We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Las Olas(Playa Avellanas)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mauna Loa(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vida Verde(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Avellanas Villas(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$66
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ChanteMar(Playa Avellanas)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Playa Negra(Playa Negra)(Great Value!)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Negra Surf Lodge(Playa Negra)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
203
38
16
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
38
16
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatyoga trainingvisited elcosta ricaamazing chefhowler monkeysmorning and eveningnice amenitieshome away from homeother guestsbring earplugszip liningcome homedry seasonbeach towelshorseback ridinggrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 267 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Before going to costa rica I read the reviews and was confident about the hotel.
The location was not good. You have to travel on a washboard dirt road to get anywhere.
Our room one outlet was broken and the drain in the shower was clogged and only one person could shower - and fast to keep it from overflowing.
At night time you cannot turn the lights on or it will attract bugs.
We were actually suppose to have stayed at the hotel for two weeks but only lasted two days since on the second night we had an infestation of hopping black bugs. Something must have hatched. We spent two hours killing bugs. We also had a frog on our bed and tiny little bugs on our bed.
They really need to re-spray the cabins.
Overall I would only recommend this place to people who can only afford a hostel.
Despite the circumstances the owner did refund us for moving places. Like I said if u are a back packer this is probably the place for you

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nellie_Nestle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanne31, Manager at El Sabanero Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

We were actually expecting this review.

The guest seemed unhappy with being here before they ever saw their room because of the condition of our roads which are not good at this time as we are in transition to rainy period.

The guest never reported that there was a problem with one of the outlets nor that there was a problem with the shower drain and without being notified we have no way of fixing things.

The client left the lights on in the room with a window open at the same time at night and of course there will be bugs flying in the window as again in transition to rainy season there are a lot more bugs around as in dry season.

Once we are notified of a problem we always act very quickly to fix the problem and in this case we also offered to give them a different cabin when we were first made aware of problems, which was when they were checking out all of a sudden.

We explain to every guest including this one that you have to practice some common sense like turning lights on at night with closed windows and doors only. In this case we get blamed despite warning them in the first place.

We are an Eco lodge and when booking here you have to be aware that nature plays a big effect on the way your stay will be. If you are not a friend of nature you would be best off to book a 5 star hotel somewhere else and not necessarily go to an ECO lodge.

We are sorry you found your stay so awful but would also like to point out that you where the ones that made it that way as other guests staying here at the very same time enjoyed their stay with us.

Regards
Susi and Harold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Harold and Suzie were amazing! Thanks for making our stay so memorable. We will be back I'm sure. This place is lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunboy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This review is over due. We stayed at El Sabanero in late February and it was the most amazing time we have ever had. This was our second trip to Costa Rica. We decided to stay here after reading all the wonderful reviews. Harold and Susie and their staff are amazing people and they make you feel like you are part of their family. The rooms we very clean and it was nice to have air conditioning on some of those hot nights.

We had breakfast every morning with fresh costa rican coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, and toast. They also had different fresh squeezed juices, my favorite was the watermelon. We had dinner there a few times and it was wonderful. My favorite was the fresh Ceviche that they made.

It was nice in the evening if we did not want to go into town we would just hang out at the lodge and enjoy all the jungle noises. Also at night we would go up to the top deck and lay and look up at the stars.

We will most definately be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chi-town2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

All of the staff were exceedingly eager to please, accommodating all of the guests' desires for transport, dining, excursions, rooms, etc. Great location nestled amidst several beautiful beaches and a slight remove from the hurly-burly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tttravelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at El Sabanero. The hotel is beautiful and peaceful. The service is amazing. Harold, Suzie and Kurt were so kind and hospitable we still talk about how genuine they were and willing to make the trip the best possible. The food was delicious, the pool is beautiful and the rooms are private which makes you feel at home. The hotel is a great location to get to many different beaches and very close to town. With the money you save on accommodations you can spend on adventure tours ! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahmeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews