We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Majestic Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Castillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majestic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Discovering Majestic Lodge was like finding a diamond in the rough. The views are unbeatable, the managers and staff are your friends, and the food was delicious. I wish I could have stayed longer.

It is definitely off the beaten path, but that's also the beauty of it. As long as you have an appreciation for phenomenal views, simplicity, and rest and relaxation than you won't be disappointed. The Arenal area is rich with activity - horseback-riding, zip-lining, repelling, volcanic springs, hiking. Just make sure your vehicle has 4-wheel drive!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have rented three separate properties from property managers Nancy and Z, her husband, to date. I have been pleased with each rental and the level of service received. Nancy is an agreeable, accommodating, network of knowledge necessary to navigate the local area. You'll need her if a first time visitor. Z, her husband, is way calm and a certain balance to Nancy. Together they both work to encourage new visitors appropriately. Trust them.

My suggestions to future visitors: Do your homework and read everything. You come here to detox and put a pause on face-paced life. In the rain forest, its RAINS... a lot, so go with the flow and do not change your plans based on the weather you see--it changes quickly. The road to Majestic is a long gravel drive. You may want to print a google map before you depart home, otherwise picking up hitch hikers in the El Castillo and La Fortuna area is a good and safe thing--you'll get to where you need to go and every local I have met tried their hardest to help. Use the iPhone and save your locations--works well in a culture where they don't use road names and tend to navigate by landmarks. Everything you will want to do is located in El Castillo.

There is a bar/restaurant next door to Majestic. I found this place to have absolutely incredible hamburgers. Eating a hamburger broke my rule of only eating Tico food while in CR, but the quality and taste was perfect. There is a new bartender, Cindy, who opened early for our group one day and did her best to accommodate.

The rooms at Majestic are eclectic and well-designed. Beautiful wood work and a hot tub with pool that offered a nice end to the day.

The morning breakfasts were wonderfully prepared and the wait staff infectiously friendly. There is one house manager/attendant named Brian. He has a calm, suave demeanor and could have sold the two girls I was with anything. I found him to be the perfect individual to pair with this property. He smiles and everything is answered with "yes" with extremely timely follow-up.

Room Tip: Any room is good. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The house is awesome with spectacular views. However the service is disappointing. The road to the lodge is horrible. There are no stores available close-by to buy grocery or any other stuff required for the stay, you have to go to la fortunate to get stuff and travel by a road which can be back breaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madi65, Manager at Majestic Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I am so happy that you appreciated how amazing the views are from this beautiful home, but your information about the area is inaccurate. For those of you that are reading this review, I would like to clarify this information. There is a local grocery store in the village that has just about anything you would could ever need, food, beer, wine and alcohol, and there is little to no need to go to Fortuna for anything, unless you would like to tourist shop or just experience the town, which can be a lot of fun! Almost all of the activities that one would come to this area for are located here in our village...Butterfly Conservatory, Arenal National Park, The Observatory Lodge, Sky Trek zip line, Hanging Bridges, Horseback riding to the waterfall, kayaking on the Lake, Eco Zoo, and more. There are 7 different restaurants, as well. I know how difficult it can be and how unhappy people get when it rains every day on their vacation, but this village is truly magical and the dirt road is part of the charm. It is not for everyone, but rarely does anyone come here and not enjoy themselves. My staff works very hard to assure that all customers are attended to and the concierge services we provide have always been very helpful to our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to express yourself and I do hope that you can come back when it is not rainy season, so that you can enjoy the full experience of what El Castillo has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I had never been to COSTA RICA , we had heard about the MAJESTIC LODGE from friends of ours.. We wanted to visit the ARENAL area, the plan was to hike, horsback ride, and take in some adventure stuff, including nature and the rainforest.
We were met by Nancy, who showed us all around the property, (which by the way,is some beautiful property!) she was so helpful and accommodating with all our needs.
We rented the PIE IN THE SKY, 1 room cottage, with a magnificant view of the ARENAL Volcano.
We lay in bed and could see a panoramic view of the Volcano. We sat on the front porch and really new we were in the the most beautiful place.The views all around are priceless!!!
They also have an amazing lagoon style pool. that we enjoyed our evening WIND DOWN WINE TIME..
My husband requested some names of local restaurants and activities.
Nancy named a few that were highly recommended. We visited all 3, and they were excellent !!
We loved the fact that everything was very close to the lodge..in EL CASTILLO.
Every morning we went down for breakfast, tables were already set for guests, coffee,fresh OJ
and fresh fruit gave it a special touch.
We would have loved to spend more time there.
Next time we will rent the 2 bedroom house and share the experience with our friends.


Thank You Nancy
for being such a wonderful host!!



Luis and Jennifer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISLANDGIRL6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For the value this was a great place to stay. Even though it was off the beaten path i would return. Being from the states the only thing we had issue with was the massive ants that roamed the apartment floors. The view of the late and the volcano we second to none. For all those thinking about going make sure you rent a car (4WD) its worth it. I'm telling you once you get there you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madi65, Manager at Majestic Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience in our little piece of paradise! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Pie in the Sky and could appreciate the beauty and location of our village! We take great pride in the condition and cleanliness of our homes. For potential guests who may be reading this review, I must address the issue of the ants by saying that although we are located in the middle of the tropical rainforest, where there could easily be a problem with insects, we rarely have issues in any of our homes. As you mentioned to me earlier, our staff was quick to respond to this situation and rapidly resolved the problem. Thank you for your patience in this matter and we hope that you will return again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nancy said we would want to stay longer and it was the truth!! We spent 4 nights at the Majestic (3 at Pie in the Sky and 1 at the B&B). My parents, husband and 10 month old son rented the two bedroom house at Pie in the Sky and we could not have been happier! Our only complaint would be that there was too much to do in the area and we didn't leave ourselves any time to just relax at the gorgeous accommodation. The photos are exact, what an amazing location. It is at the top of a hill, yes it's a bit steep but nothing to worry about (I say this as I read a review that someone cried it was so steep, it was fine...), with the most amazing view from anywhere on the property. It's so peaceful and relaxing!! The pool is perfect and we were able to find a few minutes to take a quick swim here and there.

The service was perfect, Nancy booked us all sorts of amazing activities (two hikes, zip lining, hit springs) Brian made sure we had everything we needed and Isabelle made a lovely breakfast and served us endless coffee on the beautiful deck (at the B&B, at the house we made our own).

As a side note, we wandered through the four bedroom home while it was being cleaned and we are considering bringing the whole family back! What an amazing place also!!!

Such a perfect start to a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curridabat
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This is actually a B&B. Nice place overall. 7 rooms ranging $85 to $125 double occupancy. We took the biggest with 2 full beds. That's the only detail. No queen or king beds available. Out of that, cozy place with views to the Arenal and lake. It has a jacuzzy and small pool. Rooms are clean and beds are confy taken you're not to big. Weather is mild. Not too hot not too cold. You could sleep with no air conditioning with open windows, mind mosquitos. We had very few mosquito bites, less than 5 bites myself over 3 days stay. Totally bearable. Breakfast is tipical costarican gallo pinto, eggs, fruits and coffee. Somehow secluded it's a 45 min drive to La Fortuna but very close to Arenal Observatory and Arenal National Park. Could come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.7 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nepenthe B&B
Nepenthe B&B
#2 of 5 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Lodge

Property: Majestic Lodge
Address: one kilometer west of the school in El Castillo, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21009, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the middle of the rainforest, the Majestic Lodge rests in a peaceful little village on Lake Arenal and the Arenal Volcano. This amazing Villa is more than just a home away from home. On the upper level you will find 5 private rooms which can sleep up to 13 people. For your comfort, all rooms offer air conditioning, ceiling fans, orthopedic mattresses and high quality bedding, as well as a full private bathroom for your privacy and convenience. On the first level of this amazing home, you will find a master suite with 2 full beds, air conditioning, ceiling fans and a full private bath. Our kitchen is state of the art and fully equipped to handle a crowd! Our wonderful staff will cook your daily breakfast that you can enjoy in our open air dining area. Sit outside on our beautiful deck overlooking the Arenal Volcano and pristine 22 mile Lake Arenal. Enjoy cocktails at the bar or take a dip in the pool or jacuzzi while listening to the sounds of the tropical birds and the howl of the Monkeys! This village is packed with adventure if that is what you are looking for! Our private concierge will be happy to book all of your travel activities at no charge to you. Choose Horseback riding to the waterfall, Sky Trek, the country's largest zipline, SKy Walk hanging bridges, The Butterfly Conservatory, The Eco Zoo, Kayaking on the lake, The National Park, Arenal 1968, and a variety of natural hot spring facilities. After a full day, return to the Majestic for a relaxing massage, or other spa services at Serenity Spa located on the property! There are many fine local restaurants, but if you don't want to leave your luxurious accommodations, let us know in advance and we will be happy to accommodate all of your meals. Sit back and let us plan your vacation of a lifetime! This home away from home is everything you need to enjoy relaxation or adventure in Arenal! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing