We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Hummingbird Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hummingbird Nest
Ranked #4 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Located in a tiny village, the nido del colibri is a charming spot to spend a few days in the calm. To access the house, one has to climb a very steep hill for 3 minutes (and that's if you walk fast). It add to the charm of the place. The room are rather small and would need to be freshen up but the fabulous view largely compensate for that inconvenient. The host, Helen, is a bit distant but helpful. The breakfast are great. A place I would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobano, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This little piece of heaven is located in the center of El Castillo, over looking the lake and volcano. Ellen the owner is more than accommodating and makes you feel like you are at home with family. The views are out of this world while the rooms are not only clean and spacious but provide a great nights sleep on comfy, cozy beds. Ellen opens her home to her guests allowing full use of the house kitchen (which is fully equipped) and stocks the room fridges with all kinds of goodies for no more than $2-3 for each item (which includes juices, wine, beer, snacks and much more).
I have lived in Costa Rica for about two years and every time I need to get away to recharge I immediately call Ellen and make the trip to the Hummingbird B&B.
I would recommend this fabulous bed and breakfast to anyone and everyone who would like to get away, feel relaxed while still wanting a bit of adventure in the jungle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irumirum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

El Castillo is about half hour drive on an unpaved road. The flora and fauna, the trees and the drive, the locals, and the animals, are some of the sights you will see as you approach El Castillo. There perched is the B&B run by Ellen. Every detail to your comfortable stay is catered to, and if you need help with other details of your trip, Ellen will guide you.

The rooms and the terrace overlook the Arenal volcano. I found the room very comfortable and the surroundings complimented.

There are local eating places, or you can drive to the end of the road to Rancho Margot for their delicious meals.

Zip-lining, kayaking, horseback riding or yoga, or just chilling in the hot tub, the hammock or the nearby hot springs, you will not be disappointed. All are close by and come highly recommended from my personal experience.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irumIrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind a bumpy drive on an unpaved road for 30 mins, then this place is set in a lovely local village away from the bustle of La Fortuna. There isn't much to do here but relax and we had an enjoyable few nights in the hot tub there. Miguel was a very friendly & hospitable host. He told us to treat it like our own place which gave it a relaxed vibe. John's pizza, a 5 min drive away is a must. The man has bags of character & great homemade ice cream!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had mixed feelings about this place. First, I thought the room was best-suited to a family of four: a comfortable queen bed plus two singles. However, for a couple the room was crowded and we used the single beds for our suitcases since there was no room for a table or chairs. The shower wasn't very warm. On the other hand, we had a good breakfast and Ellen's maid did our laundry for a reasonable price. The view was fantastic and we were lucky to see the volcano without clouds. Be aware that this B&B sits at the top of a ridge and you need to walk up a steep zigzag path to get to it. You park at the bottom of the hill. At night this path was not adequately lit and it was kind of scary to be heading down a path knowing that there were steps ahead somewhere but not be able to see them—but there is a railing. If this may be a problem, speak to Ellen in advance. There's a way you can drive to the top of the ridge to load or unload your bags, or drop someone less able to handle the path, and then park down below.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in hummingbird nest voor 2 nights and it was worth the ride up there from La Fortuna. It is a beautiful spot with a fantastic view even if the vulcano is in the clouds. The room is spacious, the bed is good, the bathroom is small and the shower not very hot. But since we were there when the wether was cold that could be the problem. We used the hottub which was very nice with view on the garden. And the use of the kitchen is a absolutely plus. Ellen is very friendly and wllling to help. She even gave us a ride to the ranch where we could hire bikes!
And we loved the dog Luna, she was so sweet and we made friends with here from the first moment. We liked staying in El Castillo more than La Fortuna. It is a quiet village with some restaurant in the neighbourhood. We loved the stay there and enjoyed the view on the volcano!

Room Tip: There only 2 rooms so I don't think it is much of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annekeWijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a way to begin an adventure.... We arrived at night discovering a our room beautifully illuminated with sparkling lights, welcomed by our lovely and gracious host Ellen, a gorgeous room with with huge windows overlooking fabulous gardens, hanging baskets of flowers and only the night sounds of birds. No city noise. The next morning discovered awesome views of Vulcan Arenal pointing up through the clouds, riotous color of flowering plants, a wonderful breakfast in an incredible setting, a hummingbirds's nest literally. From the beginning meeting with Ellen we felt we had always known her. She is the consummate hostess, suggesting many ideas to see and do. If we had an idea she would germinate it and make it come to pass. We took many walks, drives and adventures. I can honestly say I am still smiling and feel like I know Costa Rica better after staying at "Nido Del Colibri" - the birds, the flowers, the monkeys, the people. Muy romantic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank word2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.3 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
208 reviews
6.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Nest

Property: Hummingbird Nest
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hummingbird Nest B&B)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, private, 3 bedroom home nestled among the trees w/ lush vegetation, immaculate gardens buzzing w/ hummingbirds & butterflies...direct views of Volcano Arenal & panoramic of Lake Arenal...soak at night in the hot tub watching the volcano and sounds of wildlife. We have a spa onsite with holistic services and massage for your convenience. We can book all your tours to local attractions. Central to the village of El Castillo, just a short drive from La Fortuna. We have restaurants close by and many activities and tours to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hummingbird Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Nest Hotel El Castillo
Hummingbird Nest Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing