We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rancho Margot(El Castillo)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Vista Lodge(El Castillo)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nepenthe B&B(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$59
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
$52
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Los Tucanes(El Castillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Hummingbird Nest(El Castillo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Eco Zoo(El Castillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
317
135
34
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
135
34
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmprivate bathroomcosta ricahowler monkeysthree coursesyoga deckshuttle serviceevery eveninghiking trailhot tubgreat guyunique experiencepura vidagreat viewthree nightsplace is greatpaved road
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 507 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We just returned from Costa Rica and can highly recommend this place. The rooms are very basic, but the view of the volcano is outstanding. We had the room in the front with shared bath which was not the quietest location. We heard everybody going to the bathroom. Nevertheless, we would stay at Essence again. Also, the cooking demonstration is a lot of fun with great tasting food. Would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Thanks very much for the wonderful stay at your place. Waking up that first morning to an incredible amount of birds was fantastic. The views are awesome and the hike around the property with the Abu ( owners dog) was a lot of fun. First night Indian dinner was filling and a special treat coming off a long journey to get there. Second nights pasta dinner was a bit sparse and left most people at our table hungry, but I always appreciate home cooked meals that aren't pulled out of a can. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a reasonably priced room with stunning views, home cooked food, friendly folks, and killer bananas to snack on.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izamissoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The most friendly stuff, the best "private chef", an amazing trail and Volcan Arenal just outside our window.... Everything was absolutely wonderful. Thanks for everything and we will definitely come back!!!!! Don't miss it....

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agelikiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Raw milk from the cow next door, a beautiful hiking trail on the property, inexpensive rates and outstanding views of Lake Arenal and Arenal Volcano (on the active side!) sets this little motel apart from all the Fortuna offerings. The location is actually convenient if you're planning to zip-line at SkyTours. Isaac, the vegetarian chef from Chicago who speaks fluent Spanish and German, makes Essence the gem it is. It was fun to meet guests who weren't all North American. As far as the rooms, they are basic and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyEvergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

People make the places and with this place it is true indeed. It is filled with warmth and friendliness and great atmosphere, everyone is welcoming and there to help. Not that there is something wrong with the place itself, it's clean and quiet and it's pretty good to get a single room for 10USD for a night, a LOT higher standard if I have to compare it to all the other places I stayed for that price. But what really made it for me was the dinners every night. The feeling is like you are visiting someone - there is a communal dining room with a small kitchen in the middle, the cook would start making things at around 5pm, then at about 7pm everyone (willing) gets involved in helping the cook and then a little later a 3 course meal is served. The capacity is about 10-12 people so it stays intimate. The free internet, the cozy atmosphere, it was just all wonderful for me and I have been recommending it to everyone who comes to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews