We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I rarely feel the urge to write reviews, but being that this is one of the worst places I have ever stayed at, I feel compelled to tell others to stay away.

First of all, it advertises on its website that, "our surf camp in Playa Avellanas is a boutique surf hotel located 3 minutes from the beach entrance." Yes, 3 minutes by a fast driving car! Literally, this hotel is randomly located in the middle of a terrible, dusty road, and walking to the beach would be a hot, sweaty venture that would take you at least 30 minutes. False advertising, to say the least!

Second, our room was so dingy and full of ants that we were afraid to touch anything in the kitchen. The furniture was straight out of the 70's (in design and creation), and our mattress was rock hard, making it difficult for me and my husband to sleep on what was supposed to be a relaxing beach vacation!

But I haven't even gotten to the worst part, which is the deceitfulness of the ownership at this hotel. We made the two-night reservation on Booking.com, and upon reservation, we were charged the full amount for the first night ($80). By the time I went on vacation, I had completely forgotten about this charge. After a one night stay at this poor excuse for a hotel, my husband and I wanted out, so we told the hotel that we were not going to stay the second night. In what we believed to be a kind gesture at the time, the hotel offered to charge us only $100 all in (instead of $160 for the two-night stay), leading us to believe that there had been no initial charge upon reservation. We agreed. Only when I came back did I realize that the hotel charged us not only $80 for one night via Booking.com, but $100 for a second night that we didn't even stay for!
Taking advantage of tourists is despicable, and I would advise all to stay away from this deceitful place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Shaina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Showed up here for a reserved few nights in Avellanas. Not anywhere to park upon arrival, lot was full. Blocked some folks in and talked to the staff. They didn't know we were coming, despite providing them our confirmation papers via email previously. They worked to clean a room quickly to accomodate us, and were very apologetic. Had dinner in the interim, pizza which was also just meh. Big slices of deli ham on a mostly cooked crust. We were starving so not a big deal.

Room was kinda gross looking. Couch mattress was missing, being 'cleaned'. Kitchenette looked like it needed some TLC. Beds were really old and pretty uncomfortable, not to mention hot.

All of this I'd expect in Costa Rica. I don't expect the Renaissance, let alone the Holiday Inn. But the deal breaker was the walk to the beach. Others talk about a quick walk to the beach. It's not. It's 10-15min down the hot, dusty road to the beach or any other civilization, i.e. Lola's. You really want to drive rather than walk, which just feels a little sketch leaving your car with the 'car watcher'. Since I was looking to surf at least twice daily, this was a no go. Stayed for the night and then found a new place closer to la playa the next morning.

Staff were friendly, though not really able to speak much english at all, and my crappy spanish made it a little tough to get things figured out. Pictures online make it look pretty fancy and like a compound, but it's not.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dheacock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent my last vacation in this hotel and I had an excellent time. This place is excellent to relax and service amazing. Owner is super nice.
I had my first surf lesson here and I cannot wait to do it again.
Delicious Pasta and Pizza!!!
I cannot say nothing bad!!

Room Tip: They have good tours and food at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mar2681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorPola, Gerente at Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por el comentario !

Esperamos de verla pronto !

Saludos Cordiales

Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had a wonderful time. Beutiful hotel, great accomodations and excellent service. I highly recommend to stay here. It is perfect to get away from the city.

Delicious pizza and pasta, Italian Style!! Do not missed.

Room Tip: It is a great option for the area. I had a great time here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily_Kuppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorPola, Gerente at Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias !

Nos complace que disfruto mucho la estadia !

Esperamo que vuelva pronto !

Saludos Cordiales

Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We wish we could say the same nice things about this little hotel as the other reviewers, and certainly the owners are friendly, but we arrived yesterday afternoon to find the hotel restaurant/bar are in full construction, with a loud air compressor going, hammering and sawing of metal (ouch!). The owner assured us that the construction would be finished that day, so we left for the beach to avoid the noise and unpleasant atmosphere (we had planned to spend the rest of the day by the pool). Then, in the middle of the night in the room upstairs someone began moving furniture around, seriously! This morning the whole thing began again before 8 am! Workers talking loudly, air compressor, hammering, sawing. We don't even feel like making a little breakfast here as we'd planned. Instead we'll head into Tamarindo. It turns out that this place is for sleeping only, not the sort of tranquil spot advertised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorPola, Gerente at Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015
Google Translation

Hola !!

Muchas gracias por el comentario !

Lo siento mucho por los inconveniente !

Saludos

Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed three nights in June and really enjoyed the atmosphere of S.C. Mediterraneo. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, the pool and hammocks were inviting and the owner, Igor was exceptionally hospitable and went out of his way to make our stay perfect in every way. Plus, his cheese and mushroom pizza is amazing!! We definitely want to go back and stay there again. We surfed on our own at Avellanas at 6 am each morning and had a blast. (Well, my husband surfed and I "surfed." I am going to get a bigger board and take lessons next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorPola, Gerente at Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you Lisa for the great review !

We hope see you soon !

Regards

Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had an incredible time here! I have no complaints at all. Great location, friendly & helpful people, good food, good price, great surfing lessons.

I would strongly recommend Surf Camp Mediterraneo to anyone!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorPola, Gerente at Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por el comentario !

Esperamos verlos prontos !

Saludos

Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Avellanas
4.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,621 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
581 reviews
8 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tamarindo Village Hotel
Tamarindo Village Hotel
#17 of 24 in Tamarindo
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mauna Loa
Hotel Mauna Loa
#2 of 6 in Playa Avellanas
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avellana ChanteMar
Avellana ChanteMar
#5 of 6 in Playa Avellanas
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo

Address: Playa Avellanas, Guanacaste | Tamarindo, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Mediterraneo)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Avellanas
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel in Costa Rica, with an amazing italian restaurant! Come to relax by our pool, hammock or by the beach!We have also Surf Lessons and Tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Surf Camp Mediterraneo Costa Rica/Playa Avellanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing