

GORGEOUS rainforest views right out the window. We paid a little extra for a master suite #25.

I'm a professional photographer and even after spending days hiking around looking for the best photo locations, but one of the best shots I took the whole trip was right out my hotel window.

Wi-fi was surprisingly good for such a remote location (5 miles of gravel roads to get there).

Pool was BEAUTIFUL. Breakfast was delicious.

Quiet. Don't expect any kind of night scene. It's 20 minutes to La Fortuna where the action is, but we loved being in this quiet place. If you plan to hike and do canopy tours and such, then this hotel is REALLY close to that kind of place.

Room Tip: Pick the #25 master suite. It was unbelievable. Huge glass wall of windows to see the rainforest v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a great time in this lovely hotel! The stuff was very friendly and helpful giving the advices about what to do in the area. We were welcome with a fruit cocktail which we enjoyed at the pool admiring an amazing view of the Arenal lake and volcano.
The breakfast was very good and included in the room rate. The restaurant also offered lunch and dinner.
The rooms were spacy, clean and air-conditioned equipped with a coffee/thee maker.
Remember to wake up early because morning is the best time to get a clear view of the volcano. In the afternoon it's usually covered with clouds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poszewka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed only one night, the beds were comfortable. The pool was beautiful and the restaurant good. The free breakfast was really nice. The rooms are quite outdated and could really use a makeover. That said, the view of the volcano from our balcony was so amazing, the outdated room wasn't such a big deal.

Room Tip: choose a junior or a master suite if you want the awesome view of the volcano, it's worth the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurpimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
11.4 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Property: Linda Vista Hotel
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing