We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just when you think you're lost, there is Lola's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's

Lola's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, International, Central American, Pacific Rim, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Long loved by locals, the secret is out on Lola's fantastic staff serving top-notch organic fare in a beautiful open-air beachfront setting. Gorgeous homemade wooden tables and chairs are set at water's edge under the shade of palm trees and umbrellas. Fresh seared tuna, big healthy salads, Dutch fries, pizzas and all new tacos are the favorites, alongside fruit smoothies, delicious sandwiches and fish & chips! Banana bread, coffee & smoothies starting at 8 a.M. Full menu from 11 a.M. To 5 p.M. Bar open to sunset. Closed Mondays. Cash, Visa & MasterCard.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just when you think you're lost, there is Lola's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the B&B owners in Tamarindo. We had no idea of how well known it is, and didn't realize that Lola is actually a giant pig that lives on the grounds of the restaurant. We got directions and took off looking for this place. Got lost once, but finally got back on track. It is completely out of the way but when you get there, the place is buzzing with people. It is on a beautiful beach. The setting is very unique with a casual atmosphere. They have nice wooden tables and big, slanted wooden chairs nestled in the sand with palm frod umbrellas to keep you cool. We settled in with just our bathing suits on. The waiter came over right away and got us some drinks. Good service, good drinks, and very good food. Prices were average. We both had the fish and chips and would definitely recommend them. It is a long way to go just to have lunch, but we were not disappointed. If you don't mind the drive, you should check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    264
    75
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We rode Mountain bikes from the JW Marriott Guanacaste over to this restaurant because it had been highly rated by some people we met over in Rincon de la Vieja N.P. By the local roads, it was a miserable ride (dusty, "washboard" surface). This restaurant was WELL WORTH the ride, however.

Our server was attentive and the food was great. Sitting practically on the beach, eating and drinking, was amazing. If you get the chance, give it a shot.

We rode the Mountain bikes back along the beach until we got to a rocky area. Beach ride was gorgeous and also quicker.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CW2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Great service. Great Location. About 45 min - 1 hr walk on beach from JW Marriot Resort. GREAT PLACE!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stopped by a number of times for a lunch then stayed to watch the surfers and the sunset. Wonderful friendly staff in a gorgeous spot

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mif31258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Met my expectations after reading reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Playa Avellanas is a great place (my review for this beach is on a separate note), but then, when you have to wash out the sand and look for a refuge from the midday sun, there is no better place than Lola's. Most of their tables are located on the sand, and the reclined chairs (on a perfect position to rest and enjoy the place) invite to let the time flow away and let go everything. I did just that for a while, and then hunger took over. So, we ordered the Asian Salad, a Chicken stuffed Pita and some Fish and Chips. All three of them were good, a little pricey, but then you get what you ordered in one of the best beach restaurants in the area. So, if you happen to be at Avellanas, don't miss the chance to let the time go in a relaxing place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gjtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing