We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Las Olas(Playa Avellanas)
$97
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vida Verde(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Avellanas Villas(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$68
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$55
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ChanteMar(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Playa Negra(Playa Negra)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Negra Surf Lodge(Playa Negra)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mauna Loa(Playa Avellanas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
203
38
16
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
38
16
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatvisited elcosta ricaamazing chefhowler monkeysmorning and eveningnice amenitieshome away from homeother guestsbring earplugszip liningcome homedry seasonbeach towelshorseback ridinggrounds are beautifulnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 267 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2010

A beautiful hideaway, a short drive from Tamarindo. An enjoyable time , we were well looked after by Harold & Susie. Rooms are basic but clean, woken early by local wildlife. Pool has a lovely view across the valley although is not large enough for swimming lengths.
Food was fantastic, nothing too much trouble, from steak to prawns and toasties or gallo pinto.
Internet access was great centrally, unfortunately didn't reach our room.
As expected there's no evening entertainment - unless you make it!
A good spot to explore the North Western side of Costa Rica from, some nice amenities and beaches nearby.
Weather was overcast much of the time but lots of hot sun by the beach.
Recommend the nearby zip lining and horse riding, food at Flamingo, Lola's for food and surfing, Adrian at Alamo for a rental car.
Don't recommend the farm across the road for horse riding or the diving with Aqua Rica in Tamarindo.
Overall El Sabanero is very well recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboomtownrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We were looking for a small quiet B&B in Costa Rica for a quick retreat and stumbled upon El Sabanero. The day we arrived it was raining cats and dogs and Harold was waiting with his sign in hand to welcome us "home".

The hospiality was outstanding!! The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Harold offered to take anywhere we desired, even if it was a half hour drive on not so great roads... He always has a suggestion of a new resteraunt or beach or hiking trail.

The accomidations were TOP NOTCH! Clean and inviting. The resteraunt offered up a menu of local favoites and a variety of seafood dishes, chicken and pasta. FRESH FRESH FRESH! And the coffee in Costa Rica is to DIE FOR!!!

If you're looking for a home away from home... this is your stop.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otter43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We had never been to Costa Rica and picked El Sabanero after seeing some photos and reading some reviews. We are so glad that we stayed there!

We stayed for 10 days. Each morning we went to the lodge where we were served freshly cut fruit, blended fruit juice, coffee and toast. The lodge has internet access so we also took that time to keep our friends updated on facebook! Skype also worked very well there. The goal of our vacation was to relax, so we decided what to do on a day by day basis - and the hotel managers, Harold and Suzie were very helpful in helping us choose where to go and what to do. There is a warm and friendly feel to the lodge. While staying we often talked about feeling like we were guests in someones home and not in a hotel. We were treated very well and really appreciated the warm and friendly hospitality.

The staff was excellent. While we were out during the day, our room was cleaned and our towels and linens were all replaced. They did such a great job! The rooms are cozy and have great character. The lodge, cabins and grounds are kept very clean and beautiful.

The location is great. There are several beaches within driving distance and all were quite different and each beautiful in their own way. Harold and Suzie were most helpful in guiding us to places to see. Someone from the hotel will even drive you and pick you up from the beach!

There is no TV, radio or clock in the cabins - but none are needed. There is so much to see and do you won't miss it at all!!! Most of the time we were out exploring beaches, but while at the hotel we loved to relax by the pool or hang out on our porch.The hotel has a beautiful pool and whirlpool with an unbelievable view. We loved all of the wildlife around us and often sat on our porch just taking it all in. There are many different kinds of birds, and sometimes monkeys that visit the hotel. There is a ranch across from the hotel, so there are farm animals too including brahma cattle which I think are really neat. If you enjoy the outdoors and nature, this lodge is perfect!

The food at the hotel was very good! You just let them know if you will be there for lunch or dinner and what time you would like to eat. They bring food in fresh and you get a great home cooked meal.

I could go on and on about how much I loved this place! I would highly recommend the El Sabanero and will hopefully be able to visit again! Costa Rica is amazing - and everyone at El Sabanero made our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_JLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This resort is the most tranquil, beautiful and relaxing place I have travelled to. It is set on a hillside with nothing around you but valleys, mountains and luscious Costa Rican vegetation. Having travelled to many vacation destinations around the world including Mexico, Cuba and the Dominican, I would have to say without hesitation, the El Sabanero is by far my favourite choice.
Each room is its own private chalet encompassing a bedroom, bathroom and a porch. It was wonderful to be able to wake up in the morning and step outside directly into the fresh air instead of a hotel hallway. There are only about 10 chalets in total at the resort, allowing for peace, quiet and relaxation without any hustle or bustle.
The food is absolutely exquisite. The fruits and vegetables are all locally grown; everything tasted extremely fresh.
Although the resort is not directly on a beach, there are four absolutely amazing beaches minutes away. There is also an infinity pool with a waterfall on site that overlooks the beautiful landscapes.
Last, but most definitley not least, the staff is extremely helpful and very entertaining! They provide directions, tips and suggestions for local areas to visit and various trips you can go on. I highly recommend the zip lining tour!
In the evenings, the owners and travellers will sit around a table telling stories and jokes, allowing for some great conversation and some very amusing memories.
I intend on coming back as soon as I can; there's no other place like this! Do not hesitate about booking here, it'll be the smartest decision you've ever made.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_Soaked_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I loved my stay at El Sabanero Lodge. It's clean, priced right with a beautiful infinity pool that will keep you refreshed and energized! The location will require you to have a car handy but it's advised to have a vehicle in Costa Rica anyway, in order to drive up or down the cost and see the beautiful sites.

On a whole, I have to say it was wonderful to stay in a happy, clean, well maintained lodge that gives you the opportunity to either relax, chill out or take a short 15 minute drive into Tamarindo for some fun.

Sandra Currie

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMT4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews