We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view and very nice staff”
Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linda Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great view and very nice staff”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, which had an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. The room was very clean and well maintained and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. My 5-year old daughter loved their infinity pool and jacuzzi as well as the hotel's dogs and cats. It's location is what makes it special---not commercial and over crowded with other hotels, though the dirt road leading to the hotel can be a bit challenging, but worth it--the views are incredible! There is a lot to do in the area so try to stay a few days if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    264
    80
    30
    10
See reviews for
148
363
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. Off the beaten path a bit but well worth the 15 or so off road minutes. You get a great view of the volcano (we woke up to it each morning). The staff were super friendly. The rooms were incredible clean. The restaurant was a little expensive but they have a captive audience so I don't blame them for raising the price a dollar or two. We were woken up by howler monkeys every morning. A little early on vacation, but how many times can you say you were woken up by monkeys every morning.

My only complaint was our shower was a little awkward but plenty of hot water and very tidy.

Yes you will have some bugs on the floor. You're in the middle of the jungle. Bring bug spray. And sunscreen. I would absolutely go back to this hotel if I was in the Arenal area again.

Room Tip: We had AC in our junior suite but our companion in a regular room didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottaluvme_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our 2 day stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the jacuzzi and the pool are fantastic. The food is good. Don't miss the huge terrace behind the reception building, it has breathtaking views on the Arenal volcano and the lake. You see a lot of beautiful birds especially in the morning, sometimes even some hummingbird, on top of the butterflies... The "outback" road to get there is a bit rough but it is definitely worth it. Don't miss the SkyTram and the SkyTrail over the canopy, just 5min away from the hotel and a No-Miss! Have fun!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PascalOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel sits on top of a small hill which makes it have one of the best views of the Volcano. it is worth a stay just to enjoy the heavenly view of Arenal volcano. Hotel makes you feel you are in a rain forest as you drive on dirt road, crossing streams and thick woods.

Every room has a huge balcony to enjoy dream like views. When I was there, it was all cloudy, and rainy which added to the heavenly feel I experienced. The views from the pool area are jew dropping. Too bad I didn't get time to enjoy the pool but sat there for a nice complementary breakfast that was prepared in front of me. Sipping coffee and enjoying the clouds pass over Arenal is an experience I'll cherish for a long time.

Too bad this place seems to get very less traffic as they closed down their restaurant and we had hot-water issue which took a while to get fixed.

Room Tip: Don't miss their complementary breakfast prepared fresh near the pool area. You get to enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I went in August during the "green season" which turned out to be perfect! The locals said that the "rainy" season isn't really till September.

We stayed at the Linda Vista for 3 nights in Master Suite room 25. The full wall of windows looking out at Arenal Volcano was jar-dropping gorgeous with the lake right next to it. We had a 5:30 wake-up call of howler monkeys each morning. We loved it and would both start singing "Welcome to the Jungle". It didn't last long and it was more unerving than loud. The towel creatures the cleaning service made each day were a nice surprise. The breakfast was great with a choice of "amercian" or "traditional" which was included in our package. We hung out by the jaccuzzi during sunset with cocktails - just wonderful.

The road leading to this hotel is an unpaved road. We had a Yaris which did a pretty good job handling it. An SUV 4X4 would have been more comfortable and a hell less stressful. The location of this hotel is great!! Very close to the Sky Trek/Tram zip lining (Awesome), Arenal Observatory, EcoZoo, Arenal national park. We also went to the Fortuna Falls which was close by. The hot springs establishments I felt were over priced. The locals showed us were to go for FREE. Across from Tabacon under the yellow gate.

I know I am rambling a bit but I want to get everything in.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room anywhere here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendaeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the view, all of the rooms have a back balcony that faces out over the lake and Arenal Volcano. Great view to wake up to everyday. Its a smaller hotel which makes for a great getaway. The pool and hot tub were very nice and it is positioned to look out over the lake as well. The customer service was good and the room was clean. There is a gate at the bottom of the hill to provide more security for the hotel, so if you are planning to go out at night check to see what time they close the gate.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms are together with the back balconies facing the lake & volcano. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
347 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Room with a view - our room (master suite 24) had full size glass wall and every time you wake up laying on your back you are facing volcano. The balcony in your room is facing volcano. This is real room with the view.

The personnel is very nice an pleasant. Hotel is nice and clean. Sleep quality is great until monkey and birds will wake you up early in the morning, but then they quite again.

Hotel has nice pool overlooking volcano and nice deck overlooking volcano.

Wi-Fi is free and of good speed most of the time.

The food in restaurant is generally good quality. Free breakfast is nothing to talk about. You will need a car (SUV) to get to hotel - its at least 30+ minutes drive from town on very beat up road, which is probably only one minus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,831 reviews
6.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,825 reviews
11.4 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
240 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Property: Linda Vista Hotel
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing