We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited here in December. The hotel was okay for the price. Great beach front location, Four pools including a children's pool which was great as my two kids enjoyed this. Variety of bars, food was okay but don't expect gourmet for the price. There was also a snack bar which was good incase you got hungry in between meals. Overall the hotel was okay but the rooms need some work a bit outdated and in need of a facelift but for the price I think it is expected. There were vendors on the beach and on the compound at night which was great for picking up souvenirs, in addition there was a gift shop on site which had some great stuff at reasonable prices. There was also lots of activities for the kids as well as the adults but mostly in spanish though and I am not too good at spanish..few english speking employees was a set back but they were generally friendly.
Overall a cheap getaway..all inclusive I think it was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s-ranj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

the hotel is really nice however checking in was a problem as there was only one person checking in and lots of people waiting. Breakfast and lunch was good. the pools were nice and i thought the instructions teaching excercises and games were much fun! The room was ok. Not cool enough though but this could have been due to the position of the AC. Overall had an excellent time. Our tour guide Marco was really nice and welcoming!
will definitely be back next year!! but probalby not using Krystal Tours Agency

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I liked Portofino a lot, despite the aspirational name which normally puts me off. The rooms were modest and basic, but check out the animals made form towels! Bungalows by the pool seemed to be more spacious than the room in the main building.
There are many places to spend time or hide, looking for some alone time. There is a beach next to the hotel, Playa el Aqua, where you can book tours from local travel agents.
There are two large swimming pools and one small for children, playing fields.
Two fairly nice and clean restaurants, and a bar with some snacks. Entertainment is delivered every day at about 8:30 p.m., starting with program for kids and followed by the main event.
I can recommend excursions to the Orinoco Delta and Canaima Park (2days) – the beach tour operators have better prices.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at Portofino and it was really a terrible vacation. Some of my friends had money stolen from their purse in their room and the only other person in the room was the air condition technician who came to repair the unit. When reported, the Manager was not very supportive and finally gave them the departure tax money. On the Boulevard another friend got her bag slashed and money stolen. Overall the hotel reseveration staff was very unfriendly and anything asked to them the reply was no habla english. In some of the rooms the ceiling was sweating in big droplets which was falling onto the floor. The floor was then wet and it was very uncomfortable to stay in the room.We met some other guests who had everything stolen from their room, Passports and all. Guess who was the stranger in the room? Yes the air condition technician who came to repair the unit in their room. COINCIDENCE? Overall i would not recommend anyone to go to Portofino

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fhtallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My stay at hotel portofino was rewarding, i fell in love when i woke up the first morning, because we checked in about 11:30pm so i could not see the beauty of the hotel, their location is just what the doctor ordered its quiet, peaceful and sought of home away from home feeling, its clean i would recommend this hotel to my families and friends.

Room Tip: room# 3518
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kydd-Fournillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

As a first time traveller to a foreign country with the main language being Spanish, I found it to be very refreshing and enlightening. I visited Magarita Island in the second week in August and I can find no fault with the hospitality service as I as well as many other visitors, had access to a decent, clean room with the every day amenities. The night life at the hotel is rich in cultural entertainment mainly from the younger generatition, the pools are great, so is the food, you will never go hungry there is so much food, fruits, juices and much more offered. However, I do advise you to drink water from the dispensers provided in the restaurants of the hotel. Provided with tour guides who were very sensitive to our needs, taught us the art of shopping in the town and flea markets, educating us further about the nature of the exchange of currency and the culture of the people. Magarita Island, though small in their population is rich in it's history, but unfortunately it lacks what the wider third world countries take for granted; easy access to technology, employment and housing. It is a great getaway to relax and meet new people. I loved it and have intentions of visiting some time again in the near future.

Room Tip: " Rooms opposite the lobby/reception building are very quiet, private and is more central to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me an my family stay at portfiino hotel everything was perfect it was so good that I will go back b4 the year ends so try it u will like or we went july 2012.the shopping was good the food was good is just u cannot drink water from the pipe but filter water was provied 24 hours for u most important u have to pay 400blv to return home I really enjoy myself

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maladwarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.8 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
1.3 mi away
Hesperia Playa El Agua
Hesperia Playa El Agua
#1 of 15 in Playa el Agua
2,504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hesperia Isla Margarita
Hesperia Isla Margarita
#5 of 89 in Margarita Island
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
LD Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant
#6 of 15 in Playa el Agua
650 reviews
4.6 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#13 of 89 in Margarita Island
225 reviews
19.1 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: Prolongacion | Guarenas, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Price Range: $68 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 501
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Playa El Agua
Portofino Hotel Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing