We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”

Pizza John's Jardin Escondido
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Lonely Planet's Top choice-featuring thin crust Italian style handmade pizza, and tropical ice cream. Family Friendly-Open air, casual dining Come for lunch, stay for dinner. Open everyday 12PM to 8PM
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a little difficulty finding this place, but was glad that we did. John, the owner is quite a character - very jovial and engaging. Made us feel at home. The restaurant is unusual in that it is open and strewn with graffiti from restaurant guests. Very hippy and trendy! A basic pizza menu but very good pizzas and great value for money. Book in advance as there is limited space!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    57
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were honeymooning in Costa Rica when we met 'Tiny' at a gas station. Tiny told us to go to Pizza John's if we were near Arenal. It wasn't what we expected, and that ended up being a pleasant suprise. Pizza John and his wife made us two delicious pizzas served with cold Imperials and homemade ice cream for dessert. The food was great and having Pizza John sit with us to tell us the story of how he became Pizza John was an experience we will never forget. Don't be alarmed by the graffiti covering the building, it's actually the signatures of everyone who has eaten at Pizza John's... you will get to sign your name after your meal too. Expect the unexpected and enjoy this extremely unique dining experience in the middle of nowhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pies, great vibe, just go there...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading the reviews we set out to find Pizza John's during our first night in El Castillo. The restaraunt has a real nice vibe to it. Open air dining on the edge of the jungle. The atmosphere is fantastic; relaxed, layed back, pura vida. Make sure you sit upstairs and leave your mark. We met "Tiny" fom Pennsylvania; A legend at Pizza John's and a repeat customer everytime he is in Costa Rica. He brought his family and had made the trek all the way from Tamarindo to gorge on some pie. Real nice fella. I settled in and had a couple of Imperials and then we ordered a couple of discs on John's recommendation.They were delicious and are worthy of the lofty reviews. We had John's homemade ice cream for desert and "yes" you need to try it. John then sat with us for 5-10 minutes and answered all our questions about El Castillo and the surrounding area. John is a real character...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IamCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Better Host”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had an opportunity to grab a pizza and some conversation with John last week. The pizza is fresh and delicious and we also enjoyed the homemade ice cream. I particularly liked the Chocolate Ginger, although it sound like he tinkers with the recipes, so this may not be available when you are there. My best advice is order one of each flavor and share! The owner is quite a character and we got to share our stories of breaking free and getting off the beaten path. By far my favorite Costa Rican restaurant experience in both Arenal and Quepos areas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dedredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food, served and delivered by the owner”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were very close to passing this one by - so glad we ventured in. John was welcoming and personable. The atmosphere was great - our 12 and 10 year old boys thought it was awesome. And the pizza was fantastic! A little gem in the jungle...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB11953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza John's Jardin Escondido also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Pizza John's Jardin Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing