We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel,location,staff”
Review of Hotel Axos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Axos
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very friendly staff, all of them. If you know Greek standards then this place is very high for the price. Good location for beach, shops and restaurants. Plenty of clean towels and regular cleaning of rooms. Pool small but nice and never overcrowded. Good atmosphere in bar, but the main thing is you are made to feel welcome by everyone. would recommend. Free air con too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 409 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice hotel, good vocation. The staff were very welcoming. The bar was not the cheapest but had the best atmosphere. Very nice cocktails, just make sure you make the best of the happy hour (hotel guests only).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our third stay, and we have the same opinion as previous years. Axos hotel is an outstanding place to live. We love the hotel and we love the Axos family, their hospitality, kindness, always a word on the way. They make us feel at home. Always a clean apartment, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, not many steps to the beach, close to several restaurants in Platanias with good food, Rethymno within reach only 2 minutes to the bus stop. Next time we return to Crete we will stay at Axos Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annelie0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our first time in Crete and would definately go back. Small, extremely friendly family run hotel who are very well respected throughout the Village. Rooms are spacious, cleaned everyday apart from Sunday (well desserved rest) Lovely comfortable bed and free air conditioning. Hotel bar gets nice and busy in the evenings. Weather extremely hot at end of June! Sea lovely and warm. Nice beach 5 mins walk, bus service cheap @1.20euros each to Rethymno. Purchase ticket before travelling as some buses do not take cash.Lovely restaurants include Yannis, Vergina (Rooftop Restaurant & Marem (Opposite hotel). Def worth a visit to Kournas Lake and the fishing village of Georgioupolis, beautiful! Well done Axos hotel for making our holiday complete!

Room Tip: Pool View for less noise of main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently returned from our second visit to the Axos. Last year 10 days just wasnt enough so this year we went for 2 weeks. 2 blissfully perfect weeks. As soon as we arrived it was like we'd never been away.The Axos family remembered us from last year and we were welcomed once again. We were shown to our room which was ground floor pool view. Perfect. Just as I remembered. Spacious, well equipped and spotless. The level of service they provide is second to none. The hotel was fully booked but there was still plenty of room by the pool and in the bar of an evening. The Axos bar was by far the busiest all of the time, and the place was packed when the band played! It was certainly the place to be! The resort is just as we remembered too. Skypark still does excellent Gyros, the Voyager car rental do good deals and offer the use of a sat nav and the beach is 2 minutes away. It really is all you could ask for. I cannot recommend this hotel enough! The weather was fantastic the whole time. We stayed 17th May for 2 weeks. I cannot put into words how much we lovel this place and the people that work so hard to make it outstanding. Its more than just a holiday. Its like staying with friends. Sofia makes the best iced coffee, Yiannis with his cocktails and Manos is a fabulous host.We hired a car for a few days and went sightseeing. Plakis is worth a visit and although its quite a long journey, Elafonisi is breathtaking. The beautiful girls on reception were full of suggestions and showed us on the map the placed the suggested. They all work really hard to go the extra mile and it shows. There genuinely is nothing we would change. We hope to go back next September and I'm sure we'll be returning for many years to come. Amazing!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We rested in June. The hotel AXOS we chose reviews on the website TopHotel. On the day of arrival Greece, met us with the bright sun,blue skies and friendly Greeks. The hotel exceeded our expectations, there has everything you need for a good rest : big room with kitchen, nice swimming pool ,bar, shop. We went for Breakfast - liked yogurt,pastries, cheeses and jams. A small selection of fruits. Lunch and dinner prepared in room. Own hotel 2 brothers, Jiannis and Manos, very friendly,open-minded and friendly people.They help the two girls are very hospitable.In the evenings took place various musical performances.The hotel is located in a quiet place Platanias.The beach is 5 minutes walk from the hotel ,entrance to the sea of pebbles. Just take the free bus to the sandy beach with sun loungers. The bus Rethymno for 10-15 minutes, a very beautiful city with many shops, taverns and active nightlife. In the next vacation in Crete we choose hotel AXOS.We recommend to all/

Room Tip: •"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise" •"Rooms on the south side are quieter&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natulechka2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a week's stay at Axos following a last minute booking. Platanias is a lovely little resort, some nice shops selling handmade jewellery and organic toiletries plus the usual supermarkets (and a Lidl!) Good beach 5 minutes walk away (try Yiannis beach bar - very hospitable man and tasty, very reasonably priced food. While we were there the water was quite rough so no good if you want to go in the water but don't like waves much! Hotel pool very nice if you want a swim and usually quiet though plenty of sunloungers (no bagging a place with a towel) Rooms were good and clean and the beds were sooooo comfy. Had everything you need for self catering although we ate out most of the time and never had a bad meal (microwave, toaster, toastie maker etc.....) Rethymnon is easily accessible by bus (buy your tickets first in most shops) or walking takes about an hour. Nicest walk is if you walk downhill at crossroads past camping sign as this takes you along prom at Rethymnon - lots of people watching possible! Hotel owners are friendly and really helpful. Highly recommended all round.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpoolheathert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
1.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#48 of 175 in Rethymnon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#14 of 21 in Platanias
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
3.3 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axos

Address: Machis Kritis 167, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#1 Best Value Hotel in Platanias
#4 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $29 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Axos 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axos is a cozy and pleasant apartment hotel, in a beautiful location and with a great variety of services. Highly recommended as an alternative for those who want to explore majestic Rethymno and its surroundings but don't want to be confined within the city. Its name comes from the village ‘AXOS’ where the family that runs the hotel comes from, works since 1989 and been fully renovated in 2009. It is built in an L shape that encloses the pool and garden. There is also a gift/gold shop near the entrance where guests can benefit from an exclusive discount on every purchase. Axos is located in Platanias which is the most well known seaside village for the holidaymakers with restaurants, supermarkets, bars, stores with clothes or souvenirs and with a very good bus and taxi transport. To its guests it offers free Internet WI-FI at the public areas (lobby, pool, bar) (Wi-Fi) or they can use the PC provided in the lobby are and its target is the friendly atmosphere since it is a Family Run hotel. Last but not least, Axos is very pleased and proud to announce that the National Jury of programs ''GREEN KEY'' decided to reward ''Axos'' hotel, after having evaluated their application for participating in this ecological label for tourist units. So now Axos is officially a ''GREEN KEY'' hotel.''Axos hotel offers 44 Studios and Apartments that recently have been renovated (2009). Modern furnishing, spacious rooms and big balconies suitable decorated in a pleasant atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with central heating, self controlled air-condition, balcony, satellite Flat Screen TV, direct telephone line, radio, cooker with 2 rings, microwave, kitchen kettle, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, wake up service, hair dryer, bath tabs and very relaxing bed mattresses with ISO certifications for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Axos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axos Hotel Rethymnon
Hotel Axos Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing