We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...”
Review of Creta Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creta Residence
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Platanias
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, but...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel was a bit hard to find as we arrived late at night and they lock it up completely at night and there are no signs giving you information about what to do "after hours." We knocked to no avail, thought there might be another entrance, drove around the block, and were finally received at the front door on the second attempt - perhaps the staff person had just dozed off and was slow to awaken. The English speaking skills of the staff are limited, and only some of them are friendly. They seem more geared towards their ample Russian visitors and this made things a little hard at times, but not impossible. Our first room, and much of the hallway, smelled horribly of smoke. Thankfully the kindly owner moved us to another room the next night. I dread to think what a miserable week we would have had if we did not catch this break. The food was not so good unfortunately- wished we had not paid for the all-inclusive. We did so based on other glowing reviews we saw here. You'd be much better off walking into town each day where many restaurants serve much better, and affordable food if you are willing to eat omlettes or gyros for example. You can always spend more for more exciting meals and we did that too at times! For example, the hotel offers an orange colored drink at breakfast time, not real orange juice which is plentiful in Creta. They also offer the cheapest (flavorless) bread they can get from the bakery up the street (on the main street) which is also a better breakfast alternative with its fresh bread and juice by the way. The other foods at the hotel are the same day after day, and they do not even put out something as basic as cut tomatoes and cucumber which also seems like an affordable, and minimally decent option to offer guests for breakfast. I can't imagine why they don't bother with this at all. The dinner was often bland and unappealing. I honestly can't believe anyone raved here about these meals. Until and unless they make improvements, I strongly urge you not to misspend your money on the food here and just go to the restaurants nearby - it is only a 2-3 minute walk to an area with much better food. As to the nearby beach, it is just beautiful and relatively uncrowded. As you walk out of the residence and head to the beach you can pay to sit in chairs on the left side or the right side, we always choose the left side. They include an offer to swim in another neighboring hotel's pool, discounts on food, etc. that make you feel like you are getting a little extra for your 2.50 euro per person should you want it. One plus about the rooms is that you get a mini fridge in them, on the other hand unless the magnetized key is inside the room there is no power to the room. Nevertheless you can keep plenty of cold water or other treats on hand. We would consider staying here again, but only for the convenient location, and only if we could be assured we weren't stuck in a small, smoky room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    13
    13
    19
See reviews for
37
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

amazing beach and only a few meters inf front of you... clean and quiet hotel very close to the beach. You wake up in the morning you have your breakfast next to the pool and then you walk to the beach in front of the hotel. An amazing long sandy beach just in front of the hotel. My children loved the pool and the beach ofcourse, and me and my husband had a really relaxing week. The food was very tasty aldo I loved the buffet. The city of Rethimnon is not far but not in a walking distance ofcourse , you definitely have to use car or bus. Like!

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giorgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The amazing thing of this hotel is that has a distance from the sea about 50m. The comparison between price and service is excellent. Best Value for money in other words. Food is good and the distance from rethymnon city is 4km by bus.

Room Tip: 50 meters from the sandy beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This well located hotel (close to the beach ca. 30 meters and close to Rethymnon ca 5 km) is peaceful and quiet. Hotels and restaurants close to it provide a variety of activities but not as much as would be disturbing. Pool area is small but it wasn't crowded during our stay, the other guests probably hung out on the nearby beach.

Rooms aren't big but they're clean, have a tv (only one channel in english, though), A/C and a small fridge. Beds are on the hard side. The rooms have balconies but only the ones facing the pool have sea view. Rooms on the 1st floor facing the garden get a nice glimpse of the sea (rooms facing the road haven't got the best view).

Breakfast is included and it was ok (bread, coffee, juice, cheese, ham, eggs, youghurt).

During our stay most of the guests seemed to be Russian. Only some of the staff speak english. Vassilis speaks english and is very friendly and helpful.

We appreciated the possibility to have an early breakfast on the day of our departure.

For an independent traveller this peaceful hotel provides good accomodation and great location for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilmikissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

i enjoyed staying in a clean and nice hotel room , with a nice balcony, so close to this Amazing SAndy Beach (!!!!) and ofcourse in a very good price. The Location is just perfect , next to Platanias Beach and not far from the city of Rethimnon. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Dinner and Breakfast was just perfect, the staff was friendly...it is "a value for money" because for me is MORE than you can get for this price! I would definitely suggest it .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Poly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

the hotel was clean , the rooms comfortable, service was good, the pool was clean, the restaurant had really nice food! but the BESTpart was the big sandy BEACH IN FRONT of the hotel...i enjoyed my eveniings next to the pool drinking ouzo... Rehtimnon City is not far to visit.
Very Relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thanos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I travelled there last summer...i had one week...the sandy BEACH IN FRONT of the hotel is Amazing, we had wonderful time there with my husband and children ...the hotel very clean...very nice food...nicely furnished rooms..very close to Rethimno city a beautiful city with interesting nightlife also...many options for me and my family...Relaxing and ofcourse in a VERY GOOD PRICE!

Room Tip: room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platanias hotels
1.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#10 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#5 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minos Mare Royal
Minos Mare Royal
#7 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Residence

Property: Creta Residence
Address: Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Creta Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Creta Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Residence Hotel Platanias
Creta Residence Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing