We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views and Great Hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Los Tucanes
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Beautiful Views and Great Hostess”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place was great! It's basically a bed and breakfast with spacious, clean rooms. The views of the volcano are amazing. The triple room on the second floor has especially good views and a balcony that faces the volcano. The hostess was helpful with brainstorming things to do (hot springs, hikes, etc). We had the typical breakfast (fruit, rice, beans, eggs, plantains) and loved it, but there are other breakfast choices if that's not appealing.

As others have mentioned, Castillo is a small town and is a little bit out of the way, but we were very happy to have stayed there instead of La Fortuna.

This place was our favorite of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica and, if you have a car, I would highly recommend staying here instead of La Fortuna.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is not a tourist hotel but rather a very comfortable place to stay while you check out the Lake Arenal area. The accommodations are excellent and roomy. Breakfast is a treat. The little town is very local and hence a fun experience. The price was very, very reasonable. As non-tourist as the place is, it was a highlight in our trip's accommodates. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: we had the upper room, out of three and it had a wonderful view of the lake and volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Outside the very touristic La Fortuna, El Castillo is a very little pueblo. At Las Tucanes, we almost lived with Fanny and his family and we like it! The room was big with a little kitchen. We can sat on our balcony and check at the Arenal volcano. The typical breakfast was include and we like it! In front of the hotel, there is a Snakes place; it's a bit expansive but really interesting visit, a lot to see, the kids was so happy! The only thing is that you won't found a lot at the little El Castillo grocery; you better do your shopping in La Fortuna if you don't want to eat fastfood at the local restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizoulis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place was a great value. The roomw were clean, the woman who runs it really nice, and very accommodating. The apartments (more than rooms) have a coffee maker and sink, and are very spacious. The view fabulous and, best of all, the town of El Castillo is really laid back and much more quaint and off the beaten track than La Fortuna. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper story room to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice cabinas i Castillo, large, clean, even towels on beds in a shape of swans :-), great view of Arenal. Family is very kind, can give you good tips for tours / even discounts/, restaurants etc. Good price. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great stay in Castillo with a beautiful view on Arenal volcano. The family that runs the 3 rooms is so kind and nice and they are very helpful if you need any suggestions for trips around. The rooms are very big and clean with separate bathrooms and shower and some kitchen facilities too; what I really loved during our stay was the hand made breakfast too, with fresh fruits and Costaricans traditional dishes. A very good stay in a fantastic corner of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dariaindub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and wish we had been able to stay for significantly longer. The family running the cabins is extremely sweet and detail-oriented. The place is immaculate, affords an excellent view of Arenal Volcano (when not obscured by clouds), and gives you easy access to some of the tour offerings of El Castillo.

Room Tip: Get here early and grab the 2nd level room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8ldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
1.0 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
684 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,506 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Los Tucanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Tucanes

Property: Cabinas Los Tucanes
Address: El Castillo, Costa Rica, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 24791076, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Los Tucanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing