We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Trudel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa el Agua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Trudel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent nearly two weeks here in March of this year and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Originally we were only supposed to stay for a week but I actually caught a parasite diving and was too ill to move. Dan very kindly extended our stay and was very helpful in getting me a doctor to treat me. Being ill is never nice when you are not at home but the fact I was in a nice hotel with a good bed and nice bathroom made a huge difference and made it bearable!

Dan and Kira are a great source of advice and help and look after guests well and keep the hotel immaculate. They make it their priority to help guests and make your trip run as smoothly as possible. By far they have been the best hosts so far on our travels! The staff are also very friendly and helpful and asked how I was doing every day when I was ill which was lovely!

On request Dan organised our trasfer from the airport which was great and we were collected by a lovely Amercian couple Steve and Marcia.

We stayed in one of the pool rooms. The rooms are a good size and are kept very clean with the beds changed every other day and towels replaced daily along with a thorough clean daily. They have cable tv and your own little fridge which is really helpfuland air conditioning which is essential. When we arrived Dan had very kindly put some beers in the fridge for us which was a really nice and welcome touch, especially as it had been a dry law in the days before as President Chavez had recently died.

The breakfast is wonderful and changes daily. It is sufficient to keep you going long after lunch!

The communal kitchen and lounge area is clean and well maintained with every cooking utensil you can imagine! I made a few good meals here and to be honest as it was the start of our travelling I didn't realise what an absolute luxury it was to have a clean and well equipped kitchen at my disposal! The internet works best up in this area and there is a nice breeze as you sit and relax in one of the hammocks.

The pool isn't huge but it is clean and a good respite from the sun although it could do with more loungers.

If you go to Margarita then Casa Trudel/Margarita Tropical Villa is the place to stay without a doubt!

Room Tip: Pool rooms are worth every penny but all rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
26
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are an older couple who likes to travel on our own schedule and budget and within the last few years we visited more than few tropical islands. We knew that Venezuela is a third world country but found Margarita very welcoming and the staff at Posada Casa Trudel very kind and professional. The owners Dan and Kira were a great source of knowledge and information and also helped us immensely when struggling with our poor Spanish. The posada was spotlessly cleaned every day including our room. The breakfast served every morning, mainly from local sources, was always fresh and very tasty. All we found was just comfy and absolutely met our expectations. We both enjoy walking and taking short hikes so five to ten minute walk to Playa el Agua was just refreshing for us. Whether we walked around, staying on a beach or rented a car to drive around both islands we never came across any uncomfortable situations and always felt safe. We made a few friendships with local Venezuelan people and I can say you must search a lot to find such hospitable and open hearted people on the planet Earth. We highly recommend this little cozy and quaint oasis to anyone who is not into all inclusive resort and is looking for quiet and safe place to stay. Way to go Dan, Kira and Gini! We are already planning our next vacation and thinking about coming back with our two adult kids and their boy and girlfriend. (See attached photos)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from our 2 week vacation in Margarita Island and our stay at Casa Trudel with Dan and Kira. Let me begin by saying that this is our second time staying at the posada. We were there 2 years ago and the results are the same, THIS PLACE IS A 100% GREAT PLACE TO STAY and would recommend anyone who is an independent traveler and looking for a unique experience to visit Margarita Island and stay at Casa Trudel . The island has so much to offer and the food, people and beaches are absolutely wonderful. We look forward to returning and visiting this great little place. Thanks again Dan and Kira for helping us make so many wonderful memories and we hope to see you guys again soon. Take care!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

stayed here quite some time ago before the renovations. Dan was a pleasure to deal with, right from my initial enquiry. He was clear and straightforward in all my dealings with him, very helpful because I don't speak Spanish.

I stayed for 3 weeks and found the b+b perfect for my needs. Bedrooms are large and airy with a great bathroom. Breakfast each morning was breads, a cold meat platter, juice and tea/coffee.

It is a short walk to the main entrance of Playa el Agua but I preferred to take a cab to Matzanilla beach about 3 miles away - calmer bay and quieter beach with some excellent seafood restaurants right on the beach.

the set-up at the b+b is such that you can meet other travellers from all over or you can have your own privacy. After a 36 hour trip, I was met with a cold beer and a big welcome from Dan & co. The premises is spotless and it is obvious to see how much pride the owners have it in.

the only thing I would say, is this type of vacation accommodation is not for everyone, this is not a reflection on the b+b just that some travellers can have different expectations and I would recommend doing your research first.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy-lied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed 4 nites with my boyfriend for rest after being in Colombia. Thats what we got as there is nothing within walking distance as far as services or shopping. Must emphasize the place is very isolated. Beach is 10 min walk on roads with no sidewalks & pushed into dirt when cars scream by. Mosquitos resistant to repellant I've used successfully everywhere else! Beach is long & lovely for pictures but there were tons of jellyfish & frankly, if I'd known that, I probably wouldnt have gone to Venezuela. Water seemed clean, cool, waves not big for adults but saw 1 kid get stung. Apparently its low season so only 1 place open to eat when we arrived 7pm on Wed. $6 for hamburger on beach, only ones in place so not much fun or socializing. Found a hotel down beach where we paid $22 each for ok buffet, all u want beer or wine and nice dance shows. Few guests: Italians, Germans, got them doing a conga line finally but if u want action after 10pm, its a 45 min taxi to Porlamar. Casa Trudel is a full hour from the airport. Arranged transfer who was nice to wait as our flight was delayed, and had chat about economy in the tank due to Chavez' regime, expats property had been devalued to point where they couldnt leave as couldnt sell. Downside was isolation and not really friendly area, electrified fence around property, tons of stray dogs. However, if u want a nice pool, comfy room with some hot water and quiet, cant complain about $44us a night. Wifi, coffee and good rate of exchange but nothing really to buy. Breakfast decent, wouldve liked chocolate milk too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Room was cleaned totally every day and always house maid make new towelart in room! Nice and helpful people! There was no dilemma what Danny(owner) couldnt fix. One thing we notice, always ask Danny before booking any trips or go any restaurant to eat. He has been there so long and everybody know him. If you do that you will never be ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanezky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Incredible value for your money. One of the cleanest Posada-labelled accommodations we've seen around the world. Excellent for people who are not into all inclusive, non-personal service complexes, but rather enjoy spending their holiday in a home away from home. Located a 5 min walk from the beach, lovely hosts will help you figure out how to explore rest of what the island has to offer. Thank you Dan, Kira, Gini and Yexika for making our trip to Margarita Island an unforgettable one.

Room Tip: A/C works perfectly in all of the rooms, but pool side rooms are excellent for jumping straight into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maneli2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.4 mi away
LD Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant
#5 of 16 in Playa el Agua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.8 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#12 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SUNSOL Isla Caribe
SUNSOL Isla Caribe
#1 of 2 in El Tirano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Guaicora
Posada Guaicora
#1 of 17 in Playa el Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Pedro Gonzales
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Trudel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Trudel

Property: Casa Trudel
Address: Calle Diaz Ordaz, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 spacious poolside & villa rooms with pool located in a tropical villa just 5 minutes walk to Playa El Agua beach - A/C, kitchen, fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, electric grill oven, electric sandwich maker, DirecTV, Free DSL Internet & Wi-Fi, king size beds, free continental breakfast & affordable prices! The best deal in Playa El Agua! We are very sorry children under 8 years of age are not permitted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Trudel Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing