We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island”
Review of LD Le Flamboyant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LD Le Flamboyant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful island”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We loved Margarita. There were some cynical reviews on here of both the hotel and the island, and in all honestly it nearly stopped us from going...but we enjoyed it so much.
The hotel is fairly basic, for example you do not get tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, and the furnishings are fairly basic, but the rooms are clean, and are cleaned thoroughly every day, in fact i saw them lifting the beds up and even cleaning under there every day. We could not fault the cleanliness.
We had a pool view room, and it is true what other reviews have said, that these are probably the best rooms to have, and I think someone said they had been recently refurbished.
The food was good, and we didn't get ill. They always had a lot of choice and we never struggled to find something we liked. They had a chef there who was cooking fresh meats every night, and pasta/spaghetti some lunch times, and omelettes in the morning. It was lovely. The only complaint was that the food was not piping hot as we like it in England.
The hotel is directly on the beach which is beautiful, the water did have a currently but was good for paddling in. There is a bar on the beach for Flamboyant hotel guests with sunloungers for guests. The pool and the beach do get busy, but not usually until after 9am. There are people trying to sell you things on the beach, but as soon as you say 'No thanks' they just walk on. We didn't get pressurised at all.
In all, we had a great holiday here. For the price you pay to go here I cannot see why people are complaining. If you want luxury, pay the price!!! If you are happy with a 3* hotel then this will suit you fine. There are some good beach bars around the area, and it makes a great and authentic Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferlou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    262
    106
    24
    30
See reviews for
208
279
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Went there in March 2009. well..... We were expecting caribbean holiday (as the travel rep told us) but this was far from it. The hotel is very basic. The rooms vere ok to sleep in, No view from the room, apart from a smashed up building. The best view you could get there would be the pool side rooms. The pool was small, you have to get up at 5-6am to get a sunbed. The entertainment was not good. Only a game of bingo during the day and a game of darts that was the only hour you get day time enterainment. The evening enteraintment was the staff doing the same dance to different music each night in awful costumes. The hotel was on the beach however, there were dead jelly fish all over it. and the sea was very rough, (good for surfers, no one else) The hotel beach bar was shocking there was hardly ever anyone there to serve the free drinks, it was a very dark and distressed bar/old building. The only way to get the most from the holiday is DO excursions and if you can go to the beaches on the caribbean side of the island and its totally different from the side you will stay on in the Le Flamboyant. The Airport is ok just alot of queing to have hand searched luggage, then Airport Tax, then security! Very small airport but has food, drink and duty frees. I would re think your holiday before booking or just go to the other side of the island!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaybug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Brilliant holiday after a bad start at the Pueblo Caribe. Le Flamboyant is clean, the staff are lovely, food is nice, met some lovely people great time ...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Just got home from The Flamboyant today...... and still wishing we were there!!

Firstly, and what no Rep. will tell you, is that Muggings along the Beach are averaging 2-3 per day, so you DO NOT wear visible jewellrey or openly carry Cameras or Videoing Equipment. YOU WILL BE ASKING FOR TROUBLE.

The Flamboyant is a wonderfully run hotel, even though it is small. There are minor problems like repetetive food, the Animation Team trying their hardest, and MINOR cleaning issues, but all in all, they all do their utmost to make your stay enjoyable.

We were lucky to have a great crew with us while there, and that certainly does make a difference. We all joined in with entertainment, much to the amusement of the other nationalities there and the Animation Team certainly appreciated it.

If you like your liquor STRONG, the size of the Spirit Measures will go a long way to making you fall over on a regular basis, they dont hold back when pouring the drink.

The rooms are adequate, especially as you only really sleep in them, bedding and towells are changed on a regular basis and rooms are cleaned daily.

Although things outside the Hotel are not good, and also the Departure Tax is being increased on a regular basis, you will enjoy the Hotel and the Heat!!

Things are being made more and more difficult for tourists as El Presidente does not want us there, hence why from end April, it will not be possible to go to Margarita direct from Britain any more. Talking to other Nationalities, they feel it wont be long before their Operators pull out either, so if you are going- Make the most of it but BEWARE!

Quick Hello to all who were there with Steve, Jac and Keiran

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scudsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Just spent a fortnight in the Le Flamboyant. When we arrived the passengers that should have left on our aircraft were still in the hotel!! Something to do with a crew shortage! You'll be asked to fill in the hotel registration form in on the bus, that's when we noticed our room had been changed. As previous reviewers have said, block 8 & 9 are the best rooms by far. Our first room was in block 4, dark & dated. However Orlando, the guy on reception had no qualms about moving us to block 9 the next day.
In general the hotel seems very clean, more than I can say about our bedroom. On the window ledge in the shower there was a collection of dead insects, I mean hundreds! Behind the cistern and biday hadn'nt seen a mop in years, nor had the tiles been wiped probably since the were put there. Runners on the patio doors and wardrobe were badly in need of a good clean. Ash trays on the patio were emptied into the bushes! Maybe our cleaner was not the best. On the subject of keeping things clean, the tables around the pool and in the entertainment area were rarely wiped down, cups and glasses left for hours. Be up before 7 for a sun lounger whether it be around the pool or on the beach, pathetic! Beds lying with towels on them and nobody appearing for hours.
On the brighter side, the food was o.k. most nights, the drinks were fine for being an all inclusive, usually the alcohol could strip the varnish of a table! We found the majority of the staff very friendly and obliging.
Outside of the hotel there is not as many bars and restaurants as there may have been some years ago, many derelict areas. Ther is a small market place close by, souvenier shops, most of whom incidently will give you a better exchange rate than your hotel. I changed my travellers cheques for 4.3 blvrs, in the hotel I was offered 3! There is a supermarket and a laundry a short walk away, both very reasonable pricewise.
The hotel beachbar is good to get out of the sun for a bit, a fab breeze. The barman, Mr Grumpy is not as bad as some make him out to be, well not that bad.
I would say you get what you pay for. The hotel is quite average, certainly not 4 star as some tour companys describe it. All in all we had a good time, somewhere different.
It seems a shame that U.K. and Scandinavian travel companys are pulling out of Margarita at the end of April. You'll only be able to fly from Frankfurt, Germany or Canada.
Would it be something to do with the powers that be increacing the exit tax to $94 U.S.D. Who knows? One thing for sure, folks will be adding that extra cost to there holiday and thinking twice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr World Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

this review is how four us saw this hotel.
on arrival we had a 45min tranfer from the airport,the check-in was quick and easy and a cool drink was offered to us.
rooms
we had rooms 901 and 902 room 901 had pool view and 902 had back of hotel with no view,the rooms were large and airy with good a/c although basic they were clean and tidy, walk in shower. {advisable to shower early as hot water gets used quickly at peak times.
you may find that when you use the toilet that you do not flush paper down loo but put in bin in bathroom this takes a lot of getting used to.
suprisingly sheets were changed daily and towels,the rooms were kept very clean by our lovely maid,and pleasd to report nothing went missing.
the hotel is in very pretty grounds,the pool area is kept very clean as is the very nice pool although not to big it is never crowded.
food.
this is one of the weaker points of the hotel,most days you will find something that you like but don't expect it to be that hot as they seem to prefer to serve warm food,meat from the griddle is cooked more to order the chicken is always moist and tender as is the turkey,chck that pork is cooked thro,plenty of salad and pasta.
sweets
this is a big minus every mealtime you will find only 3 and they will be either cakes or pastry and the sme 3 fruits every day,occasionally they have bananas grab them quick they are like gold dust,and we only had 1 jelly in 14 days.
beach bar
they have there own area on the beach which is pretty safe as there is security about with lots of loungers,but as with the pool be prepared to get there early as they get claimed by certain nationality.
entertainment.
another very weak spot,they do not interact with guests,they seem to play music to entertain themselves,at night they try to entertain but it is very repetative,snd as for the night that the singers are on stage well if they were in england i feel sure that the rspca would be involved in a cruelty case on human ears.
tours.
ther are many available,we took the island tour with crusin_n_style run by steve and marcella and it was great,they were really lovely people and made the whole day that bit special,nothing was to much trouble,super 4 wheel drive people carrier a/c kept running the whole tour,very highly recommended you can contact them at crusin_n_style98@yahoo.com.
all in all a very nice hotel at a very good price we would say value for money.
departure airport.
be prepared for a bit of a nightmare,up to 4 hrs to get thro security as they search every bag and piece of hand luggage including childrens and they only have 5 people to do it and they are soldiers from the national guard very thorough,with sniffer dogs on constant patrol,even after we got thro security they called people out in the departure lounge for 2 baggage check,and then we sat on plane for over 1 hr while they took baggage out of hold and checked it again with sniffer dogs,you can blame a lot of this on the idiots who tried to smuggle 21 kl of drugs on the plane last week [and one more thing if you are arrested for drugs there and sent to prison it is your families responsabilty to feed you.
don't be put off by some of these negative comments as the island has a lot to offer.
usefull tips.
money take dollars the lady in the shop will give you a pretty good deal at 4.6 bolivars to the dollar and there is no chance of getting ripped off with conterfiet money
watch for hidden extras ie first choice charge $19 per person to sit together on return flight
safe $3 a day.
departure tax 154 bolivars per person
towels $20 deposit.
al-carte restaurant not to special.
if you have any questions feel free to mail me and will do best to answer them.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogaz, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Just returned from Margarita and this hotel is great and is in one of the best locations as it is right opposite the beach and surrounded by restaurants and bars. The food was good and as non-meat eaters we still had plenty of choice (not so good for non fish eaters). The rooms were clean and there was always hot water. The hotel has a really friendly, cosy atmosphere and is a very sociable place with plenty of seating around the bar area. The entertainment team try hard but seem to lack direction and experience. Just a shame that first choice are pulling out of Margarita.This hotel and surrounding area is also wheelchair friendly - just ask for a ground floor room as no lifts. ALso the main shopping centre in Pampatar has mobility scooters

  • Liked — Locations and friendliness
  • Disliked — Entertainment was too loud
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.9 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
18.1 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#14 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.5 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
10.8 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#3 of 8 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LD Le Flamboyant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LD Le Flamboyant

Property: LD Le Flamboyant
Address: Boulevar Playa El Agua, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa el Agua
#4 Family Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LD Le Flamboyant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your LD Le Flamboyant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant Margarita Island/Playa El Agua, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing