We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Axos in Platanes, Rethymno”
Review of Hotel Axos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Axos
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The real delight of our trip to Crete was the Hotel Axos in Platanes, Rethymno. It is a family run Hotel and justifiably popular. The hotel was full but never seemed overcrowded. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the family & staff. We had an apartment with everything needed including a microwave. The pool was great and the whole place very clean. Breakfast cost 5 euro and was good and great value when we tried it. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Axos and would definitely return. It is also a lively and friendly bar in the evening to which the discerning gravitate.
Platanas may be 6km from the delightful Rethymno but there is plenty going on there - good food, supermarkets, beach (5 min. walk) and only a short easy hop to Rethymno by car or regular bus. We hired a car from the airport for the week for c £160, a similar price as a return taxi to Rethymno from the airport. Be aware that petrol is c 1.90+ euros a litre!

The Marem restaurant opposite the Axos is a place we returned to a number of times for good food and service.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pbeasleyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I were booked to stay at Axos for one week in August this year. We arrived and were told by Manos (the manager) that they were over booked so we were moved to a hotel just up the road for two nights. Not a problem at all as it was so nearby. The five nights we spent at Axos were great. The staff are so friendly, any questions you have just ask whoever is sat at the desk and they will do whatever they can to help you.You can get a nice cocktail at the Axos bar out the front of the hotel. We went to local restaurants most evenings and tried a variety of dishes. We also visited Knossos, Heralkion, Spinalonga, Agios Nikolas and Rethymno Old Town all of which are beautiful places. You can book trips with companies on the main street. The beach is really close by, we paid 5 Euro for two loungers and a parasol for the day which is well worth the money as it was good to have some shade as it was so hot! This was our first visit to Crete but we will definitely return, and we will stay at Axos again. Thanks to Manos and all the staff at Axos.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopylou157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I will not bother to list again all the previously mentioned positives about staying in this cool, stylish, modern hotel in Platanias close to the magical small Venetian city of Rethymon.
What I do want to mention is the fact that Manos and his wonderful family ( despite being incredibly busy ensuring that all their clients are experiencing a brilliant holiday) took the time to send on my clothes all the way from Crete to Glasgow after I stupidly left them in my room.
Great hotel ! Great family ! Great Holiday !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Axos a few times, and every time I have had a great stay. Facilities are great and close to the beach. But if you are not a beach person, such as myself, the pool area is very pleasant and great for keeping an eye on the kids in the pool.

Hotel was very clean and rooms spacious. Staff always friendly and ready to assist with whatever questions you have.

Will certainly return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel. The atmospere was very nice and the facilities very good. Nice and overwhelming breakfast. Very good standard of the appartment and the service in general. The personel really wanted to guide us to the good experiences of Crete. The position of the hotel is perfect, close to the sea, you have a lot of facilities in Platanes and still the bus near by the hotel to go to Rethymno.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Crete a second time.

Room Tip: Rooms out to the pool is good as you can stay out of the sun in the afternoons and the evenings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Clean and comfortable rooms, with good functioning air condition. We was a family with two youth, late teenagers, and we choose to have two separate rooms – a good choice at nearly the same price as a family room. The pool was nice but small, this goes for the area for sunbathing as well, lucky for us there were not many people there so it worked this time. Some of the area was in the shadow in the evening and in the morning. The Beach located very near was nice and not overcrowded even if we was visiting Crete in July. The staff was very nice, helpful and qualified. The Hotel is situated in a street with small shops and several good restaurants and other Hotels. A nice, quite Hotel.

Room Tip: We would recomed rooms on the pool side and ground floor is no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This review is going to be short as I can say what I need to say in a few words.
Everything about this hotel is great.
Great rooms, pool, food, bar, location, and a lovely family running things.
Lots of lovely tavernas close by, and a short bus ride into Rethymno, where you'll find lots of wonderful places to eat, drink and shop.
Just go there you'll love it.

Room Tip: First floor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
1.4 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#29 of 175 in Rethymnon
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Batis Rethymno
Hotel Batis Rethymno
#44 of 175 in Rethymnon
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 21 in Platanias
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
3.3 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#15 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axos

Address: Machis Kritis 167, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#1 Best Value Hotel in Platanias
#3 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $32 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Axos 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axos is a cozy and pleasant apartment hotel, in a beautiful location and with a great variety of services. Highly recommended as an alternative for those who want to explore majestic Rethymno and its surroundings but don't want to be confined within the city. Its name comes from the village ‘AXOS’ where the family that runs the hotel comes from, works since 1989 and been fully renovated in 2009. It is built in an L shape that encloses the pool and garden. There is also a gift/gold shop near the entrance where guests can benefit from an exclusive discount on every purchase. Axos is located in Platanias which is the most well known seaside village for the holidaymakers with restaurants, supermarkets, bars, stores with clothes or souvenirs and with a very good bus and taxi transport. To its guests it offers free Internet WI-FI at the public areas (lobby, pool, bar) (Wi-Fi) or they can use the PC provided in the lobby are and its target is the friendly atmosphere since it is a Family Run hotel. Last but not least, Axos is very pleased and proud to announce that the National Jury of programs ''GREEN KEY'' decided to reward ''Axos'' hotel, after having evaluated their application for participating in this ecological label for tourist units. So now Axos is officially a ''GREEN KEY'' hotel.''Axos hotel offers 44 Studios and Apartments that recently have been renovated (2009). Modern furnishing, spacious rooms and big balconies suitable decorated in a pleasant atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with central heating, self controlled air-condition, balcony, satellite Flat Screen TV, direct telephone line, radio, cooker with 2 rings, microwave, kitchen kettle, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, wake up service, hair dryer, bath tabs and very relaxing bed mattresses with ISO certifications for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Axos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axos Hotel Rethymnon
Hotel Axos Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing