We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staying in a room with a private balcony overlooking the volcano is a treat. I recommend an evening with a full (or nearly-full) moon, so as to enjoy the vista as much as possible.

The price is very reasonable, and the service is excellent. The restaurant is very good, with a nice selection of both food and drinks. I would have liked room service, and/or for the restaurant to be open later. Reaching the hotel can be a bit tiresome, as the roads are not paved.

Hot water in the room was lacking, and, hearing from other guests, this was not unique to my lodgings.

Still, the place was very nice, the view exquisite, and the hotel is very dog-friendly. A very good choice to see the Arenal area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben_Malisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 246 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

On the way to the hotel was a little rough but hoping my next visit the roads will be paved. Nice hotel with great mountain views, friendly staffs and nice rooms. A great typical Costa Rican breakfast was included. Best home-made jams I have ever tasted. Good location because we were able to drive to different areas to explore. One negative is that the hot water runs out fast but wasn't cold where you can't take a shower.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuLaytAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Located about ½ hr. by car heading north from the Village of La Fortuna on Highway 142 with a turn on to a fair gravel road (the turns is marked by a Police substation) you will find the Hotel El Castillo. During the trip to the hotel you catch glances of the vista awaiting when you step out the car. To the left is Lake Arenal with the Arenal volcano sweeping upward into the fluffy clouds on the right. You enter the reception area with the arrival desk on the left and small bar on the right and the dining area behind.
There we were greeted by the friendly manger and small attentive staff. From that start we found a small hotel experience of personable wait staff, bar tender (often the manger) to the cleaning personal along with others.
The rooms extended to the right and left of the reception/dining area. All have magnificent views of the vista lying before you from covered porches, with chairs. The sound of a rushing creek feeding Lake Arenal waffling up from the shallow valley below the rooms. Rooms all small with basic furniture and beds in line with smaller hotels located in Tourist areas in the USA. The restroom had a shower with a basic sink. The room was clean without the mold smell found in many tropical accommodations. Quite at night, with windows overlooking the a fore mentioned valley as the sun rises. For early risers slightly after the sun hits the valley doves can be observed transiting. Latter the birds of prey appear while the doves knowing the danger disappear into the jungle cover to reappear in the evening.
Food was excellent with prices reasonable and large selection of choices to meet most taste. In the evening entertainment supplied by an artist that played a flute / guitar that used a unique light system that cast an eerie tropical glow in the background.
In all a great 3 days, would we return a very much so yes. A great value for the money, quaint, friendly place to visit Arenal area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rustic, no frills rooms but a great price and amazing views of the lake and volcano. Great location, super close to Arenal Volcano National Park, SkyAdventures (the boys went ziplining) and the hot springs. There is a serpentarium right up the street. A great typical Costa Rican breakfast was included. You do have to take an unpaved road to get there but it's the same unpaved road the Park and SkyTrek is on. One of our rooms had one full size and two twin beds, the other had one full size and one twin. Perfect for families traveling with kids. It was pouring rain early in the morning and the volcano was totally misted over at times but it would clear up for a great view. It stopped raining just in time for our adventures.

(there are no kids activities I clicked on it by mistake and can't deselect it)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Overall this place was excellent. Great staff, great location, secluded, quiet, good excursion tickets available at any hour nearly. Would stay here again and recommend this place to others. Great for families or couples or the single backpacker looking for a getaway for a night or two.

Positives - great location with great views, it is in a secluded place that will give you much better views than places in La Fortuna, Eduardo and the rest of the staff really takes care of their guests and works long hours every day, the staff will book good excursions for you late at night or early morning at your convenience, I recommend the kayaking, horseback riding, and zip line tours that we did - each of them was very fun. They threw a Christmas dinner with a musician and the food was very good. Air conditioning works very well in the rooms that have it. Bathroom water pressure is good. Views from the rooms, all of them, is quiet good of Lake Arenal and Arenal Volcano. Near the snake conservatory and the butterfly conservatory which are worth visits. A waterfall is nearby at the river and you can hear the rushing water most days which drowns out the small amount of noise of bike from El Castillo. Parrots and other wildlife can be seen from the hotel nearby (even toucans some days we heard). Small convenience store is nearby for cheaper beer and water then the hotel. Weather is cooler than La Fortuna due to the geography of the location which is great.

Negatives - the food at the restaurant seemed overpriced (most of the food in CR we thought was though) and is not very good (although Christmas dinner was very good), road to El Castillo is rough and about 30 minutes to La Fortuna, not many options for dinner in El Castillo beside one small soda which is similar food to the hotel. Biggest complaint was the food - breakfast not bad, but lunch and dinner not very good and too expensive. Taxi to LA Fortuna was about 25 to 30 USD, but there are shuttles and other options that are cheaper if you do not have a car available.

Check out La Fortuna for food if you are looking for more options and great food (Lava Lounge's lobster is excellent!).

Room Tip: Get the upgraded room for more space. Go on the excursions (especially the zipline tour)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wkawalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Castillo del Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por sus comentarios agradecemos profundamente el haber confiado en nosotros para ayudarle coordinando y recomendando las actividades en la zona. En cuanto a los precios del restaurante los emos modificado y ademas contamos con descuentos especiales, asi como noches temas ( especial de la noche). Esperamos que allas tenido un lindo y exitoso viaje y poderte tener en otro momento.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Hotel has a beautiful vista of Arenal Volcano and Arenal Lake. There was a nearby river that we could hear and it gently sung us to sleep every evening. The free breakfast was very tasty and filling. The made pineapple juice right there for breakfast that was fantastic. The only thing we didn't like was the short drive off the main road. It's pretty rough as are all the roads of this sort in Costa Rica. I would suggest an SUV for this drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view. Some have air conditioning but we didn't need it. Rooms 1 through 5 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IBPacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, Director at Hotel Castillo del Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Hi friend
Thank you very much for having you stay with us, it was a great pleasure to have served, we hope you back some other time. Remember we are improving throughout each day so that we can serve better. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Fare price for hotel. Don't expect anything fancy, the room was simple and very clean. (Small bathroom though)
Nice staff and very friendly, breakfast was very good as well!
Perfect for simple, happy people, I definitely would like to return some day! :)

Room Tip: Well I don't know how the other bathrooms of the hotel are but ours was VERY TINY. I did think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunandpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.4 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
700 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
581 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Address: | 6 km from Arenal Volcano National Park, 400m south of School, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range: $69 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo del Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo del Arenal overlooks the beautiful little village of El Castillo, and looks on to the majestic Arenal Volcano. Its amazing location allows guests to enjoy views of both the volcano and lake. Hotel Castillo del Arenal is a family owned business located in a beautiful, quiet and unique area in Arenal. All our rooms have stunning views of the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Our hotel is only 6.5 km from the National Park and 700 mts from the Arenal Lake, and 25 min from the town of La Fortuna. We are very accessible for all types of vehicle. With more and more travelers choosing to skip the crowded resorts of La Fortuna, the town of El Castillo near the Arenal Volcano is now becoming the place where you can find the most unique and peaceful hotels in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castillo del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing