We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably Not”
Review of LD Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LD Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Probably Not”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for five nights at the behest of an organization for which I was volunteering, so can’t comment on value.

The hotel is on a trash strewn, rural road about ½ hour from the airport. It is surrounded by an electric topped fence and a heavy duty main gate, presumably due to the high crime rate in Venezuela. The rooms are Spartan, but OK. The two chairs in my room were repurposed white plastic chairs that were worn and stained, for example. This is an all-inclusive resort, with all meals at a buffet that is more or less similar to what you might expect in a college dormitory, except for the local nature of the food. Wine is available at dinner. There is nothing really to look forward to regarding the meals and the variety from day to day is pretty limited.

In the courtyard are a couple of nice pools and a poolside bar. There is no limit on the amount of alcohol you can drink. It’s truly an open bar situation. The hotel tries to provide activity, which sometimes includes loud (but usually pleasant) music and various shows by the staff. If you want peace and quiet, this is not your hotel. There is free wi-fi in the lobby.

About 500 meters from the hotel is a truly beautiful, two-mile beach and a beach bar that is also an open bar for the hotel. You can take a rickety shuttle back and forth to the beach or walk. One day I observed a loose bull walking down the road. There is a bedraggled town 1k from the hotel with some restaurants.

I visited much of Isla Margarita with Venezuelan hosts while there. I can’t think of a reason to choose this particular hotel. It’s really quite isolated, with nothing much nearby other than the beach and you are more or less trapped.

Venezuela’s current government seems to have destroyed its tourism business by demonizing many of the foreign countries from which they came, and by failing to adequately address violent crime. To get to this island, you pretty much have to travel through the Caracas airport, which is something of a disaster of its own, and certainly chaotic. I would avoid that airport at all costs.

Bottom line, I can’t think of a reason to visit this hotel under the current circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifesaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    176
    97
    36
    31
See reviews for
157
208
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very good hotel in Playa el Agua. It is located 300 meters from the sea in a quiet area, close to the lack of shops and restaurants, but this is not a problem, because the hotel, which operates in all inclusive options. Meals three times a day and the buffet selection is very large. Drinks are free and also a large selection of drinks. In addition to main meals are served sandwiches by the pool. The pools are very nice, but especially in the afternoon there accumulates a very large number of people. Rooms are situated in pavilions along pools and well equipped. Powered air-conditioning and satellite TV has many channels. Internet available in the lobby near the reception. Service at reception very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a taxi rank.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

After a nightmare to arrive on the island due to a vey unrespectful attitude of CONVIASA ( the local airline - NEVER use their services!!!) I had a great time at the Palm Beach Hotel in Margarita Island, Venezuela! The staff was good. Some of them need to be a little more polite and they should learn some English as they receive a lot of foreigners. The food served was good and the facilities were nice and clean. The receptionists were very helpful. In a nut shell I was very satisfied with the hotel and certainly would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice and cosy place to stay in the beautiful Margarita Island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We only stayed here for 1 night due to a change in flight schedules. After a few days travelling across the Gran Sabana it was certainly a change of scenery.
No surprises though. Food was certainly not as bad as some people have suggested, not much different from other all-inclusive resorts that I have visited.
Excellent array of British and German tattoos at the bar from opening til closing time!!

This is pretty much a bog standard all inclusive hotel. Free shuttle to/from the beach (including the all inclusive Palm Beach bar) even though it's only a 5 minute walk away !

This is not the kind of area to be walking around after dark (I was robbed by a policeman!). Remember that this is South America and Margarita is not like some of the other Caribbean Islands that you may have heard about. Maybe leave the expensive jewellery etc at home for this trip.

If you fancy a much more relaxing trip stay at the Costa Linda around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spikeymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Ok firstly I don't understand how anyone can write a good review about this hotel I feel like we're talking about a different hotel and had to check the photos on the internet to make sure I had the right one. Maybe if you think spam and plane food is quite tasty you'll like this hotel. I love the sun and needed just a quick fix before our summer started so me and my boyfriend who are well travelled went in April this year - we were going to New York later in the year so didnt want to spend a lot. We came across this one through Thompson holidays. When we turned up I straightaway felt uneasy especially after reading the crime reports etc on Trip Advisor. Hotel was a lot more basic than I was expecting but the maid was vigorously cleaning the floor so felt better and it was the caribbean andthe sun was shining - I thought you can deal with anything as long as the sun is shining and it was a week you can survive a week right? No you can't , not unless youve done a week in prison. it had the most awful food I have ever known on an all inclusive. One night I just snapped and went to complain to the receptionist (who although dressed in jeans everyday and wasnt professional looking did speak extremely good English in an american accent). He just laughed at me and the usual "ah the British thing" as if all we do is moan. The food wasnt labelled up so I had no idea what I was eating and thought I was eating beef stew - a common meal in all inclusives cause its cheap. It didnt taste like beef turned out to be liver - great I nearly threw up all over my plate - the only choice was liver stew or meatballs. Only rice to go with it no potatoes and that was it. Never any deserts. Only one bar was open which was the pool bar which was advertised as having two bars but the one upstairs was being renovated so wasnt even allowed into the whole top floor - thanks First Choice thoguht you're supposed to call/email customers and notify them of things like this isn't that why we pay you guys loads of commission? The building work also went on all through breakfast til lunch banging , drilling, hammering really noisy enough to give you a headache so because of this everyone went to beach no one stayed around pool which was a shame cause pool was actually really nice and looked tranquil- on the pllus we could always get a sunbed because of this! theres no way especially in peak season you'd be able to get one - people in the ground floor rooms had actually pulled a sunbed or two outside their patio doors as if staking a claim to it - bit cheeky. The final straw was halfway through the week on the weds night. We realised couldnt go into town as had heard so many reports of it being dangerous . Hotel was full of old people from England 60's pllus who went off to " have a nice cup of tea" at 10pm never to return or read their books on their balconies before retiring to bed -needless to say you can get a really good nights sleep in this hotel. germans etc stayed up but had no intention of mixing iwth the British. No entertainment. Went into town one night and had things shouted at me by men hanging around outside Senior Frogs and I dont think it was "you have lovely eyes"- have been to a few Senior Frogs and they are all awful but this one particularly bad full of locals and spanish who like noise lots and lots of shouting and noise - try to do funny games which they think is hilarious but sadly lacking in sense of humour- Margarita is a (-----), you can tell the tourist industry started in the 80's and it never really progressed from there I think loads of tour operators pulled out and unfortunately and sadly it was left - everything the decor etc screams 80's. This is down to the people they want tourists but dont want to have to put any work in or keep the beaches etc clean or take any rseponsibility. They are lazy and would rather turn to crime to get their money. A lot of graffiti telling stories of gangs and crime on the island - making you feel very uneasy. Not a civilised country at all. Moved to Dunes hotel had to pay extra £30 each (I broke down crying to rep and manager don't think they knew what to do with me) - was much better but still stuck in the 80's tired and wornout not the 4* it was advertised to be and surprisingly was not as clean and rooms werent as nice as the Palm Beach but was safer and had more going on and more amenities. I think in the end what finally broke me down with the Palm Beach was being asked to play scrabble by an older couple one night and having to watch the two young bar staff do salsa lessons when they weren't even that good at it to just five people sat around the pool, none of whom were British we were the only ones. I actually started to believe I could die from boredom, It was a toss up between starvation and boredom. There was hardly even any Americans there which said a lot cause they are often in the Caribbean so even they knew to stay away from Margarita.

Please don't go to Margarita or the palm beach only go if youre a windsurfer or surfer cause there were loads of them as its really windy and sea is reallly choppy (you can tell by the fact theres so many of them at airport getting their boards that you're never going to be able to go in the sea for a swim! red flags were out everyday. Only go if you want to pull a surfer that trully is the only reason. The weather was also rubbish cloudy and rainy all the time and the temperature actually dropped when it rained which is quite unusual abroad. As A final mention i'll say this one couple in our hotel said a group of them had walked down to the beach one day a pack of dogs were following them (remember these are stray dogs which could also have rabies) they ran off suddenly into an empty house and then came out ripping a dead dogs carcas between them to the group's horror - this was a common story lots of people reporting seeing dead dogs on the side of the road. We walked to the pharmacy one day - wish I hadn't car drivers are mental nearl run you over drive really fast - no road laws. You have to almost walk in road because shrubbery is not cleared back, awful smell of poo all the way there, and othe smells awful but didnt recognise worried was going to trip over a dead dog and would never get that image out of my mind. Dont understand it , being poor isnt an excuse lots of poor people in all countries around the world who dont live like this. Only good things about hotel were rooms clean, cleaned everyday, reception spoke good english , pool nice and tranquil setting .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notamoanerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Hotel very shabby electric went out 5 times in two weeks, security guard asleep at night.
food same for two weeks very bland and boring, The chefs need teaching how to cook as getting uncooked chicken twice.
Entertainment if you class entertainment being seeing friends being broken into, staff stealing from your rooms well go and enjoy. Safes dont even work
No entertainment, snakcs and no english night staff. supposed to be an enjoyable holiday after loosing my dad what a shambles. The two good things is that the english stuck together and united and the staff on the beach bar. Do not go please

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigglesTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

First time in the Caribbean. Wasnt sure what to expect. Was told that hotel was basic, and repetetive food, and they were right. Animation team kept the kids entertained at least. Pepe from the beach bar kept us entertained. Beach was great, pity you cant go out in the water. Really enjoyed with Caba Caribe horse riding, ask for Larry his web site is http://cabacaribe.com/, kids dont stop talking about it. Swimming with dolphins is good value, pay at the dolphins its cheaper.
Bad points, we had to fumigate our room, twice. Dont bother with deet if you get bitten at night as it is spiders or ants. You have to ask for spray from counter staff.
Staff at the bar were always cheerful, and good fun. Agree with other statements that there isnt enough seats, and some smoke at the dinner table. Wasnt robbed mugged or threatened.
Holiday ok, but from what we have heard we will try the other islands before we entertain going back.
Is called all inclusive, but continually running out of soft drinks, bread, milk, even fruit! At least beer was plentiful, but if my sons can drink it, it must have the alcohol content of tea.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.3 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
18.3 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
6.8 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#15 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.4 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
18.1 mi away
StevieWonderLand
StevieWonderLand
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LD Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LD Palm Beach

Property: LD Palm Beach
Address: Calle Pelican, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela (Formerly Palm Beach Caribbean Hotel)
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa el Agua
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LD Palm Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your LD Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Caribbean Resort
Hotel Palm Beach Caribbean
Palm Beach Hotel Margarita
LD Palm Beach Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing