We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lola's

Lola's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, International, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Long loved by locals, the secret is out on Lola's fantastic staff serving top-notch organic fare in a beautiful open-air beachfront setting. Gorgeous homemade wooden tables and chairs are set at water's edge under the shade of palm trees and umbrellas. Fresh seared tuna, big healthy salads, Dutch fries, pizzas and all new tacos are the favorites, alongside fruit smoothies, delicious sandwiches and fish & chips! Banana bread, coffee & smoothies starting at 8 a.M. Full menu from 11 a.M. To 5 p.M. Bar open to sunset. Closed Mondays. Cash, Visa & MasterCard.
Manchester, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a nice lunch at Lola's while we watched a howler monkey family swing passing through. The food was good, and the seating was comfortably arranged in the shade with a lovely view of the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank anason75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,079
    338
    95
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you're in the area, MUST visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a delicious lunch at Lola's, thanks to recommendations from other Trip Advisor reviewers. The 20-minute walk from Hacienda Pinilla was a great way to build up our appetite and both the service and the dishes did not disappoint. It is a lovely retreat, and we lingered in the hammocks long after we completed our meal. Kids loved the smoothies and the salad with grilled fish was generous in its portion size. Even the veggie burger was tasty! This was a most memorable visit and we would encourage anyone in the area to have a meal at Lola's, The fat pig in the pen was a fun site to behold for the five kids travelling with us.

The prices seemed a little pricey at first, but based on the portion sizes, they then seemed more reasonable. Lola's accepts credit cards, which was a HUGE relief as previous reviews said cash only. Despite its rustic locale, the restaurant uses iPods and iPads for orders and bill processing. Cool!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justkaijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“PIzza on the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service on the beach was good.The prices are a little high.Just beware the prices on the menu are not what you pay. There is a 13% sales tax and a 10% service fee. Most places do not provide change.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmileyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was staying in Tamarindo. Lola's is a bit off the beaten path but totally worth the effort! My family and I really enjoyed Lola's! Food was wonderful! Try the fish and chips. I was really impressed with the service. It is located in one of the most amazing beaches in Costa Rica and has a million dollar view! Come out for lunch and relax by the beach for the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMtraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All around Winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Top to bottom, Lola's was a real treat! The location is fantastic right on Playa Avellanas beach. The custom made furniture was beautiful. They put a lot of effort into balancing the restaurant atmosphere with the natural beach elements. We experienced a 5.2 earthquake here! You can easily spend the day here at the beach eating more than one meal at Lola's. The menu was diverse and the quality of the food was great. Fish tacos are very good. One down side, no beef burger only veggie. But in their defense my son did eat 2 of them. Get a fresh fruit smoothie, they're tasty! Staff was friendly, owner on hand to meet & greet. Get a pic with Lola, the pig. Note: closed for dinner and on Mondays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Live-n-theMoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing