We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durbach
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A bit pretentious”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Whilst the registration process was perfectly smooth it was a little cold and clinical compared to a number of the hotels we had stayed at during the previous two weeks. The room itself was fine although, like the bathroom, quite small. However, the bed was comfortable and this, surprisingly, was the only hotel on our trip to have a multi media system in the room. We did not use the spa/pool facilities and chose not to eat in the dining room either. We were jolly glad about the latter decision because the restaurant opposite the hotel is excellent - it may not be Michelin starred (quite the opposite, in fact, as the food is reasonably basic but of excellent quality with good sized portions) but it was noticeable that it was packed-out on a Thursday evening whilst the hotel dining room looked deserted. We were very much left with the impression that Hotel Ritter may look after better those guests who take more expensive rooms - the fact we chose to only book a basic room does not mean we could not have afforded to pay for something more grand or that we should be treated any differently. In the previous two weeks we had stayed in a number of hotels, some of which were more expensive and some less so. However, whatever price we paid and whether we took a suite or a basic room, nearly all offered a more welcoming reception and a feeling that they wanted to provide a first class service. Hanging a few pictures around the reception area of "celebrities" who have used the hotel may impress some people but to us it was simply a demonstration that Hotel Ritter is trying to be something it really is not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    96
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
279
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I visited several times this hotel, so I know all kind of rooms quite well. The staff is very polite. I think some year ago this hotel was renovated: the outside they kept the traditional German architectural style, but inside you find the finest design furnitures. (But inside you still can see the wooden beams of the roof.) Wi-fi they have only in the lobby, but you can ask for a camble to access the internet in the rooms aswell. The rooms have big plasma tv, minibar - as usual. Don't miss the breakfast, in Ritter Hotel I had the finest and richest breakfast at all, and I've been at a lots of hotels - believe me. Several fishes, meats, juices from real fruits, regular milk, homemade milk etc. You can make yourself fresh pancaces, you can drink as many espressos (ask from the waitress) as you want, they don't charge extra for this. In general this hotel is good for business reasons, but for private wineyard tours. The hotel had a lots of celebrities (Mitterand, Kohl, Dalai Lama, Lagerfeld etc.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in July and our expectations of a quality hotel were more than met. The Ritter Hotel is extremely welcoming, and that attentive attitude was displayed by all the staff throughout our stay. Unfortunately we didn't get to sample either of the Ritter restaurants (no point with a 5 year old !) but the buffet breakfast is without doubt one of the finest we have encountered at any hotel, in terms of quality, choice and service.

We were unfortunate in that the rain followed us all over our trip to Europe, so it changed our plans as regards visiting the vineyards of Durbach, but we will definitely return to the Hotel Ritter in the future, though probably just myself and my wife rather bringing our young child. It is probably more suited to couples or families with older children - that is not to criticise in anyway, in fact my 5 year old was REALLY impressed with the TV & DVD player with fantastic surround sound, where he was able to watch his DVDs. There was even a kids bathrobe in the room for him to use. We also got to use the small but nice pool in the basement before it closed for maintenance (there is a large public pool at the other end of the village).

If I remember correctly, the Hotel will collect guests from Strasbourg Airport, so that is a useful thing to note if you were to come in for a long weekend there.

Overall, I would heartily recommend this hotel. It is clear that the Ritter family and their staff go the extra kilometre to make their guests stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in June. The hotel is in the small rural town of Durbach. The town is surrounded by vineyards and is a good base for exploring the Black Forest. Despite the quiet rural location the Ritter also benefits from only being about 15 minutes drive from the A5 autobahn, this puts places such as the Porsche & Mercedes Benz Museums in Stuttgart within a 90 minute drive.

The hotel was immaculate and the family owners obviously take great pride in the establishment. The staff were all very professional, friendly & helpful. My poor German was not a problem, as all the staff spoke English & English menus were available in the three restaurants. British guests will also appreciate the cooked breakfast made freshly to order ! also included is the biggest cold breakfast buffet you are every likely to see. The hotel has rooms of differing sizes & layout because it is a very old building that has been extended over the years. Our room was very quiet and comfortable with air con., modern bathroom, TV with DVD, safe, etc.. The bathroom & furnishings were clearly chosen up to a standard, rather than down to a price. The quality of the restaurants, the hotel facilities & the service were all excellent, and I therefore consider the price to represent excellent value for money.

The owner was often around the place, introducing himself to the guests & making sure everyone was happy. I felt that our custom was valued & appreciated at all times.

Room Tip: Detailed room descriptions are on the hotels own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed 3 nights (Friday to Monday) in a dtandard room with balcony in early July, having been picked up at Strasbourg airport (just over 30 minutes away).
It was our first time in a German hotel and everything was simply perfect - professional, efficient and very friendly service; super clean and well appointed room with some quircky touches; gorgeous toiletries in the rather compact bathroom (no bath) but we did have their cheapest room and one of only 2 with a balcony with a very lovely view indeed (see picture). The bathroom also had a decent hairdryer and like other rooms guests get a spa bag (slippers, robes, towels) for use in the beautiful and serene pool / jacuzzi / sauna. The room itself had everything you'd expect including a desk, armchairs and a mini bar with reasonable prices. The large window comes with those metal shutters ensuring a restful sleep.
Breakfast was wonderful, again with great service (hot drinks and egg dishes), the remainder a fantastic buffet of gourmet dishes. We also had dinner there twice, once in the Keller, another time in the Stube and again each time cannot praise the quality of the food enough - and again the same excellent service (and I am rather fussy, and a vegetarian ...). Our only disappoinmnet would be that family commitments meant we had not enough time to take advantage all the Ritter has to offer, definitely a great place / base to stay and explore the lovely wine village of Durbach and nearby town and cities.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in the centre of a beautiful wine village called Durbach. It is only a good half an hour away from Strasbourg. The traditional hotel is fully renovated and has a modern and classy interior design. The staff is friendly and competent. The rooms incl. bathrooms are top quality although a bit small. The breakfast is wonderful. You can order different sorts of eggs or try something from the huge buffet. They even offer different sorts of milk (low fat, lactose-free etc.).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon city or USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Staying here on business. Very nice small town. Great dinner cuisine. Breakfast buffet is amazing. Quality bed. Nice TV and sound system. Wifi has a bit of a weak signal but works.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbach
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rebstock
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
14.3 mi away
Hotel Bareiss
Hotel Bareiss
#2 of 32 in Baiersbronn
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
614 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
566 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Offenburg am Messeplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritter Durbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritter Durbach

Property: Hotel Ritter Durbach
Address: Baden Wine Road - Valley 1, 77770 Durbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Durbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ritter Durbach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradition-Hotel Ritter Durbach, idyllically situated on Baden's designated Wine Route ("badische Weinstrasse") between Alsace/France and the Black Forest, has entered its next historical era. After more than 100 years, the hotel changed into the Muller family hands in January 2008. As a bridge between tradition and modern, a "4 Star Superior Design Hotel" with 87 rooms & suites, three gastronomic highlights, a 1.200 Square metre SPA and 5 conference rooms has come into existence.Awaiting you is a unique and innovative concept.Let the Hotel Ritter Durbach fill you with enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ritter Durbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing