We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nancy is the best!”
Review of Majestic Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Castillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majestic Lodge
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Nancy is the best!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Gorgeous property, breathtaking views! The Majestic Lodge is lovely. Most importantly, Nancy (property manager) is incredibly helpful and helped us plan a lovely 3 day visit to the Arenal area. She is well connected and works hard to ensure her guests have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madi65, Manager at Majestic Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on our B&B! I am glad that you enjoyed our place and all that Castillo has to offer.

Sincerely,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just stayed at Majestic in the Arenal region. Lodge is in a nice section, beautiful views. Staff was great, very accommodating. This lodge has a great outdoor deck which connects to a pool/hot tub. Deck could have used some more comfortable seating. We spent most of our nights at the lodge, the kids would swim and we would sit on the deck. The chairs are all wooden and straight backed except two so sitting after about two hours can be uncomfortable. There is no indoor section so don't go in the rainy time of year otherwise you spend you nights in your bedroom. And be fore warned the power goes off a lot. I think it went off about four times while we were there (1 week), and one time it was for at least 20 hours! Also the water went off for several hours one day. Nice lodge but without power/water it is just a building. There is no refund and or compensation for not being able to shower or cook. Probably would not stay there again for that price and the iffy electrical situation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madi65, Manager at Majestic Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
First, I would like to thank you for the compliment on our staff and the beauty of the Majestic Lodge. They are a wonderful staff and work very hard to accommodate our guests. I must say that I was surprised when reading this review, as numerous times I asked how everything was and you commented that it was great. You told me that you loved the place and had a great time.I understand that when it rains while people are on vacation it can take away from the total experience, but I wish I would have known that you were uncomfortable, as I would have figured something out to help you with this issue.

I would like to clarify a few things. The problem with the electricity is not a normal issue in our Villa. There were torrential rains, landslides and flooding in the area and the problem was in all of Arenal, not just in our B&B. We have a cistern, so when the water goes out, we still have water for our guests. The electricity was beyond our control.

Also, I would like others that are reading this review to know that we DO have a living area with a sofa, chairs and television for our guests comfort. This Villa is run as a B&B and has a staff to cook for our guests convenience. This is clear on our website, but we are happy cook meals for our guests for a fee when it is rented privately and this was offered to you. You chose not to use the service, but it was available to you.

This is a beautiful area, tucked in the rain forest and can be a wonderful experience for those who are open to it, but it is in the middle of the rain forest and sometimes these things happen.

Sincerely,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Gorgeous property, breathtaking views. We were part of a big group that pretty much overtook the whole place but the staff did everything to help and accommodate us including arranging nearby outings to hikes, zipline, etc.


Upper houses require a person to be reasonably physically fit - there is walking up and down the hills, getting around a lot of stone paths, etc. But absolutely worth it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madi65, Manager at Majestic Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review on the Majestic Lodge. Your group was so much fun and we really enjoyed having you. I hope you will return to visit again someday!

Sincerely,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderful week lovely lodge with lots of warm wood decor. Clean small pool and hot tub. Beds and shower were fine. Clean and polite staff. Innkeepers were helpful and nice to talk to. Plenty of activities to do in area. Great pick. I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madi65, Manager at Majestic Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Incredible staff, gorgeous property, stunning views... Kids loved the hot tub and small pool. Lots of choices for activities: Nancy arranged horseback riding, a day at the hot springs, and a hanging bridges hike for us. She made it so easy for us to enjoy the best the area has to offer. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My pictures DO NOT do this place the justice it deserves...what a treat it was to be able to stay at this gorgeous, scenic, and magical place! I stayed here with my boyfriend back in May but just now getting around to writing a review... A truly beautiful and unique place to stay. This was the first place we stayed on our 2 week Costa Rican vacation and definitely was our most favorite. The first two nights we stayed in the main bed and breakfast area. Juan cooked us a fresh breakfast every morning. The woodwork and architecture of this place is phenomenal! After deciding to stay a third night, we were offered to stay at their "pie in the sky" room on top of the hill...WOW! What a view. Nancy, her husband Z, and their daughter provided great conservation and were able to point us in the right direction for all our adventure needs. There is also a little restaurant next door which has probably one of the best hamburgers I have ever had. All their beef and produce come from their farmer friend who lives right next door. We can't wait to come back next year with a few friends and share this breathtaking, spectacular place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Juan, one of our hosts, really made our trip! He made delicious welcome drinks and was able to warm up the hot tub when we got back from our adventures almost on a daily basis. The jacuzzi was spectacular. It gave us a 5 star feel in a private setting and every morning we were able to wake up to birds chirping and cows mooing in the pasture. The house cat is also very charming and amiable, as he jumps on guests laps once acquainted. Juan really was the most hospitable man we came across. He booked several of our tour for us and he had wonderful stories to share. We really wanted to take him home with us! The facility was clean and the showers were working perfectly. The linens were changed and clean every day...it was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.7 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
208 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
310 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Lodge

Property: Majestic Lodge
Address: one kilometer west of the school in El Castillo, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21009, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the middle of the rainforest, the Majestic Lodge rests in a peaceful little village on Lake Arenal and the Arenal Volcano. This amazing Villa is more than just a home away from home. On the upper level you will find 5 private rooms which can sleep up to 13 people. For your comfort, all rooms offer air conditioning, ceiling fans, orthopedic mattresses and high quality bedding, as well as a full private bathroom for your privacy and convenience. On the first level of this amazing home, you will find a master suite with 2 full beds, air conditioning, ceiling fans and a full private bath. Our kitchen is state of the art and fully equipped to handle a crowd! Our wonderful staff will cook your daily breakfast that you can enjoy in our open air dining area. Sit outside on our beautiful deck overlooking the Arenal Volcano and pristine 22 mile Lake Arenal. Enjoy cocktails at the bar or take a dip in the pool or jacuzzi while listening to the sounds of the tropical birds and the howl of the Monkeys! This village is packed with adventure if that is what you are looking for! Our private concierge will be happy to book all of your travel activities at no charge to you. Choose Horseback riding to the waterfall, Sky Trek, the country's largest zipline, SKy Walk hanging bridges, The Butterfly Conservatory, The Eco Zoo, Kayaking on the lake, The National Park, Arenal 1968, and a variety of natural hot spring facilities. After a full day, return to the Majestic for a relaxing massage, or other spa services at Serenity Spa located on the property! There are many fine local restaurants, but if you don't want to leave your luxurious accommodations, let us know in advance and we will be happy to accommodate all of your meals. Sit back and let us plan your vacation of a lifetime! This home away from home is everything you need to enjoy relaxation or adventure in Arenal! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing