We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
203
38
16
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
38
16
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatvisited elcosta ricaamazing chefhowler monkeysmorning and eveningnice amenitieshome away from homeother guestsbring earplugszip liningcome homedry seasonbeach towelshorseback ridinggrounds are beautifulkurt
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 267 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We enjoyed staying at El Sabanero away from hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. The pool area at the hotel is lovely. It enjoys a gentle breeze being set on the edge of a hill. the hammocks in the communal area were also a great hit. The staff were very helpful.The breakfast was good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0sanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I, had the pleasure of sharing 3 beautiful nights at the El Sabanero hotel. Located just 10 minutes away from the famous Tamarindo beach, you can experience the town life and easily make an escape to tranquility, intimacy and nature. Upon arrival, I was greeted by both Kurt and Donald with a handshake and smile. The set-up was amazing and the place was spotless. The candle lit reception area and all natural wood from local foliage was polished and sculpted to create a wonderful ambiance. The dinning area featured a full bar with two hammocks on each side overlooking the pristine views of the countryside. After walking past a beautiful torch lit wooden deck covered pool area Kurt showed us our "cabina" The room was a delight allowing a safe retreat from the elements but still allowing you to experience nature (monkey calls, birds singing and sounds of insects really made the stay amazing and relaxing during the evening hours. After handing us the keys to our room Kurt told us that the first drinks from the reception area beverage machine were on the hotel. (a very nice welcome gesture) Breakfast was served from 7-9AM and featured fresh bread, butter, jams, milk, coffee, fruit and handmade juice. (A perfect start for your day).

For those still reading,

Donald the chef/manager not only helped me book a rental car for a decent price but he also surprised my girlfriend on our anniversary with a romantic poolside candle light dinner. He had beautiful music playing, torches and flowers surrounding our personal table, the pool was dimmed and lit, a bottle of Chilean wine accompanied his delicious FISH PESCADO dinner which was the best food hands down that we had during our 8 days in Costa Rica and possibly the best fish I have ever had (not exaggerating). Try it for yourself you will not be Disappointed.

His Costa Rican style dinner plate (which ONLY ran about 13$ by the way!!) came loaded with yuca, salad, vegetables, beans, guacamole and rice. The fish was Cooked to perfection, tasted so fresh as if it was pulled out of the local waters and prepared for us. Everything had AMAZING flavor and my girlfriend who is from central america said she had never tasted such good guacamole.

After dinner, we spent the rest of the night poolside with Donald as he sat and sipped wine with us we felt at home.

Gracias por todo y BRAVO donald and kurt. I told everyone about the place and we will be back hope to see you again, we miss you guys already.

Forever in our hearts,

Kahterine and Travis

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

El Sabanero Eco Lodge is by far the best place we have stayed during our two weeks trips. 10 minutes drive from ''downtown'' Tamarindo, El Sabanero allows you to enjoy the city and the countryside at the same time. Each visitors have their own little villa (good intimacy and confort). Kurt and Donald are top class hosts (ask Kurt about Lola's and Donald about his fish casado...you will not be disapointed). The pool is perfect to take a break from the beach or enjoying the night with a drink in hand.

Furthermore, these guys are true gentlemen. We forgot 2 pairs of shoes at the hotel and they take arrangements to send them back to Canada.

Kudos to you, Kurt and Donald.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie-Ève G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My boyfriend, 8yo son, and I stayed at El Sabanero for 6 nights. Everything was absolutely perfect. The atmosphere is so laid back, and Donald was a gracious host while the owners were away. He helped us find the best deal on a rental car (while we were wanting to rely on public transportation, we realized we wouldn't be able to explore some amazing places without a car), cooked one of the best dinners I've ever had (seabass), and played Bananagrams with us. It was a great place to relax and hang out and we didn't feel like we were 'wasting our vacation' by lounging by the pool some afternoons. It is located close enough to the beach that it's convenient, but far enough away that you're away from the tourist-y shops/people.
The 'chalet' we stayed in was set up great and very clean. The shower was hot and with great water pressure.
Cannot wait to return some day soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nshelledy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here for 9 days at the end of Feb 2012. On arrival we were gob smacked at the sheer beauty and tranquility this lodge nestles amongst. Some really stunning views.

The food was fresh and was a surprising highlight to our time here. Quality, simple and cooked to perfection. Gracia's Donald n Kurt.

Hosts Harold and Suzi were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble. Very welcoming, helpful and interesting also thanks to Johnny (pops) lol. He will know who he is. ;)

We did not want to leave!! Certainly be going back very soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastendTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews