We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Nice and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galeana Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed as a couple in a standard studio with breakfast only. Rooms are basic, clean and spacious with a small kitchenette and enough cutlery. Thin uncomfy pillows in some rooms. We did not use AC (6 Euro per day). Breakfast is all the same, all the days: boiled eggs, youghurt, jam, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese (so you can make yourself a Greek salad), biscuits, butter, watery juice and coffee. Rooms 11-18 (building closer to the reception) are worse than the others and the reception staff is reluctant to change if asked (getting hot in the afternoon sun so had to keep shutters always closed and not possible to use the tiny terrace at the entrance). We did change #15 to #56 and it was much nicer with shady patio. Be aware that the reception is only available 9-15 and 18-21. Safety box is available at the reception, we paid 15 Euro for 10 days. Beach was 2 minutes away, it was fine, sunshade and 2 beds at 6 Euro, couple of trees with natural shade if you do not want to pay for the official sunshade. The entrance to the sea often has pebbles and a bit deep for kids. September was windy and rather large waves too. There are two pools and a small playground for kids, but we did not use them. Bus stop 5 minutes away, Platanes is a nice quiet place with rent-a-cars, supermarkets, souvenir shops and tavernas.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms #11-18, they get very hot in the afternoon sun, so always gloomy with the shutters close...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polynesian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Galeana Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in a 4 bed apartment at the end of August 2013, 2 adults & 2 young teenage children. The apartment was quite spacious, although the patio area was rather small and the table was tiny - suitable for a couple, but not a family.

The accommodation is very basic with minimal cooking facilities, however this isn't really an issue as eating out is so cheap and there is a huge choice of very good tavernas within minutes of the hotel.

The room was cleaned & the bins emptied every day and a couple of minor issues, (like blown lightbulbs), were sorted almost immediately. A duspan & brush would have been a welcome addition for the inevitable sand & breadcrumbs!

Air conditioning was included, but wasn't very effective. A decent fan would have been just as good.

There was always plenty of hot water for the shower.

The beds are rather hard which, coupled with the heat, did not make for restful nights.

We did not use the on-site restaurant which was closed during the daytime.

The pools were fine - clean and mostly very quiet. It is right on the beach, so it is easy to alternate between the two.

There was no noise to speak of at night apart from the odd lorry in the morning & a local cockerel that we could have cheerfully strangled!

If you are hiring a car, be warned that parking is extremely limited in front of the hotel and it is very hard & stressful to find a place on the road in Platanias.

Overall, we would certainly recommend this hotel if you are travelling on a budget and just want a good, clean, basic place to stay.

Have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The studio we have was nice and we had enough space&terras.Only the furniture could be a bit more up to date!The swimming pools(2)are nice&clean and the beach is only 2min walking from your studio! The busstop is 5min away to Rethymnon and takes +-10 min! Its a nice place the Galeana,no noice at night!
They are very friendly at the reception.Only the breakfast was very poor (crisis or not? ).They should put some fruit,biscuits,more kinds of bread.....
Try it out !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campailla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ground floor better very quiet. AC was free in our package! Bar was never open this was a bit of a dissappointment. Every time we went in the pool all 4 of us has a reaction either to our skin or eyes so we mainly went on the beach. Receptionist was nice and helpful just wasn't open all hours. Clean rooms everyday by maids. Always hot water available. Overall was great. At the time we were the only english people there it wasn't a problem though just people might feel left out if you're travelling in a small family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This review is for the apartments only. I think the hotel is a short distance further towards Heraklion.

In this budget range we were very pleased with these apartments. We booked self-catering but it was a little bonus to find out that the buffet breakfast was included anyway. The breakfast wasn't top cuisine but we had no reason to complain. It was of a decent enough standard if you want a basic breakfast to start your day.

The apartments too, were basic but clean and comfortable enough. Again, a little bonus was that the air-con was included. They maybe minor points but for those of us on tight budgets, breakfast and air-con included makes a decent saving on your 2 weeks away.

Although the breakfast was adequate, the lunch was poor. We tried it on the first day but there are more than enough places to eat within a short walking distance. The apartments are located within a very easy walking distance of your usual mini supermarkets, bars and restaurants (there's even a Lidl within walking distance if you don't want to pay the local mini-mart prices).

There are 2 pools, not particularly big but they were never crowded and there was never a rush to get a sunbed. It's a short short walk to the beach; we're not beach dwellers but the loungers all seemed to be taken so you may need to get there early-ish.

A bus runs to the nearest local town, Rethymnon, but we waited for 2 to pass and both were full. We eventually ended up getting a taxi which worked out to 8 Euros each way (apparently roughly the same as if we'd paid for the bus).

If you're using the apartments for accommodation and chilling only, they're basic but fine. In fact for their price they're very good.

Room Tip: Not sure if one apartment's better than another. We were in the second block from the reception...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DJTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We look this to be cheap and well recommended, and prebooked a week for a family of 4 in a 3 room apt.
Positive:
.Beautiful buildings and good karma in general
.Peaceful and quiet place
.Short distance to Rethymno
Negative:
.Breakfast appalling with bad products like canned meat and very watery juice
.Cleaning service not thorough, and no broom to do the necessary yourself.

Personnel could daily have been friendly but were just indifferent.

If you are looking for a cheap place with just a pool, this is beautiful and calm.

We, however, will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristian_aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed in Galeana Beach Apartments in Sep 2009 ten days (booked via travel agency), this is a web-site: http://www.galeanahotel.com/galeana-beach.html
It's well situated, on the 1st row from the beach with a direct entrance to the sea
Beach is fine, but bear in mind it's still public as all beaches in Greece (Crete)
There're 2 storeys houses in greek style (white and blue) with own entrance to 1-2-3 rooms apartments with a small kitchen eqiupped by all necessary stuff
Ask rooms / house in the middle or closer to the swimming pool / food court, might be noisy from the street in evenings
Breakfasts are OK, but don't expect anth special
We never had a dinner or lunch there, wouldn't recommend although (it didn't look it's their best thing)
Same time our friends with 3 children stayed in this hotel so they found a hotel extremely convenient for families with children, so consider that too
Easy to get to Rethimnon, buses to the city are frequent (don't rely on reception schedule.. they had wrong one, check online or at bus station in Rethimnon if you plan a few visits to the city), taxi costs no more than 10 EUR
I noticed mainly Germans, Russians, Brits stay in a hotel, nothing disturbing, all are families, almost all with children
Small cats might "sing songs" during the night (there's a few of them on a territory, nice and funny creatures)
Be careful with a road nearby and crossing the village: pedestrians walkside is very narrow or nothing, transport are fast, so just be careful

In Rethimnon I'd recommend fantastic restaurant: Castelvecchio (see tripadvisor)
And if you travel to Santorini, I can recommend: Zorzis Hotel (see tripadvisor)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#14 of 21 in Platanias
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 21 in Platanias
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#15 of 21 in Platanias
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galeana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeana Beach Hotel

Address: 196 Machis Kritis, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#8 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $43 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Galeana Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galeana Beach Hotel is an apartment complex located directly on the sandy beach in the village Platanias, 5km east of the town Rethymnon. The captivating island-style bungalows are kept in blue and white and create a relaxed atmosphere surrounded by lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Galeana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing