We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
203
38
16
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
38
16
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatvisited elcosta ricaamazing chefhowler monkeysmorning and eveningnice amenitieshome away from homeother guestsbring earplugszip liningcome homedry seasonbeach towelshorseback ridinggrounds are beautifulkurt
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 267 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at this location for 8 days in February '12. The owner and those assisting were very accommodating. I was even able to borrow a boogey board from one of the managers. The rooms are quite spartan and, though plentry serviceable, they could use a little more deep cleaning. The continental breakfasts were fresh and tasty, but they lacked much imagination. Same fruit dish each morning with bread, butter and preserves. You can pay for a more hearty breakfast, but we didn't desire that as fruit was sufficient.
Beach towels were provided which was a nice aspect even though we weren't extremely close to a beach. The regular use towels could have used some improvement as they were rather ragged.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

During a month long stay in Costa Rica I had the pleasure of staying at El Sabanero for 3 days.

Comparing it to all the other accommodations I stayed in, I can quite honestly can say three things:

1. Highest level of genuinely-friendly customer service
2. Best dinners - freshly made delicious food
3. Calmest, and most beautiful setting

I would recommend this spot to anyone visiting Costa Rica. It's absolutely perfect.
The town of Tamarindo is just a 15 minute drive away so you can take in a day of surfing, and then relax in the peacefulness of the lodge enjoying a delicious dinner under the stars at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 1 :)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissJamieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

El Sabinero is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. The cozy lodge is tucked away on a quiet hillside with a beautiful scenic view. My girlfriend and I worked virtually from the lodge for a few days and the high speed internet was extremely reliable.

Every meal Donald prepared was cooked to perfection! Gracias! Kurt – thank you for your hospitality and making our stay so memorable.

We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristieCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our annual trip to Costa Rica would not be an adventure without our stay at El Sabanero. This visit included our gradsons on their first trip to Costa Rica and the experience of staying at El Sabanero enhanced the overall thrill of the nature and beauty of the country for them. With our normal hosts, Harold and Susi in Austria on business, their brother Kurt and manager Donald kept the hospitable nature of the Eco Lodge alive and well.

The cabinas were immaculate and, as always, our hosts promote interaction among the guests. The village being completely booked, this seemed like a large task, but the conviviality of hosts and residents made this easy. Everyone congregated in the morning and evening, sharing plans for the day and reporting back on their daily experiences. Conversations, games and, of course, cocktails were shared every night, reminiscent of times long gone in the States.

Breakfasts and dinners at the lodge were fresh, wholesome and delicious, with Yami and Donald adding the local flair to traditional dishes, the ingredients more than fresh. The pool area was the hub of activity for those choosing to not take the short trip to the beach. Activities off-site were gladly arranged by the staff, including rafting, horseback riding, zip-lining, or eco-tours.

Our 10-day trip ended all too soon, but the hugs and kisses upon our depature from staff and friends are just reminders that we are truly family and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpacWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We love this little secret hide away. El Sabanero is the perfect getaway for anyone who wants to reconnect to themselves or others. Very cozy, relaxing and comfortable without the unnatural distractions that take us away from our true essence. Donald and Daphne were excellent hosts, and provided us with delectable food, lovely music, great conversations with much laughter. On a moonlight night El Sabanero is breath taking and has to be experienced because words just cannot capture the experience. I highly recommend this resort to anyone going to Costa Rico in search of " The Pure Life'.

Room Tip: Each space is a private cabin... no one is attached to you.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews