We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view along with great food & drinks”
Review of Lola's

Lola's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Long loved by locals, the secret is out on Lola's fantastic staff serving top-notch organic fare in a beautiful open-air beachfront setting. Gorgeous homemade wooden tables and chairs are set at water's edge under the shade of palm trees and umbrellas. Fresh seared tuna, big healthy salads, Dutch fries, pizzas and all new tacos are the favorites, alongside fruit smoothies, delicious sandwiches and fish & chips! Banana bread, coffee & smoothies starting at 8 a.M. Full menu from 11 a.M. To 5 p.M. Bar open to sunset. Closed Mondays. Cash, Visa & MasterCard.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing view along with great food & drinks”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Been going to Lola's since Lola was still wandering on the beach. Tables beachside with the best view of Avellanas beach is incredible especially for sunset drinks & food. Very active beach bar & restaurant especially on the weekends. Food is excellent. Fresh ceviche, chic nachos, pizza and all drinks & smoothies are fresh. Shaded tables for those that prefer not to bake in the sun. Don't miss if you are in the area. There is a guard (Local Danny or his Dad) at the parking lot at all times. Give them a couple bucks (not required) & all your car & goods in it are safe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbaker1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    356
    98
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome scene”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Everything about Lola's was great and fit perfectly into our relaxing beach vacation! Food was great, especially for a beach cafe - nothing exotic or over the top, but the food was fresh, portions were huge, and the drinks were on point. Our group enjoyed the fish tacos and the ahi tuna salad and everyone was thoroughly pleased.
The atmosphere is really what puts this place at the 5-star rating for me - great smiling service, reggae music at a peaceful volume, beautiful tree-lined beach scenery, and the ocean breeze. A wide beach with soft sand (hot! but soft) perfect for putting out a beach chair and relaxing by the ocean all day or swimming and surfing.
I would recommend this to anyone and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beach, beer and sun!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hang out at the best swimming beach in this section of western Costa Rica with semi-shaded picnic style tables. We stayed through multiple beers, multiple appetizers (yeah, not so good ceviche here) and finished off with excellent garlic and vege pizzas. A great day at the beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lola's was Good”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We loved Lola's! We walked there from the Marriott for lunch and had a great experience. We took pictures of Lolita, the sow the restaurant was named after. My husband had a grilled tuna sandwich on the perfect ciabatta roll and I enjoyed fish tacos.

We drove a long way to go back one night for dinner but forgot they closed at sunset :-( so that lead us to another local restaurant which I also reviewed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beware of the parking lot”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lola's was great, food was good, view amazing. Just went today.

We returned to the hotel, opened the trunk to get our belongings out and most of them were gone. About 1000.00 usd worth of stuff all said and done. Hard for that not to leave a bitter taste in your mouth. We quickly discovered all these public parking lots at public beaches are basically "illegaly" run by random men in reflective vests waiting to pounce on tourists in rental cars....if you do not give them a tip-6-10 usd be prepared to be robbed, or have the car destroyed.

That was, unfortunately, what I will remember from Lola's.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Chick617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing