We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELL ON EARTH !!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hesperia Playa El Agua
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Playa el Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“HELL ON EARTH !!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was the worst vacation I ever had. For the money we paid, this hotel gave me an insight into what hell is. The service was disgusting, the rooms were fit for dogs. It rained airconditioning water in my parents's room and the Magarita Immigration and Police suck!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not go this hotel. Especially if you are from Trinidad and Tobago and do not book with Krystal T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lystra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    556
    341
    208
    267
See reviews for
1,063
632
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is a very nice hotel as long as you get a refurbished room. If you are about to be located somewhere else, you might change your destiny by with a mere $10 and a chat with the receptionist. The food is acceptable but I can recommend dining in restaurants outside the hotel – they are cheap and the food is excellent. The beach by the hotel is not the most beautiful in the world but I enjoyed long walks along it anyway.
The hotel court looks like a botanical garden and is simply fabulous. There are multiple swimming pools on the hotel premises.
You should definitely go on trips – booking with a local agent is usually cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is just ok for what you pay, the pros is the wonderful beach, many pools, and space, the bad aspects of the hotel I would say the WORST one are the flies over the food and the staff don't care too
Much and is sad because there was a cool variety of dishes but I had to skip those with flies over or near, on my second day there were much less flies but still. Other recommendation will be to improve music at night something more chill or to
Create other spaces for entertainment. Hairdryer didn't work, the staff was kind most of
The time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very nice place with beautifull beaches and nice weather, i recomend the shrim cocktail in the beach and a very cold Polar beer, the food is really good and the have bar abierto to drink whatever you want

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maggy993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent the weekend at this resort with my family, my children enjoyed the pool closer to our end of the hotel, food was much better than many resorts at Magarita, always an abundance of fruits and the pizza at Trattoria was great. There was always variety at the main restaurant and the restaurant itself was clean with food properly presented. The room was a bit dated but the bathroom was great with hot water at all times and the maid service was good, we always had clean towels and the beds were always nicely made.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place for calm holidays. Far from any shopping facilties but with great private beach. I fully recommend trip around the west part of the island with a taxi and trip on catamaran. Trip to angel falls really worth doing.
Food was great. Spirits in all inclusive just the local one ´s. A lot of people from South America.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

i took my wife and younger brother to this hotel for a five day four night holiday. I am sorry to say but it was certainly a regret. My intention is not to lambash this hotel but to give a message to its management to "pull up their pants" cause they not going to get many return visits. Firstly the food was horriable. There were flies and insects as part of the menue. At the breakfast and lunchinoticed that every dish probably except the fruit had lots of flies arround it on top of it and the staff seem not to care. Most of them dont speek english so talking to them is a task in itself and to be honest they seem not to care.The hotels focus more on meats and frankly dont cater for vegetarians like myself. I would give cudos to the italian resturant on the compound though. The food was fantastic ambiance was wonderful has plenty vegetarian tasty dishes. On the down side its only open for dinner. There is a third resturant which in my opinion better they have burger carts than to have that place open. The room was ok not great but ok. The water pressure in the shower was very slow. They seem to have done a cost cutting excersie when it comes to toiletries. For triple occupancy we got a very small bar of soap two very small bottles of shampoo one roll of toilet paper and by the way its those very cheap rolls. The pools were being cleaned every day but a number of them did not have filters and pumps on. I checked. These things i look at. The grounds itself was pretty ok. Was well kept. The pool chairs had stains of bird droppings and i mean almost every pool chair , trust me i checked. Its almost as though these people dont value health and cleanliness. NEVER AGAIN. If ever i return to margarita i would not got to this hotel.

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pradeshjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa el Agua
0.5 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
6.5 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
3.3 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#13 of 89 in Margarita Island
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
190 reviews
17.9 mi away
StevieWonderLand
StevieWonderLand
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
316 reviews
11.1 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Playa El Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Playa El Agua

Property: Hesperia Playa El Agua
Address: Avenida 31 de Julio | Sector la Mira, Playa el Agua, Margarita Island 6311, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Playa el Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa el Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Playa El Agua 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent four-star, all-inclusive Hesperia Playa El Agua resort is situated on the most breathtaking of all beaches on Venezuela's beautiful Isla Margarita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hesperia Playa El Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Playa El Agua Hotel Playa El Agua
Hesperia Hotel Playa El Agua
Playa El Agua Hesperia
Hesperia Playa El Agua Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing