We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Las Olas(Playa Avellanas)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mauna Loa(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vida Verde(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$66
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ChanteMar(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Playa Negra(Playa Negra)(Great Value!)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Avellanas Villas(Playa Avellanas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
203
38
16
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
38
16
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatyoga trainingvisited elcosta ricaamazing chefhowler monkeysmorning and eveningnice amenitieshome away from homeother guestsbring earplugszip liningcome homedry seasonbeach towelshorseback ridinggrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 267 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Perfect place to get away and turn off. Chalet room was spacious and clean and well presented. Rocking chairs and hammock to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by. Pool area is perfect to catch the sun or shade. The food is great and had no need to leave for meals. I would certainly stay again. Great place for families and solo travelers alike. It is not a cheap stay, but worth it.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DannyRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful views, great people, wonderful food. From the chalet you have views of the mountains and the valley farms. I sat for many hours reading in the hammock enjoying the views and the breeze. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets from up on the hill where the lodge sits. The owners are all very welcoming and helpful with travel advise and suggestions. The food is outstanding. They serve full breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh juices, guya pinto (beans and rice - delicious!), and eggs made to order. Dinners are equally delicious and as good as any we ate on our travels. We had Tuna steaks with fresh vegetables - excellent. Donald, the chef, is very gifted.
Not a five star hotel if that's what you're looking for. The beds could use a new mattress or at least a mattress pad. A little lacking in comfort. And because the chalets are open air so you can hear the road noise and the wildlife. I actually enjoyed hearing the wildlife, but it bears noting.
That said, the many goods far outweigh the few bad. Well worth the visit. I'd highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rossow98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016

If you want to unplug from the real world.....this is the place!

The property is beautiful, with an infinity pool that overlooks the mountains, an open air dining area and yoga studios, cabin accommodations that have their own front porch and rocking chairs, and howler monkeys that may wake you up at night, which adds to the charm of the place!

The owners, Kurt, Harold, Amit and Tasha are so welcoming and accommodating.....answering all questions, arranging tours, and making sure your every need is taken care of! Amit is a great yoga instructor too!

The food.....there are not enough words to describe how amazing the food is! Donald and Hazel outdid themselves day after day with the best food I have ever eaten. That is not an exaggeration!

I can't leave out Fernando! He was the driver extraordinaire, transferring us to and from the airport, driving us on tours, and short trips to and from town. He was always on time, with a smile on his face, and even gave us Spanish lessons!

I would highly recommend El Sabanero to anyone that wants to experience the true flavor of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kelleycs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, Manager at El Sabanero Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Thank you very much for your review I hope we will get the chance to see you again.
Harold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

I love this place, very peaceful/tranquil great place to stay if your visiting Costa Rica. The owners and staff ( Kurt, Harold, Ameet, Donald, Tosha, and more..) are very gracious and welcoming. The lodge has a beautiful pool, hammocks, yoga studios, hiking grounds, lots to do. You can also venture out, which the owners will help coordinate and arrange a driver (Fernando), zip lining, horseback riding, Tamirando, Beaches and more. Also, the lodge prepares delicious healthy meals thru out the day (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Ameet leads dail yoga classes in the evening, the experience is very relaxing ans serene.I highly recommend staying at the El Sabenero if you want to feel relaxed and experience the TLC feeling while in Costa Rica.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, Manager at El Sabanero Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Thank you very much for this great review and for staying with us.

Harold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Where do I start? From Donald + Hazel's amazing, delicious, and fresh food every lunch and dinner to Amit's perfectly crafted yoga classes to the most welcoming (and funny!) Kurt and Harold, this place is truly a slice of heaven. If you're looking to rest and recharge, this is the place. Everyone is so accommodating and willing to help you with whatever you may need!

Thank you, El Sabanero, for making my first retreat hosting experience the perfect one! I feel so blessed to know you all!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cschweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, Manager at El Sabanero Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Thank you very much I hope we see each other again.
Harold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews