We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning!!!! - 2 Puerto De Sols”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Playa el Agua
trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warning!!!! - 2 Puerto De Sols”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Note: There are 2 Puerto De Sol's...1 in the city (business) and 1 on the beach (resort)...

my party of 14 was booked into the city hotel perhaps due to misunderstanding/ miscommunication...what a nightmare (though a lot of other guests were told they were going to the one on the beach)...

but thank god for our Vacation contact - Miguel (he's with Avior Airlines) - he got us switched to the one on the beach (at no extra cost) and it was INCREDIBLE!!!!

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — There are flies everywhere...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kandi_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    36
    31
    70
See reviews for
69
49
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

THe Puerta Del Sol was an ok hotel it was very nice and the food was so so we had a few problems with one guy at the front desk he was very rude and abrupt with most guests so we managed to avoid him the rest of the staff were very helpful though
Even though the hotel is not on the beach all you have to do is cross the road and walk down the road is like a huge boardwalk you could probably walk for 2 miles and every 10 feet there is another store or restraunt we ate at the pizza restraunt very good and very cheap! for excursions we did the los frailes snorkelling tour and it was amazing but be prepared for a long rough boat ride to the island we did see dolphins though! we also took a taxi into porlamar and it was awesome very interesting shops even a versace! overall i dunno if i would go back to this hotel again but i would go to margarita again also be careful there were a lot of jelly fish on the beach but they say it has to do with the cycle of the moon tonnes of people were swimming though with no problems!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bluejeanbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We booked a 8 day/7 night vacation through Traveland.com (a word of warning - DON'T USE THEM EVER!! See the Better Business Bureau, they have a grade of "D" for numerous complaints and bait and switch). We were booked at the Pueblo Caribe but were taken to the Puerta del Sol by the rep with no explanation or notice. When we arrived she said that the government had taken over the Pueblo Caribe and we were staying at the Puerta del Sol. When we called the Pueblo Caribe they said no, that wasn't true, the travel agent had cancelled our reservations. This company, TRAVELAND.COM is TO BE AVOIDED AT ALL COST!!!

We were on the 5th floor, overlooking the garbage in the back, with no running water in the shower and a pool of water in the room from the A/C. The hotel was under construction at the time and one of the two pools was closed for a day for repair. The food was fine, the entertainment not so much, but the beach was great. Try to get to the beach by 8:00 a.m. or the hotel chairs will be gone. You can rent chairs by the day, for about $6/US, so not a big deal.

We might have enjoyed our stay more if we had been expecting this hotel, and if we had paid less for it.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — No water in the shower
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank namaste1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa el Agua hotels

Trinidad
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Everything was just fine the Hotel food was very tasty and the staff really pleasant.Julio a stall member played volleyball with us in the pool he was very helpfull,and the night shows was very funny they danced really well.I give them a huge Thumbs up and thanks for everything hope to visit again soon.

  • Liked — The Room felt very comfortable
  • Disliked — Everything was Perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — Just enjoy its all up to you
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank TnTSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t.o.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Im a female in my 20's and went to the island solo. The hotel was great but to be honest, I wasnt there much. Everything is so affordable that you can eat and drink off the resort for next to nothing. I think beer was like 60 cents or somthing ridiculous. The line ups for drinks at the hotel bar were kinda long but there is a beach bar which is great cause you dont have to walk back to the hotel. My room was clean and the pools were great. The mexican resto was awesome. I would definitly go back to the Puerta del sol again, mostly because its right in the middle of all the restaurants, shops and bars. I will warn women that its probably not so safe to walk any where by yourself at night, I'm serious. Meet some people if you are by yourself and dont go on the beach at night unless you are at a beach club where there are lots of lights. have fun
P.S.go snorkling and a case of 24 smirnoff ice is only 20$, pearls are cheap and check out the mall.

  • Liked — beach bar
  • Disliked — line up at bar
  • Tips/Secrets — buy booze at the store for your mini fridge and bring a travel mug
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tfnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 15, 2006

What a great weekend. I anticipated a very restful mini-vacation with not much to do but was pleasantly surprised by how occupied i was. The hotel was modest but exactly what i wanted, the food was excellent and the people were very friendly. I was very comfortable. The staff were always willing to help & answer any questions we had. They catered for all age groups and the entertainment staff was the best. They gave us excellent shows. That was the highlight. I will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

For all those, like me who read really bad reports on the Puerto Del SOl ... my wife and I took our Granddaughter for a two week vacation ... we had a great time ... took a couple of days to get used to the change in the food but after that we had no problems... there was always something we could enjoy... breakfast was always out favourite meal ... we didn't starve ... we eat out a few times at restaurants along the boardwalk they were great... the weather was amazing... only had rain for about 20 minutes one day the rest of the time the sun was hot ... always in the upper 20's to 30's ... enjoyed a couple of the trips... Jeep safari was realy good... swimming with the dolphins was the best ever ... overall this was the best holiday we have had in recent years ... we have been twice to Cuba and once to Dominician Republic ... The Hotel is a little old but our room was great... always kept clean with fresh towels every day ... the pools were always sparkling and cleaned everymorning ... the gardens are well kept and the staff were very helpful ... they may not speak a lot of English but we had no problem when asking for help with this or that... as other travelers have said you get what you pay for ... I would not hesitate to return to the Puerto Del Sol and we probably will... A vacation is an adventure so enjoy...

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JuneCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.9 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
18.1 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.9 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#15 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
10.5 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
10.8 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#3 of 8 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua

Property: Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua
Address: Boulevard Playa El Agua, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puerta Del Sol Playa El Agua Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing