We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Arenal Lake!”

Howlers Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Bar
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view of Arenal Lake!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in El Castillo and were told that La Fortuna was a ways away, so our best bet was Howlers Bar and Grill. We were tired from travelling all day so we figured, why not? We ordered the cheese burgers and fries. The fries were delicious but the burger was under done and my wife's tasted real weird. The view is fabulous and the staff are really friendly. For me, I'm not a fan of seeing dogs roaming were my food gets prepared neither. It's worth the drive to La Fortuna in my eyes. But, if you'd like some drinks and snack on some fries with a great view, then this is the place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pynecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good for the first time”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Their menu is about five things - a cheeseburger, hamburger, fries, cheese melt, or chicken sandwich. They had beer, which was always refreshing...but this place is nothing special. The people here are really nice, even their dog hangs out in the bar. We ended up going here the second time because it was late and nothing else in the small town was open, so it's not much of a variety if you're visiting it for the second time. The food is good though for bar food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToastyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanks to our newest set of friends”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place reflects the beauty and spirit embodied by the owners and staff. Fun, friendly, and fully blessed. Amazing woodworking and positive vibes. Give thanks. Pura Vida!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasonG_Asheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good food, limited menu, american cuisine”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Howlers Bar is convenient for anyone staying near El Castillo. The food was good, but the menu was limited to just a handful of items. Typical American cuisine of hamburgers, hot dogs, etc...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB11953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howlers Bar & Grill also viewed

El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Howlers Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing