We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Avellanas Villas
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We left :(”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is not as advertised at all :(( was so so disappointed and was insulted also. We had to pay but we left and went next door to Mauna Loa. The photos are set up for this. The grounds are not like this. Our facilties did not work, the owner was rude, we did not have furniture as in the photos and our fan did not work. The grounds are dirty and the villas are run down and the decking dangerous. This is also not near the beach. Was so so disappointed but it was worth the money to cut our losses and move on. Mauna Loas next door was awesome :)

Room Tip: Don't choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Point, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

this is the place to be! I spent 10 nights here in February of 2012 and had a great time. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. I was able to prepare my own meals in the kitchenette if I felt like it, or run down to Lola's or into Tamarindo (a 20 minute drive) for a restaurant meal. You can walk to the beach via the path across the street or drive down to Playa Avellannas and park at Lolas (2 or 3 minute drive). The parking area down there has a security guard. They like to be tipped 1000 colones/day so take care of them and you don't have to worry about your car. During my stay Isabelle asked many times if I needed anything and if everything was OK, I appreciated that, and Solle her wonderful dog also checked in with me on a daily basis, what a sweet dog. If you like being surrounded by nature and having access to a beautiful beach look no further.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMc7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, and had a great experience. It is walking distance to everything in Avellanas (mostly just the beach :-)), had everything we needed, and the owners (Isabella and Alejandro) were super nice and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctcharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We loved this place! My husband and I stayed here and loved everything about it! It is so close to the beach, and if you like surfing I will totally recommend it. The cabins/houses are so cool, we loved the layout.

The staff was super nice, even they let us leave our luggage their after check-out so we could go and spend the day at the beach!

It was a great experience from beginning to the end! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

At the last minute, we decided to pick Las Avellanas Villas out of the lonely planet book at random. We were quite impressed - the villas were extremely well designed and perfect for our traveling style. It's not right on the beach, but for surfers or bird watchers it is a bit better, as it is closer to the river mouth end of the beach.

Had we planned ahead, we probably would have used the well appointed kitchen in our unit. It was nice to keep beer cold and be able to make coffee on our own, plus the covered patio was great for waiting out the mid-day heat.

Overall, I wish that I had found something like this back when my wife and I were on our honeymoon, as this place really wrapped up everything we would have wanted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aestivalne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Las Avellanas Villas and all I can say is it was perfect! Bungalow's have a modern, contemporary feel and the setting makes them seem secluded from the world. 5 mins walk to the beautiful, deserted beach.
The service we received from Isobel and her brother was second to none and their kindness was way beyond the call of duty.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and this will be one place I would love to visit again. Bliss!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

These are very nice compact villas to stay if you like being surrounded by nature. The place is located close to the avellanas beach, which is the best one in Costa Rica! The owner is a very nice lady & excellent photograph. We really enjoyed our stay, even with one day plenty of rain, this place was just perfect to hang out!
regards
Jill

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leorae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Avellanas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nahua
Hotel Nahua
#16 of 22 in Tamarindo
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Avellanas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Avellanas Villas

Property: Las Avellanas Villas
Address: Playa Avellanas Main Street | Tamarindo, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Avellanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Avellanas Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Avellanas Villas, 5 equipped villas with private bathrooms, ecologicly designed, 10 minute walk to the beach, great waves, great athmosphere. Cook your favourite meals with your family and friends - Live the lifestyle at the beach in your own house for days or weeks ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Avellanas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Avellanas Villas Hotel Playa Avellanas
Las Avellanas Villas Costa Rica/Playa Avellanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing