We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun”
Review of Arenal Eco Zoo

Arenal Eco Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Snakes. Take a guide. Touch the frogs. A short ride from El Castillo. Nice diversion. We stayed longer than planned.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    31
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great stop in El Arenal.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We did not anticipate stopping by the Arenal Eco Zoo on the way, but we ended up doing so on the recommendation of several locals- and what a worthwhile stop it was. In addition to the EcoZoo, the site has a good restaurant and clean, comfortable accommodations.

Victor, the owner, is an excellent communicator and educator. Victor's son, Frank, speaks excellent English. Their passion for the Eco Zoo is evident. We were simultaneously amazed and disappointed to find out that Victor and his family have had to bootstrap the entire construction and development of the Eco Zoo and its exhibits without any assistance from local/federal authorities. Victor has done an amazing job with his limited resources, but we cannot help but think that the Costa Rica is missing an important opportunity by not helping support EcoZoo and encourage more in-depth field research.

Considering that Victor has found new species of amphibians in the area, we are hopeful that some foundation or research institute takes note of the work and dedication of this national treasure. We wish him the best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PedrinhoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Come meet all the colorful crawly creatures Costa Rica is known for”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great experience to meet, see, and touch the snakes, frogs and insects that you've seen on all those Costa Rica pictures. Staff is knowledgeable, patient and pleasant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Say hi to Victor and Frank”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Arenal Eco Zoo was part of our package deal with our hotel. When we first arrived it looked very small and I didn't expect much from it. But from the moment we met the owner Victor and Frank who conducted our tour, my whole mood changed. Yes the cages seem small and possible not like something you are going to see in the states, but you're in a small village in the jungle. I think partly that adds to the charm. Frank was very informative and you can tell they love the work they are doing there. Frank took the greatest video of a giant blue Mariposa butterfly hoovering on me (THANK YOU FRANK). A bit off the beaten path but we had a great time there and spent longer than we thought about 1 1/2 hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZolaBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the ride”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was significantly better than we thought and from the look of the outside. Very informative and knowledgeable staff that genuinely care about the work they are doing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gottaluvme_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Eco Zoo also viewed

El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Eco Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing