We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but wasn't what I was looking for.”
Review of Arenal Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Vista Lodge
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place but wasn't what I was looking for.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pro:
They leave awesome extras that make you feel special, like folded towels.
The room was clean
The staff was friendly
The food is Awesome!
The pool and hot tub are absolutely amazing.
The shuttle driver from San jose to Arenal was really nice and stopped along the way anywhere we wanted.

Cons:
They do not offer a free shuttle to the La fortuna area so unless you have your own car, you almost have to do a tour becuase paying for a taxi to each place is extremely expensive. (Although this was expected, I thought the staff would be more helpful in giving an honest opinion of the best things to do in the area instead of simply pushing there tours) However, we did the canyoneering tour with desafio (the one offered through the hotel) and loved it! and they helped us set up a taxi so that we could go Zip lining. We also went to the PAradise hot springs which I felt to be slighlty dissapointing. I loved the hotel but for me specifically, I was looking for more of a personalized experience where you get to meet more people and learn more about the country in the place you are sleeping.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view room if they have it available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladventure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    24
    20
    22
See reviews for
30
56
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Gorgeous sunrise views of the volcano and its adjoining lake while birds and bugs flourish in the sunshine. Clean rooms with balconies, good water pressure, big closet. It's not elegant, but the surroundings sure are! Meals are delicious, especially if you get a spot on the deck to look at the volcano. The staff members were friendly, efficient, smiling- there were tears after our last photos together!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beallsville Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several days as part of an EF Tours group touring Costa Rica for 10 days. I loved the generous sized suite we had which had a fantastic view of the lake and volcano behind it. If you want to take your time and unwind with a good book or just relax away from the bustle of tourist attractions you will probably like this spot. Our teenage children enjoyed the well maintained pool but would have gotten bored quickly unless we ventured the 30 to 45 minute drive to most activities. My wife and I would both go back and stay a few days. The children would need to travel to other activities to keep them occupied. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite up on the hill with a porch view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

But old, do not expect anything special but peace and quiet.
Furniture is old, but the views are magnificent. Food was very good. Yes, the road is the BUMPY but it was an adventure.
The view of the volcano is astonishing.

Room Tip: Room # 24 has view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a typical Costa Rican owned small hostel lodge. The service is outgoing and friendly. The view is outstanding, across the lake looking up on to the volcano. Every room in the Lodge faces the volcano, all you have to do is sit up in bed and see the volcano (to bad it isn't erupting now). The rooms are basic but clean, no bugs. Usually queen and two twin beds per room. This lodge is a great value, two meal included. The breakfast a typical Costa Rican, serve yourself, as much as you want, wonderful fruits. The dinner is typical CR with rice and beans at every meal. There are hiking trials that lead into the reserve, and horseback riding is available throughout the Lodge. The landscaping is beautiful.

Room Tip: All room have view of volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanttotravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind lack of cleanliness and are looking for a place with excellent service, then this is the place for you. The staff is so friendly and helpful. However, the rooms have every kind of bug imaginable, and they'll bite you too. There are also gecko droppings on the beds and chairs. My recommendation for a Arenal/La Fortuna hotel is Hotel Tacotal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smv8281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Castillo hotels

Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

In it's heyday this place must have been incredible. The gardens are absolutely lovely. The view of the lake is astonishing. The volcano looms in the distance. Too bad it is no longer active. The road to get there is BUMPY..painfully bumpy and painfully slow and long. While it may only be 6 miles of dirt road it took way long because we were afraid our car would fall apart. This is no UP North dirt road. The decor is way outdated but clean enough room. The reservation was paid in advance which was a good thing since again the credit card machine didn't work to pay our food bill as mentioned in the previous review. Service was very friendly, but in Feb 2013 we were only 1 of three rooms occupied. No one else ate in the restaurant for either dinner or breakfast with us. Food on dinner menu was pricey for very typical American food. We want the Costa Rican sauce, but they were out. As with most of CR, the fruit was fresh and the coffee delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_fudgecrumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
1.0 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
671 reviews
6.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,827 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#20 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
802 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
7.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Vista Lodge

Property: Arenal Vista Lodge
Address: 25 km west from La Fortuna, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 5717, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Vista Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the northwestern region of Costa Rica, 30 minutes away from La Fortuna, in the BiologicalCorridor between Monteverde Reserve and Arenal National Park, our lodge rests marvelously in one of the surrounding hills of the Arenal Lake, enjoying a unique view of the Lake and the Volcano. Coming to our lodge, you will be surrounded by a dense tropical forest, where more than 300 species of birds can be seen, as well as 100 species of mammals and 2500 species of plants and orchids. The Hotel Arenal Vista Lodge was conceived from a prevailing necessity derived from the deficiency of facilities in the Arenal area. We felt the need for a place that took advantage of the natural beauties the area, while offering the national and international tourists the commodities they require in the Biological Corridor between Arenal Volcano National Park and Monteverde Cloud Forest FEATURES: • 25 comfortable rooms, each lodged up to four guests. • Every room includes a private hot water bathroom, walk-in closet and a balcony with spectacular view of the volcano and lake area. • Facilities equipped to care for disabled people. • Restaurant and salad bar with costarrican and international recipes. • Swimming pool, wet-bar, souvenir shop and a meeting room, natural forest trails. Internet facilities. Parking area with 24-hour security • Restaurant, which fits 90 guests, Bar and Souvenir shop • Conference room for 30 people and swimming pool with wet bar • Optional tours: hot springs, canopy, horseback riding, boat rides, transfers to Monteverde. We offer laundry service as well. Special offers for honeymooners, students, families and cycling groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Vista Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing