We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Risor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Risor Holiday Village
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My girlfriend and myself travelled to Risor Holiday in february 2012 an had an amazing time. We stayed in one of the log cabins as it was something different and its something i would definitely do again. Being from Northern Ireland we had to fly from Dublin to Oslo Regge Airport which meant we had further to travel down to Risor. We stayed in Oslo and had to travelled down in the morning on the bus. The scenery on the way down was amazing looking with the snow.

The log cabin was well kitted out and nice a cosy. You were provided with blankets and the place was well cleaned. It also had a power shower, television, free wifi and good kitchen facilities. It was positioned a short walk away from a supermarket which was handy. There was a big Fjord beside the village which was a nice walk down. The scenery was fantastic. There are also alot of winter activities you can do down there like ice fishing, snow holing, sledding and extreme camping. Unfortunately we didn't get to do any of them but it leaves something to do next time.

The staff at the Holiday Village were excellent. They couldn't do enough for you and were willing to help with what ever you needed. They were great fun on the trips and made sure you got the most out of your stay.

We did cross country skiing and dog sledding while there. The staff of the holiday village took you there and organised everything so it was pretty handy. Both were a great experience as id never done them before. It quite a drive away but well worth the wait. You go further up the mountains where there is so much more snow! This is were the Norwegian team train for the winter olympics.

The town of Risor was small but had lovely scenery. During the winter you got quite a chill off the Fjord. It had nice places to eat and a few shops but nothing extravagant. It was only a short walk away but there were buses every now and again. We walked back to the holiday village but i wouldn't recommend it as there isn't footpaths the whole way and the road is quite dangerous.

From photos and activity lists, Risor Holiday Village would be nice to visit in the summer as well. We would like to go then to try the other activities and even bring our kids with us. We didn't bring them in the winter as the cold would be a bit much for them being so young but they'd love it in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryH3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Amazing trip in December - we were very lucky to have been there when the Fjord was frozen over. We luckily got upgraded to the cabin with hot tub and sauna. We arranged transport from the airport (highly recommended) rather than driving in a blizzard.
Very well equipped cabin with a beautiful dining area, kitchen and lounge.
Woke up on the Saturday morning to a fresh fall of 50cm of snow which was amazing. Sitting in a hot tub over looking the Fjord is an experience I will not forget in a long time.
Highly recommend this experience if you want to relax, see beautiful scenery and get away from it all

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we stayed for a week in august there was 12 of us adults and children ranging from 17 down to 1 year old and no one was bored the lodges are gorgeous ive never known such comfortable beds. the scenery is breathtaking the boys went on the fishing trip and brought there catch home to cook dave taught them to gut the fish ect we also hired 2 motor boats which i highly recommend we spent the full day exploring the fjords went to risor village we also saw seals on this trip which the kids loved even the 1 year old enjoyed the boats. the boys also did lots of fishing from the jetty and caught plenty of mackerel and cod the beach is small but pleasant and the walk to it is beautiful but steep the walk back is very tiring but worth it. dave and andy who seem to do everything are beyond helpful nothing is too much trouble for them. the villiage has a swimming pool and volley ball pitch which the kids loved the nearby supermarket is reasonably priced and the staff friendly but we found risor very expensive. all in all this was a fantastic holiday with plenty to do but quiet and relaxing we are going back in february and cannot wait

Room Tip: all the lodges are beautiful but if travelling in summer take insect repellant as its too humid to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumof11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We certainly didn't regret our choice of location for a week's summer holiday. The lodges themselves are clean and tastefully furnished, with BBQ, outdoor patio, dishwasher and washing machine. Dave and Andy were great at suggesting things for us to do, and we had a great time on an organized boat trip, renting our own boat and going kayaking. The amenities are ideal: it has its own sandy beach, boat dock, football pitch, beach volleyball net and pool. The grocery store is a stone's throw away, and the picturesque village of Risor is a 10-minute drive. We might have liked a bit more privacy (our patio backed onto someone else's) and some more closet space, but it was definitely the right choice for our family of five.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fantastic weather every day. The house was clean and tidy. Could have done with 2 bathrooms for seven of us. We could have done with a microwave also. Location is fantastic with just a short walk to the beautiful fjord. We had 2 boats plus mooring and the fishing was great. You need be reasonably fit for the walk back to the house. Nearby supermarket within walking distance has all you might need for basics.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a week in this superb holiday village, in a luxury lodge, close to the fjord with all its attractions of fishing, boating, swimming etc. For us, the joy was the Risor Kammermusikfest and we attended concerts daily. We want to thank David Arnesen and his colleagues for their helpfulness, they made our holiday. Highly recommended, for families and groups of friends, supermarket close by is reasonably priced, and buses and taxis will get you to and from Risor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 5 nights holiday on 8th June and had a brilliant time, 4 adults Dave and Andy were extremely helpful and knowledgeable regarding the area.Our husbands went fishing locally and 3 of us went on the days fishing trip and caught severalspecies of fish.The scenery wasbreathtaking and the area is the quietest we have ever stayed at. The lodges are very modern and tastefully decorated and have everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The only down side is that there is only one toilet/shower room and if the lodges are fully occupied that might be a problem. The supermarket is within walking distance and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The prices for own brands are similar to UK but British brands are expensive. There are many restaurants in Risor Village but they are expensive so choose wisely and check prices. Thanks to Dave and Andy who helped and advised us on the best places to visit and the best fishing. We had a brilliant holiday and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Each of the Lodges are in excellent positions. The area is extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Risor hotels
1.7 mi away
Det Lille Hotel
Det Lille Hotel
#1 of 2 in Risor
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sorlandet Feriesenter
2 mi away
Risor Hotel
Risor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Risor
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel24
#1 of 1 in Sandnes
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Risor Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risor Holiday Village

Address: Oesteboeneset 20 | (also Torvet 1), Risor 4950, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Risor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Risor
Price Range: $83 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Risør Holiday Village offers high standard Scandinavian lodges by the Risør Fjord, a 5-minute drive from Risør town centre. The surrounding area is ideal for outdoor activities all year round.All cottages at Holiday Village include free Wi-Fi and living areas with modern furnishings. The kitchens are well-equipped, including dishwashers and washing machines. All cottages have private terraces and boat docks.Leisure activities include an outdoor swimming pool, a sports area and a sandy beach. Popular summer activities are swimming, kayaking and climbing. In the winter, guests can experience dog sledding, skiing and ice fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Risor Holiday Village Hotel Risor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing