We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite beach/bar in Costa Rica”
Review of Lola's

Lola's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Long loved by locals, the secret is out on Lola's fantastic staff serving top-notch organic fare in a beautiful open-air beachfront setting. Gorgeous homemade wooden tables and chairs are set at water's edge under the shade of palm trees and umbrellas. Fresh seared tuna, big healthy salads, Dutch fries, pizzas and all new tacos are the favorites, alongside fruit smoothies, delicious sandwiches and fish & chips! Banana bread, coffee & smoothies starting at 8 a.M. Full menu from 11 a.M. To 5 p.M. Bar open to sunset. Closed Mondays. Cash, Visa & MasterCard.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We have been going to Lola's for several years on our trips to Costa Rica, it is a 40 min drive from our place in Potrero-but worth it every time. One the best surfing/boarding beaches in the country, capped by Lola's.
Excellent, fresh and vibrant food (on tuesdays we buy fish from the fish vendor to take back to our home), excellent smoothies and a full bar nestled on the sand with tables and chairs custom designed by the owner make for an unforgettable day complimented by the attentive staff.
The owners, Don and Christi are great people and are frequently in the area enjoying the location as much as the open-mouthed first-timers. At one time or another we have had everything on the menu, nothing has disappointed, but Poki, fish and chips , and chicken satay are perennial favorites.
They now take credit cards, this is the only beach in CR where we leave anything on the table and do not worry about it as we swim/surf/boogie or just walk about a mile down the beach and go to the Pinilla (JW Marriott) for a dip in the pool and a drink.
The wait staff are mostly English speaking and are great to get to know; Christian and Alex are the leaders of the team; and Rosa-the chef is phenomenal.
You will see a 6?7?hundred pound pig wandering around, that is Lola's successor, Lolita who has rapidly outgrown the "ita" part.
Spend the day relaxing, there is Internet if you must, and you will have one of the most peaceful days of your life.
They also have a new "Lola's Del Norte" just north of Potrero on the beach at Danta.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,498 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

We drove to Lola's while staying at the Marriott last Saturday. We had heard rave reviews and were looking forward to excellent food. The first thing we noticed was 20 to 25 locals (mostly 20 somethings) sitting on the far end of the restaurant. After pizza and fries, that were good, we walked up the beach and returned to find the window to our rental car broken all likely because I left my hat on the front seat. We were parked just feet from Lola's. Total pain in the neck and left us with a bad taste in our mouth. Beware of the punk thieves particularly on the weekend.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Susan47usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

First, we would like to extend our sympathy and apology for the broken window. We are so happy that you enjoyed the restaurant and the beach, and a broken window should not be part of that experience. From your review, it seems that a hat may be missing, but it's not quite clear if anything was taken. Had we been told anything about it, we would have certainly called the police and performed our own investigation into the incident. I was on the property that day along with my husband, our manager and 16 other staff. No theft or break-in was reported to anyone, including the attending parking lot guard. We have asked everyone working that day, as well as several other customers and friends on the beach, and there has been no corroborative statement or evidence of any such occurrence. With that said, there are thieves all over the world, and Costa Rica is no exception. We don't deny that it happened but simply wish it had been brought to our attention so we could have helped!

As to the language you chose to report this incident in your review, we feel it is inappropriate, and we need to defend those who have been unfairly accused of being "punk thieves." There are a lot of local surfers who have been enjoying Playa Avellana for generations. All of our waiters also surf and are so proud to call Playa Avellana home and Lola's their place of employment. The "mostly 20 something... locals" are young, enthusiastic, kind and respectful, enjoying their weekends with their friends and families on a public beach.

Why come to a beautiful country like Costa Rica and then accuse its lovely citizens without any proof? To any young Costa Rican, a statement such as yours without substantiation is offensive, ageist, racist, discriminatory and inflammatory, slandering an entire generation of Costa Ricans that we have found to be kind, generous and honest people that we are proud to work and live with for 15 years.

We've never heard of anyone breaking a car window in a crowded, busy parking lot, just feet from an even more crowded restaurant, to steal a hat. We hope the broken window was an accident (maybe a delivery truck, another vehicle or a surf board accidentally smashed it) and hope that you had misplaced it and found it by now. We also hope you will reconsider your opinion of the locals who were here, like you, to enjoy the day. Lastly, we hope you will return to Lola's so we can meet you personally to extend our apologies and show you that life in Playa Avellana is truly paradise.

Best wishes,
Christi
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Perfect location and great food. We went back a few times and tried most of the menu. The kind of place you could spend all afternoon at. Paradise....

Date of visit: March 2012
Thank dhennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We now live within walking distance of Lola's When we first arrived, our server Alex, was warm, friendly and more than helpful. The food is splendid, the beach is fantastic, and Lolita was....well....SLEEPING.......LOL

Alex has become our new friend and has helped us very much here at home!

If you want to know what a little bit of heaven is like, you need to come to Lola's We're heading there right now!

Pura Vida!

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Sit by the the beach under palm trees and listen to the sounds of the jungle and ocean at the same time. Food is very good and the beers are ice cold. Great people watching and close to many surf breaks. Anyone who stays in Tamarindo should make it to Lola's. Sit in hand made chairs and enjoy the sights and sounds. Staff is attentive and friendly. It is not cheap but it is worth it.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjdalydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing